Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

private investment, NRL investment, pokie profits, Govt funding.
In fact the same place that all modern stadiums have been built on around the world. Australia seems to have a culture of expecting the State or C'wealth Govt to stump up for stadiums, other places diversify the opportunities to do this. Main issue in the model for Sydney is number of tenants and having enough activity in the facility to pay its way. Probably why a stadium for every club will not work, but some shared stadiums with 2-3 tenants could.
nib makes a profit for the SMC and State Govt with two FT (low crowd drawing) tenants and occasional events. If that profit can provide a reasonable return on investment then you will get developers and investors interested.

Once you introduce min criteria it is amazing how it focusses the efforts.

Your govt has already committed a significant sum of money for stadiums, the problem is it is going to spend it on stadiums that are not, and never will be, great for club footy. Take that money and build 2-3 25k new stadiums, that would be a great start to sorting out Sydney's rectangular stadium problems.

private investment, NRL investment, pokie profits, Govt funding.
In fact the same place that all modern stadiums have been built on around the world. Australia seems to have a culture of expecting the State or C'wealth Govt to stump up for stadiums, other places diversify the opportunities to do this. Main issue in the model for Sydney is number of tenants and having enough activity in the facility to pay its way. Probably why a stadium for every club will not work, but some shared stadiums with 2-3 tenants could.
nib makes a profit for the SMC and State Govt with two FT (low crowd drawing) tenants and occasional events. If that profit can provide a reasonable return on investment then you will get developers and investors interested.

Once you introduce min criteria it is amazing how it focusses the efforts.

Your govt has already committed a significant sum of money for stadiums, the problem is it is going to spend it on stadiums that are not, and never will be, great for club footy. Take that money and build 2-3 25k new stadiums, that would be a great start to sorting out Sydney's rectangular stadium problems.

what makes you think the current owners ..(ie the government) are willing to
1) bulid them to start with?
2) let private investment get involved?
3) chuck loads of money at it?
4) give the pokies profits to building 6 new footy grounds in the one city?

reanimate

You've changed your tune PR, not long ago you were calling for Manly to move to the SFS despite never having experienced how much of a clusterf**k transport is to the Northern Beaches. Multiple smaller rectangular grounds would be ideal, but it'll never get funded. The teams who are furthest from the city, or have the worst transport links should have their own stadiums, the teams who are closest to the CBD should use the SFS, a reconfigured ANZ, Parra Stadium and possibly another mid sized stadium, while Manly, Cronulla and Penrith have their own stadiums.

At the very least, completely shafting having a stadium in Northern Sydney is a stupid idea, just look how big the area is, then consider how bad the transport links into the CBD are from large areas in the north. It's either that, or build a transport network as good as Tokyo's which takes the transport factor out of the equation, while we're dealing with shitty buses and arterial roads that are disgraceful bottlenecks though, a greater number of stadiums are necessary.

Like I said, either Govt does it or you find a different way. Ideally strong lobbying and the threat of losing clubs who cant meet min criteria will be enough to get pollies on board but if not then you find a different way that costs the Govt less. Part of this the NRl can help with though clubs becoming more sustainable, lets say Cronulla had enough revenue pre development sell off to be sustainable. they could have leveraged off the sale of the development land to build a new stadium that would have set them up for the next 50 years. instead the bit of money they are getting is just going to keep their heads above water.

With the NRL lacking leadership in this space about what is actually best for clubs (unless they have a long term plan to see some clubs disappear which may be a reason they aren't) there is no one actually saying that the Melbourne model wont work. In fact the NRL are pushing this model which would suggest that the outer fringe clubs are likely to be left to rot. I am surprised you think this is a good thing!

You've changed your tune PR, not long ago you were calling for Manly to move to the SFS despite never having experienced how much of a clusterf**k transport is to the Northern Beaches. Multiple smaller rectangular grounds would be ideal, but it'll never get funded. The teams who are furthest from the city, or have the worst transport links should have their own stadiums, the teams who are closest to the CBD should use the SFS, a reconfigured ANZ, Parra Stadium and possibly another mid sized stadium, while Manly, Cronulla and Penrith have their own stadiums.

Yes I have, despite what most think I want to see large rich successful clubs right across the NRL. I had hopes that with independent ownership and a massive shed load of new money we would see the NRL kick on and see clubs attendances rise dramatically, if facilities were good. It is becoming ever clearer that the game just isn't that popular in Sydney and the NRL still doesn't really understand its markets to have much hope of that happening. So rather than make a stagnant situation worse plan B is needed and that is to create a number of top quality boutique 25k stadiums across the city, the London model if you will. Sydney fans clearly need A) stadiums close to home and B) decent weather protection. New smaller stadiums will provide this.

