Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

leichhardt oval is a shit hole though. the only time it looked good was when there was that C'MON WESTS banner being held up in the middle of their nasty hill. it was like light being surrounded by darkness. i remember the guy who held up that banner - he was a good bloke. i wonder what happened to him. the balmain people must have hated that banner in the middle of their hill :lol:

3150b5i.jpg

If the rabbits could play out of Redfern again, people would be climbing over each other to go.
That crap on Fri night shows you what most people think of footy in stadiums.

Last nights game was awesome viewing.
Been listening to all the people call in the radio this morning saying how great the atmosphere was.

TheRam

Again the argument shouldn't be suburban hill or empty ANZ, but why doesnt Sydney have any decent mid size RL stadiums? That belmore crowd of 16k would beequally good in a modern stadium for 20-25k and the game would look like the modern $billion top tier comp it wants to be.

I don't know why you bother PR, these guys are just so f**king geniused.

geniused is thinking somehow, some idiot is going to cough up the money to build all these magical stadiums in and around Sydney.
Stadiums that will sit there empty 95% of the year and generate f**k all income for the owners.

HAHAHAHA

franklin2323

geniused is thinking somehow, some idiot is going to cough up the money to build all these magical stadiums in and around Sydney.
Stadiums that will sit there empty 95% of the year and generate f**k all income for the owners.

HAHAHAHA

Haha. Yep people we no idea shouldn't comment. Unless we knock down Sydney and start again we are setup how we are. The system works well as it is now

franklin2323

Considering the averages for "Stadiums" is 5k-10k above these suburban numbers, they obviously do.....

The fact they play the bigger games there is why. What's Allianz ave aside from ANZAC Day? or ANZ not counting the Easter games?

That's probably true, and a fair comparison when you talk about a side like the Eels that move games from their traditional ground (Pirtek) to a mega stadium like ANZ for the Easter clash with the Tigpies for example.

But the fact is, big crowd at these big games just couldn't be achieved at suburban grounds. They'd simply sell out and leave 10-20 thousand people missing out. Its about the game making a choice. I for one would prefer to see a crowd of 40,000 at ANZ, rather than a sell out at Pirtek as it means more fans at the ground and experiencing footy live.

HAHAHAHA

Funny how other sports in other cities around the world have achieved it? NRL in Sydney is so small time thinking it saddens me greatly. When the masses think the answer to unrealised potential is to revert back to playing games in venues reminiscent of the 1970's then you know there is little hope.

NSW govt is about to splash between $600mill to a $bill on sports venues in the city. that would have paid for 5 decent boutique stadiums around Sydney, the fact RL has so little pull in its own heartlands is such a sad indictment on the quality of leadership of the game over the last few decades.

Please tell me how much you think a boutique stadium will cost and where are you suggesting they build these boutique stadiums you fantasise about?

$160-200mill (or find out how the frick the Europeans build them for under $100mill!) and build them in the best places, penrith, shark park, brookvale, parra, Campbelltown, belmore. You know the places people keep saying they want to watch RL at. You are quick to jump on others ideas, please share with us your solution to the current situation where the only two options seem to be shtty suburban grounds or cavernous shtty major event stadiums we have no hope of filling.

Only $160 - 200 mil ey

Well why not

So let me get this straight here
You think someone ( the government or someone )
Should spend up to 200 mil each on 6 boutique stadiums in Sydney for NRL?

So knock the old ones down and build brand new ( exactly the same I presume- good for TV - don't want viewers getting confused by different settings ) ones .
Do they do this all at the same time or stagger it?

Who does all the building permit stuff that will come such a grand plan?
Is that included in the price?

How long do you think it might take this magical money spender to get all this cleared with all the different
Councils etc?

Lol, small minded people with no vision. So you wouldn't start something because it is going to take some time to complete?
Come on genius what is your solution to the current situation?

gallagher

Lol, small minded people with no vision. So you wouldn't start something because it is going to take some time to complete?
Come on genius what is your solution to the current situation?

You find a retirement village with a good chemist and plant a bouncy castle next to it. Done

What is the current situation?

Teams are playing games in grounds some people reckon are shit. Or they're playing them in other grounds other people think are shit for different reasons. I'm going to bet if there was a magical third type of ground it would still only suit some people and not others. Parra stadium is essentially the ideal most people seem to advocate and its almost never full, even in a blue moon when parra are winning.

Mate I'm still pissing myself laughing at your pie in the sky solution

Nice pics of a couple of soccer fields and 3 footy fields in the middle of one of the most populated parts of the planet.
Holland to London takes less time than Syd to Perth.
England has 3 times the population than Australia and yet is probably smaller than nsw.
Haha

my solution
Less stadium games.

Last night was great
Sunday was great
Friday night was shit
You disagree / too bad.

Great solution, more games at grounds with crap corporate facilities, no protection, poor facilities and limited capacities. The NRL is going to be rocking in a few years with 11k avg with that approach. I think you seem to be confusing where the NRL wants to be with where the nsw cup is lol.

What the geography of Europe has to do with stadium examples that are affordable and would offer a cost effective solution to the Sydney NRL stadium problem is beyond me!

Last night was great because it was a hyped nostalgic one off event on a nice evening. Bulldogs at Belmore sees a 22k avg drop to 14k and the Bulldogs in financial trouble, good luck selling that one lol.

I can see through your cunning plan to ensure all Sydney clubs are as dire as Cronulla!

Why is it fantasy? In the late 80's soccer and RL in Europe realised that stadiums had to be dramatically improved, it took 25 years but now modern stadia are the norm. Instead of spending a billion $'s Tarting up two big stadiums that will still be sht for club RL, that money could have been used to begin addressing Sydney's real sports stadium problem. Instead of wanting to be Melbourne Sydney should have taken the London approach which would have suited the city better.