Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

King-Gutho94

is there really that many AFL fans in Cairns? at best its equal with RL and the surrounding towns where fans might come from like Innisfail and atherton tablelands would be hard RL.
Too hot to play up there.

My dad is from Cairns and i have aunties and cousins up in Mareeba they couldnt give a flying toss about AFL up there.

Its Rugby League and Soccer that's it.

Vibing

The aflol , will after the complete failure of their last foray into the non heartland with the midgets & thuns
retreat back into their heartland with the next phase of expansion , with Tasmania & Perth 3.

nothing surer

Chief_Chujo

Participation numbers for one, the fact that they draw similar sized crowds to the Raiders average without a local team should be a big warning sign as well. There're others stats as well, google search data and social media statistics and the such.

I was born and raised here, and have lived here for decades, since before the Raiders entered the NSWRL. In all that time each fanbase would swear that their sport was way bigger than the other, but aside from a small period in the 90s the truth has always lay in the middle.

Because of the unique cultural and historical circumstances of Canberra neither sport has dominated the other in the post war era, in fact both are so close in popularity that it's basically impossible to say which is bigger than the other at any one time. The difference in popularity between the two would be so negligible that it's meaningless anyway. There's also way more overlap between the fanbases of both sports in Canberra than you see in the other parts of the country.

The only reason that the Aussie Rules fanbase in Canberra isn't as visible as RL's is because it doesn't have a single entity to get behind like the Raiders. If you gave them a local AFL team it would be as big as, if not slightly bigger than, the Raiders from day one, and anybody claiming otherwise is either astonishingly ignorant or monumentally full of shit.
Mate there's no need to arc up and call me ignorant or a bullshitter. You made a claim that's counter to my 32yrs growing up in Canberra and I simply asked you to give me a source proving it. My experience may be anecdotal but it's not really trumped by vague references to google and social media.

AFL participation numbers have proven to be a poor measure of popularity as well. They're quite often found to be false or don't translate to overall popularity. See AFL participation numbers in NSW and QLD vs TV ratings.

Neither Cazaly's Stadium in Cairns or Riverway Stadium in Townsville are anywhere near close to being acceptable for a full-time AFL team. And unlike Tasmania, the Queensland government is unlikely to get bent over to the tune of $500m for an AFL stadium.

Of the ideas I've ever heard that one is the most far-fetched. It'll be another Perth side or a Canberra side depending on which way they want to go.
After the fiascos of GWS & the suns & waiting to see if there’s any great success with the Tasmanian whoever’s I’d bet Perth#3;is a certainty .
there’s already plenty over there who are waiting on memberships who would prob jump onboard a new team.
A new state of the art stadium …& a fumble mad population .
it’s a no brainer….They’d get prob 25k min each home game which is far more than Cairns or Canb could hope for .
Its the safest/Least expensive option.

The Great Dane

Mate there's no need to arc up and call me ignorant or a bullshitter.
If the shoe fits...

As far as I'm concerned you're no different than the AFL fans from Canberra on Big Footy and other AFL platforms whom will tell anyone that'll listen that they don't personally know a single RL fan, that RL's popularity in Canberra is overstated, that Canberra was an "AFL town" before the Raiders and that Canberra's just waiting for it's own AFL side to become one again, etc, etc.

It's all just BS pushed by the delusional or dishonest, and I'm over it. Canberra is neither an NRL or AFL town in the way that Sydney and Melbourne are NRL and AFL towns respectively, there's nothing wrong with that, and the people whom are trying to change it tend to be arseholes whom whitewash history to fit their agenda.
You made a claim that's counter to my 32yrs growing up in Canberra and I simply asked you to give me a source proving it. My experience may be anecdotal but it's not really trumped by vague references to google and social media.

AFL participation numbers have proven to be a poor measure of popularity as well. They're quite often found to be false or don't translate to overall popularity. See AFL participation numbers in NSW and QLD vs TV ratings.
If you do any research you'll quickly find that all numbers that could be indicators for the popularity of each sport in the ACT are shaky at best, and even experts in the field freely admit that the region's sport preferences and culture is severely under researched. In other words, you're asking me for numbers that the codes probably have but aren't publicly available, and all we have that is publicly available are highly debatable as to what they actually show.

Participation goes the AFL's way handily, but that's not really surprising considering the physical demands of RL compared to Aussie Rules. It also doesn't include touch and tag when you really should if you want an accurate reflection of RL participation in Canberra, but the problem with touch and tag is that there's no way to differentiate between touch and tag players that are using it as a non-contact form of RL and those that are playing them with no significant interest in RL.

Ratings go the NRL's way, but you'd expect that with Canberra having a local team in the NRL, where as the AFL's fanbase in the ACT is split between all the clubs. That also doesn't include streaming, and ratings collection in the region is basically a glorified guesstimate anyway.

Attendance is hard to compare as there's no like for like comparison. But considering the numbers GWS pulls it's not unreasonable to assume that a local team would at least pull similar numbers to the Raiders, and probably larger numbers given the AFL's stronger attendance culture.

Social media analytics are split depending on the platform. Google Trends is probably most accessible and easy to use for example; interest over time goes the AFL's way (2016 and 2019 onward are the only years the NRL wins), but the breakdown of interest goes the NRL's way by 8% or 54% to 46%.

Basically what data we have is admittedly shaky, but that it is what it is. In so far as it's useful it shows that neither sport is significantly more popular than the other.

