Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

hutch

Examples
DW stadium Wigan 25k capacity, cost $70mill in 1999
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/DW_Stadium

KC stadium Hull 25k capacity cost $100mill in 1999
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/KC_Stadium

Langtree park St Helens 18k capacity cost $60mill 2011
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Langtree_Park

Parkstad Limberg 20k capacity $60million in 2000
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parkstad_Limburg_Stadion

Euroborg capacity 23k cost $67mill in 2006
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euroborg

The last two stadiums are unbelievable.

fourplay

The last two stadiums are unbelievable.
Euroborg 23k $67million

853px-Euroborg.jpg

I love how the pitch is dropped and how it has the two tiers and steep incline. Perfect stadium for RL.

Why is it fantasy? In the late 80's soccer and RL in Europe realised that stadiums had to be dramatically improved, it took 25 years but now modern stadia are the norm. Instead of spending a billion $'s Tarting up two big stadiums that will still be sht for club RL, that money could have been used to begin addressing Sydney's real sports stadium problem. Instead of wanting to be Melbourne Sydney should have taken the London approach which would have suited the city better.

Absolutely spot on.

Soccer in Europe and England is a slightly bigger deal than rugby league in Sydney.
Plus in the 80'sthey needed to do something on account of the dickheads in the crowd
Luckily us Aussies aren't f**kwits that try to kill other supporters
Well most of us.

That's your answer there.
6 new stadiums for Sydney at a conservative estimate of 1 billion $ is never going to happen.
They can't get close to the numbers needed to fill current joints.
There is not enough people to support that suggestion

I'd say well over70% of footy fans don't bother going to games because it is on TV

Canard

Those UK stadiums have something of an advantage by being the only teams of the major sport within their locales.

This means they can generate funds via their great revenue and/or raise it with the local govts.

The trick is how does League get to lobby this in Sydney? Even the shitty AFL seems to squeeze money out of govts for stadia nobody uses.

The other obstacle we have in Australia is salaries and material costs. I have no doubt those European stadia were built with largely immigrant workforces on less than half what the minimum wage is in Australia, using materials that were cheaper due to the large amount of competitive suppliers.

For examples of where this didn't happen, see Wembley Stadium where heavily unionised labour force and the rising cost of steel meant the stadium ended costing almost $1 Billion dollars.

He doesn't get that stuff
If it happened in the UK or Europe it's means it should be the same here to him.
I know the bullshit I went through just getting approval for a pissy little extension on my house.
Could you imagine 6 brand new stadiums - dealing with 6 different councils
Plus who the f**k is paying the $ 1 bil - total underestimation i reckon
Then there's the greenies who are obviously going to try to block every single one of them

Do we know who then pays for all the legal costs when they have to take all the stuff through court?

Welcome to Sydney .

Manly can't even get a twinkienth of that type of money to fix up brookie.

flamin

So what? You've got to start somewhere. The reason the current joints aren't being filled regularly is that these old grounds are third world standard.

We are also not the only sport that wants rectangular stadiums with modern facilities.

David Smith's comments back in February reiterate Perth Red's point:

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...smaller-stadiums/story-fni3fbgz-1227242160560
There was 25,000 people, an amazing stadium,” Smith explained of Madison Square Garden.

“The entertainment was fantastic. There were more kids than you could shake a stick at. It was great. And it was a great thing to watch. I’d never watched ice hockey in my life and my kids loved it and I loved it.

“If we can recreate with a wonderful atmosphere that we have across our big events and indeed our 20,000 people events in that modern contemporary way, I think you will see crowds grow exponentially.

“This isn’t about stadiums, this is about infrastructure and it is a very, very big decision and I am very happy that we have got $600 million committed.”

Well let's just keep things as they are then and accept nrl in Sydney is eventuallY going to play second best to the rest of the competition. Do the same, expect the same. Stop whinging about ANZ, stop whinging about parking at Allianz, stop whinging about sub 10k crowds, stop whinging about Souths getting 14k and accept nrl is never going to be big in Sydney. Then you can keep bleating on about how glorious a full belmore or Leichhardt looks lol.

So the banker is getting his ideas from other sports, what a shock.

But wait, they have shoulder charges in ice hockey don't they! They have punch ups in ice hockey don't they! What a f**king clown.

Canard

Well let's just keep things as they are then and accept nrl in Sydney is eventuallY going to play second best to the rest of the competition. Do the same, expect the same. Stop whinging about ANZ, stop whinging about parking at Allianz, stop whinging about sub 10k crowds, stop whinging about Souths getting 14k and accept nrl is never going to be big in Sydney. Then you can keep bleating on about how glorious a full belmore or Leichhardt looks lol.

My point was how do we resolve these constraints? Not lets do nothing.

mate you're the one having a cry about it.

Princess needs a seat and a roof so the rain drops don't go in his cup of tea.
I bet every kid who went to Belmore on Monday though it was the greatest game of footy they have seen.

