Seriously. What a joke decision. $300m and we get patch ups and hills.
What we should do now is Penrith and the ARLC should go and lobby hard to the Feds(especially since Albo is such a RL fan) for the other $150m or so and make an argument that is persuasive enough since the Feds are willing to help fund the ridiculous Tassie Stadium project.
$309m from the State and $150 from the Feds should be enough to build it properly and on the Paceway site where it should be.
What is the ARLC doing for ffs and the Panthers too for that matter?! They should be going hard on this like the AFL do. They never give up. They just keep on working over all the Governments until they get what they want by hook or by crook. We just fall over at the first cheap offering that is given to us. Pathetic!!!
Where is the fight in us and the behind the scenes smarts, cunning and savvy? Only in RL. Weak as piss and we get the crumbs while the AFL just keep getting all the best stadiums in every city to be theirs. Look at Brisbane now too. They will be the beneficiaries of the best new stadium in the heart of a RL State.
So AFL have or will have the best stadiums in Victoria, WA, SA, QLD, TAS, and the iconic SCG in NSW and when Canberra finally get their stadium in 10-20 years time what are the odds by then that the AFL will have finally put a team there too and demand the new stadium is built multi purpose too. Odds on for sure since they will have expanded to every part of Aus by then and that would probably be their second last dot on the map with Darwin only then left after that.
They will have Australia all mapped out while we are still primarily just a Eastern Seaboard sport and a NZ oddity.
Game over man. Like I have said before they have already won the war, it is just a matter of by how much now. Their revenue will just keep getting bigger and bigger and the gulf between Us and them will just keep growing and all the RL people will just keep making excuses and be in denial.
We just don't have the same fight or smarts. They lobby 24/7 and have been doing it for decades and seduce the pollies with gifts and wine and dine and game day experiences and and and and...
We just barely have started to and we still don't do it well. We just threaten them and extort them with our GF location. That will only get you so far and we are now seeing the fruits to that strategy.
Even if we finally put a team in Perth it will be to little to late by the time we do. They, whoever they are(maybe Pirates) will still be playing out of a sh*thole stadium in a hostile city and will be lucky to average around 15-18K once the initial hype and curiosity dies down. While the main attraction in town is playing in what at present is the best modern state of the art 60K stadium in front of sellout crowds with a membership waiting list of decades.
Way to go ARLC...Winning!
I know the ratings are favourable this season, but that won't last forever. People die and the next generation will be looking for glitz and hype. The AFL will and is the biggest show in every town now on a regular basis on game day. They will be perceived as the winners and the kiddies love to follow winners and the mommies love to follow the sexier men too as so many have pointed out to me over the years. RL players by enlarge are still seen as oafs. AFL and Soccer players by women are seen as sex symbols and the sports they play are seen by them as way more kiddy friendly too.
The perfect storm has been brewing for years and it is going to deliver its final blow in the decade after this and hold up its arms as the undisputed sports champ of Australia in victory. The sad thing though is there won't be all that many RL supporters who really care because the majority of us Aussies will be to busy watching their favorite team playing AFL.
P.S. 3 or 4 million RL supporters won't matter much when the rest of the country tune in to watch ping pong of the aerial variety.
P.P.S The woman's side of the sport(NRLW) may just save the game somewhat, but that is a post for another day.