The Great Dane

AFL doesn’t mind wasting money, though.
There's significant amounts of angst within AFL circles on the amount of money that's been spent in Brisbane, GWS, and on the GC for the return so far. Tasmania is seen as another expensive long term project that will need significant amounts of support from the AFL for an extended period after the government subsidises run out, and there's little support within the AFL's stakeholders for another similar expansion project.

The AFL will face at least a club revolt if they don't go for a club that's seen as a safe bet, but if they do go for another big expensive expansion project it'll be the NT or the 'Northern Australia' (i.e. NT+NQ) idea that gets thrown around, not Cairns independently. The NT has all the media and community support.

It won't happen unless there're significant changes in attitudes over the next few years, which isn't impossible, but doesn't look likely at the moment.

The Great Dane

Paywall. What are they saying exactly?
That at least two wealthy private consortiums have contacted the government to express interest in a funding partnership for an entertainment precinct in Civic including a stadium, but the government never responded to either of them. Literally ignored them then continued to claim there was no interest from private investors in the media.

It's a pretty big deal as it proves that the government, whom has been saying that they're open to private investment to get the project over the line, has been lying for years.

Unfortunately this revelation won't change anything though. There simply aren't enough people in Canberra paying attention, or whom care, for that.

Pneuma

That at least two wealthy private consortiums have contacted the government to express interest in a funding partnership for an entertainment precinct in Civic including a stadium, but the government never responded to either of them. Literally ignored them then continued to claim there was no interest from private investors in the media.

It's a pretty big deal as it proves that the government, whom has been saying that they're open to private investment to get the project over the line, has been lying for years.

Unfortunately this revelation won't change anything though. There simply aren't enough people in Canberra paying attention, or whom care, for that.
My experience of Canberra, based, sadly, on over over 200 work trips there over 30 years, is that the aps population is evenly spread between fumblers and league supporters. It’s a melting pot of ambitious medium skilled self promoting yuppies from all over the country. The population outside those inner city Canberra suburbs are the strongholds of league and nrl support. I’ve been to the stadium a few times over those years and, at least to me, it feels like it’s in the middle of nowhere and is well passed its use by date. My friends living there don’t believe a new stadium is needed but they aren’t ardent followers of the raiders so they don’t attend games anyway. Overall it appears to me as an outsider that your assessment of things there is pretty much spot on. I think Barr would love a fumbling stadium but the time isn’t right. But I’m sure he will not do rectangle sports any favours.

Vibing

My experience of Canberra, based, sadly, on over over 200 work trips there over 30 years, is that the aps population is evenly spread between fumblers and league supporters. It’s a melting pot of ambitious medium skilled self promoting yuppies from all over the country. The population outside those inner city Canberra suburbs are the strongholds of league and nrl support. I’ve been to the stadium a few times over those years and, at least to me, it feels like it’s in the middle of nowhere and is well passed its use by date. My friends living there don’t believe a new stadium is needed but they aren’t ardent followers of the raiders so they don’t attend games anyway. Overall it appears to me as an outsider that your assessment of things there is pretty much spot on. I think Barr would love a fumbling stadium but the time isn’t right. But I’m sure he will not do rectangle sports any favours.
this is a truish representation of Canberra to an extent

Higher % of fumbleball followers in the APS , most having relocated from the sthn states at some point. Not sure about 50/50 but its defs higher..
Move outside the APS into the rest of the workforce & this % drops dramatically

Your inner burbs , Forrest , Red Hill , Deakin etc are too hoity toity to follow league & remain followers of yawnion , they're obviously few in number as Brumbies crowds these days could fit into Viking Park comfortably

Soccer is popular through participation only ( as it is in a lot of places )

NRL remains the dominant code in the ACT by some considerable way & anyone saying anything else is quite simply mistaken.

Pneuma

this is a truish representation of Canberra to an extent

Higher % of fumbleball followers in the APS , most having relocated from the sthn states at some point. Not sure about 50/50 but its defs higher..
Move outside the APS into the rest of the workforce & this % drops dramatically

Your inner burbs , Forrest , Red Hill , Deakin etc are too hoity toity to follow league & remain followers of yawnion , they're obviously few in number as Brumbies crowds these days could fit into Viking Park comfortably

Soccer is popular through participation only ( as it is in a lot of places )

NRL remains the dominant code in the ACT by some considerable way & anyone saying anything else is quite simply mistaken.
Certainly agree about union and football. Union 20 years ago was almost unstoppable. Now it’s unfixable. You are probably right about the aps. Lots of Victorians up there and they hate league. As soon as I say I’m from Tassie and follow nrl they look at me in despair. Great fun.

Vibing

After the fiascos of GWS & the suns & waiting to see if there’s any great success with the Tasmanian whoever’s I’d bet Perth#3;is a certainty .
there’s already plenty over there who are waiting on memberships who would prob jump onboard a new team.
A new state of the art stadium …& a fumble mad population .
it’s a no brainer….They’d get prob 25k min each home game which is far more than Cairns or Canb could hope for .
Its the safest/Least expensive option.
Yea , Perth 3 ( i hate to say it ) would be gold in the bank for them & out perform the Midgets & Thuns combined.
They've still got their tails between their legs with their last expansion experiences , the gamble didn't only not pay off , its become a disaster & they won't quickly roll the dice again.

Vibing

who exactly are the private investors?

maybe the Raiders need to get their old ball boy Mark Webber to make some comments in the media and any other celebrities they have links to.
This
The govt & that effstick Barr needs to be exposed on this issue with articles like this every other day , if private investors are willing to part finance this project & the federal govt has made it clear they're open to assisting as well

& they're all being ignored by this clown in charge
then its time ....
Barr , the door ............use it !!!