Why does it need to be a brand new stadium?

I am all for the big games being played in them but NRL just does not have the punters to warrant it week in week out.
It is basically a sport played in 2 states of Australia.
One of those states has 3 teams.
...but lets compare that to the biggest sport on the planet played in Europe.
good god.

here is a bit of light reading on how much money footy grounds can realistically expect to spend on upgrades with government assistance.
160-200 mil bwhahahahahahahaha

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...nt-upgrade-grant/story-fni3gnk1-1227007749075

http://www.parramattasun.com.au/story/2590581/pirtek-stadium-29m-upgrade-on-the-way/

My point was how do we resolve these constraints? Not lets do nothing.

private sponsorship is the only way.

but ey ...most of those grounds are government owned.
There in lies the problem.

They gov don't tend to give shit away....especially money or land.

Timbo

Also the reality is a lot of sports teams in other parts of the world can pay for their own stadiums.

Here we have NRL teams that run at a loss or small profit expecting tens of millions of dollars for their stadiums. It doesn't make an awful lot of sense.

Also the reality is a lot of sports teams in other parts of the world can pay for their own stadiums.

Here we have NRL teams that run at a loss or small profit expecting tens of millions of dollars for their stadiums. It doesn't make an awful lot of sense.

wigan club and stadium is owned by a former soccer player.
the wigan soccer team also play out of there.
He sponsors the teams as well from what I can gather.

seems slightly cashed up

same goes for hull they have a soccer team play out of there too.
They just got relegated from premier league ...I'm no soccer fan so I'm going by what I've googled
premier league is a big deal by the looks of it.

st Helens also shares with a soccer team - Liverpool fc reserves
They own their ground too by the looks of it.

Canard

wigan club and stadium is owned by a former soccer player.
the wigan soccer team also play out of there.
He sponsors the teams as well from what I can gather.

seems slightly cashed up

same goes for hull they have a soccer team play out of there too.
They just got relegated from premier league ...I'm no soccer fan so I'm going by what I've googled
premier league is a big deal by the looks of it.

st Helens also shares with a soccer team - Liverpool fc reserves
They own their ground too by the looks of it.

The owner of JJB sports which is like Rebel Sports of the UK (except ,you know, much bigger)

And Wigan got relegated at the end of the season before the last.

hrundi99

So the banker is getting his ideas from other sports, what a shock.

But wait, they have shoulder charges in ice hockey don't they! They have punch ups in ice hockey don't they! What a f**king clown.

Yeah there's nothing to learn from other sports at all.

I used to live in Toronto and went to Leafs games regularly and the infrastructure and energy in the stadium was excellent, regardless of the result.

Well for f**k sake let's get some ice shipped in and stick it on lang park before next Wednesday.

The point is, the dumb merkin goes to a completely different sport in a completely different country and says let's do it like this as if that's an answer. The irony that the Helen Lovejoy RL has actually been doing the exact opposite to ice hockey just adds to the lols.

mate you're the one having a cry about it.

Princess needs a seat and a roof so the rain drops don't go in his cup of tea.
I bet every kid who went to Belmore on Monday though it was the greatest game of footy they have seen.

Why does it need to be a brand new stadium?

I am all for the big games being played in them but NRL just does not have the punters to warrant it week in week out.
It is basically a sport played in 2 states of Australia.
One of those states has 3 teams.
...but lets compare that to the biggest sport on the planet played in Europe.
good god.

here is a bit of light reading on how much money footy grounds can realistically expect to spend on upgrades with government assistance.
160-200 mil bwhahahahahahahaha

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...nt-upgrade-grant/story-fni3gnk1-1227007749075

http://www.parramattasun.com.au/story/2590581/pirtek-stadium-29m-upgrade-on-the-way/

Like I said football in Europe bit the bullet in the 80's for a number of reasons, introduced min criteria and low and behold within 25 years they are all playing out of top class stadiums. It might take 30 years to achieve, it might cost $1-2billion but at least it is a plan they can work to. Look at the Manly idea of a joint venture to develop some space to pay for a new stadium. if Sharks hadn't been such a basket case they could have used the asset they had to do something similar with the developers. Whilst you keep the expected standards low you will end up with poor environments for the game which leads to less fans attending. You can call them princesses if you like but the harsh reality is in the 21st century people expect a certain level of comfort, especially if you paying $50 for the privilege. Throwing $2-30mill at a ground is a total waste of money. It does little to make it a better experience and therefore is not increasing the appeal of attending games.

There are 3 options that I can see:
1. centralised stadiums - not going to work for Sydney
2. Keep some teams playing at large empty stadiums and some at run down outer suburban grounds - not working an no reason to believe it ever will
3. do something different - that for me is a long term plan to transform the suburban grounds into modern stadiums. Seems this is what most Sydney fans would rather see.