I agree the plan should be new stadiums for Manly, Sharks, Penrith, Gong & Western suburbs (Parra redeveloped) (probably bit bigger around 30-35k) and SFS. ANZ should be flicked right off for club games unless the NRL wanted to do a Sunday special game there every week to earn some $'s and suburban parks should be dropped other than one off heritage events like we saw on Monday.

taipan

Like I said, either Govt does it or you find a different way. Ideally strong lobbying and the threat of losing clubs who cant meet min criteria will be enough to get pollies on board but if not then you find a different way that costs the Govt less. Part of this the NRl can help with though clubs becoming more sustainable, lets say Cronulla had enough revenue pre development sell off to be sustainable. they could have leveraged off the sale of the development land to build a new stadium that would have set them up for the next 50 years. instead the bit of money they are getting is just going to keep their heads above water.

With the NRL lacking leadership in this space about what is actually best for clubs (unless they have a long term plan to see some clubs disappear which may be a reason they aren't) there is no one actually saying that the Melbourne model wont work. In fact the NRL are pushing this model which would suggest that the outer fringe clubs are likely to be left to rot. I am surprised you think this is a good thing!

Seriously PR you live on another planet at times.
If the Sharks are out of debt,have money in the bank,get $1m in rent pa,own their own ground,how the crap are they " just going" to keep their heads above water.They will be in the top 3 0r 4 clubs min in Sydney finance wise.
They are going to get at least $50m profit from development sales as a starter.

You had to line up for one cup of coffee at shark park ( which you sooked about mind you ) and you are an expert on the place?

You are delusional to the end ...I'll give you that at least

You had to line up for one cup of coffee at shark park ( which you sooked about mind you ) and you are an expert on the place?

You are delusional to the end ...I'll give you that at least

I've been twice, more than enough to get the whole shark park experience! And it isn't my expertise, the fact is in every year but one of your existence less than 14k avg crowds would suggest your own fans don't find it a particularly appealing place to visit.

PR has been absolutely spot on with his appraisal here.
Seriously, Sydney fans hate large stadiums. Sydney fans hate suburban shit holes.
The perfect solution is 4-ish medium sized all-seaters.

*Brookvale I'm undecided about - the place would only get fully utilised 12 times a year by one tenant so it's hardly worth spending any money there, but if we had to, $100 million would get a simple 18000 all seater. Flat pack style cheap as chips.

* One 20-23000 seater for the south for Sharks and Drags to share. Maybe even future A-League team. $200 million.

* One for the west - 30-35000 at redeveloped Parra Stadium. $350-400 million. Parra/Tigers/Bulldogs/Wanderers. Transport is good and game day facilities (pubs/restaurants) excellent.

* $100 million to tart up the SFS. Roosters/Rabbitohs/ESFC/Waratahs.

* $50 million to put cheap seats and cheap roof at each end of Penrith Stadium. Capacity - 22000

Under a billion dollars. All stadiums all seaters. Mostly roof covered. No f**king hills.
Teams can take a game a season to their preferred shit hole if they like.

Then, we just need to find another $500 million to fix up ANZ to piss the round ground sports off.

Canard

Sydney fans hate large stadiums. Sydney fans hate suburban shit holes.

Surely, location, facilities and access to transport are bigger factors than the size of the stadium.

"I'd love to go to Homebush, but it's too big!"

I've been twice, more than enough to get the whole shark park experience! And it isn't my expertise, the fact is in every year but one of your existence less than 14k avg crowds would suggest your own fans don't find it a particularly appealing place to visit.

Yet your suggestion was to build a f**king 160-200 million dollar stadium there that seats 10,000.00 more people than usually go.

That makes you a little bit of a f**king idiot as far as I can tell.

Surely, location, facilities and access to transport are bigger factors than the size of the stadium.

"I'd love to go to Homebush, but it's too big!"

Mate, it's a bit of everything.

If Brookvale was a stadium like the other one that was pictured above, with green seats, I reckon people would more likely want to go there.

Same goes for all the others.
I agree that we play too many games at stadiums that are too large.
That's why we need to economise, and make stadiums almost too small, so getting a ticket is what people strive for, rather than just think they can roll up on game day and sit on a bit of wet grass.

Ok
So
6 stadiums with green seats that are " almost too small " all located in Sydney at a cost of 1 billion dollars.
Sounds good.
Will you take cheque?

No other professional sport accept a hill as a part of there stadia because they have standards on there stadium. Hills make our code look amateur, I take modern stadium over suburban grounds any day. The fact, the GWS Giants have the best small stadium in West Sydney is a shame, that money should be spent on the NRL grounds there.

A modern Parra stadium would do wonders for Eels/WSW respectively.

Yet your suggestion was to build a f**king 160-200 million dollar stadium there that seats 10,000.00 more people than usually go.

That makes you a little bit of a f**king idiot as far as I can tell.

You don't think your sub 14k crowd avg's has got anything to do with your sht stadium? Are you telling us this is as good as it gets for Cronulla and we can look forward to another four decades of mediocre attendances at shark park as the very best the club can bring to the table? You really don't have much faith in your club do you?

alien

cronulla and manly don't really need brand new stadiums then. just put in some more seats and better shelter

alien

he was using an example of a stadium that just happens to have green seats. he wasn't saying it was the colour of the seats that made the stadium good