Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Pneuma

What’s funny is the guy you are quoting claims to be a massive fan of rugby league in Victoria

old misery guts
I know you are drug addled mate but I’m advocating a new stadium in Melbourne for our game and he’s advocating we play in a stadium owned by the afl. Even in your meth induced state you can see the difference?

TheRam

I wonder if PVL could ever be convinced to push for a new stadium in Canberra, you know, a place where there isn't a single NRL standard stadium anymore, instead of incessantly making noise about wasting more taxpayer dollars on every little shithole in Sydney...

Any money spent of Shark Park is wasted money, just like Penrith.

No it is a win for rugby league you dill.

V'ladys though should be maneuvering for a Canberra City roofed stadium as well.

It's not a case of us or them type of sh*t that you small minded selfish parochial supporters keep suggesting and crapping on about.

We want the whole game to flourish. Not take from Peter to pay Paul myopic mentalities.

Crabs in a bucket.

TheRam

One Auckland bid states that they will be at Mt Smart for a few years and then shift to Silo Park/Wynyard Quarter, which I think is the Waterfront.

Also by the look of it, the Auckland bid is ahead of Canberra.
Silo Park.. interesting. Because THAT would actually be a pretty amazing spot for a new stadium and it’s currently a brownfield site, being where the old fuel terminal used to be. I had no idea it’s being turned into parkland, and if they’re intending to base an A-League side there someone must have plans to develop something there.

Is there anymore info or stories on this?

Where did this speculation come from?

Would be absolutely amazing if this were ever to come to fruition.

The Great Dane

No it is a win for rugby league you dill.

V'ladys though should be maneuvering for a Canberra City roofed stadium as well.

It's not a case of us or them type of sh*t that you small minded selfish parochial supporters keep suggesting and crapping on about.

We want the whole game to flourish. Not take from Peter to pay Paul myopic mentalities.

Crabs in a bucket.
The NRL only has so much political capital and every time it pushes for taxpayer's money to be wasted on frivolous shit it burns some of that capital.

Sooner or later the NRL will need the taxpayer to help them with something important, like potentially turning Accor into a genuine state of the art rectangular stadium for major events for example, and there'll be no political or public will to assist because of the billions wasted whacking a lick of paint on every tinpot shithole in Sydney.

There's no reasonable justification from either a business or city planning point of view for the taxpayer to fund upgrades to either Cronulla or Penrith so long as viable alternatives exist, especially when two of those alternatives are less than a decade old. . .

I know it's a novel idea, but maybe, just maybe, the Sharks, Panthers, and NRL should look into funding development of those venues themselves if it's such a good idea.

The Great Dane

So, let me get this right the RL games played in Canberra get higher attendances than the AFL games played in Canberra and the TV ratings for NRL games are higher than AFL games.... but a Canberra AFL team would instantly be a little bigger than the Raiders...

Yep makes complete sense
Yep, assuming that they were reasonably well run, an AFL side in Canberra would be as big as the Raiders if not bigger from day one. Their average attendance would quickly outpace the Raiders as well if an oval was built with a big enough capacity to sustain it.

The reason for that is, shock horror, there's more to Aussie Rules (AR) than just the AFL!

For historical reasons Canberra has a long history with AR and there's a huge bed of intergenerational support for the sport here. A huge portion of Canberra's population are expats as well, and a huge portion of those expats come from west of the Barassi Line (RIP). In my experience there's also significantly more overlap between the AR and RL fanbases in Canberra compared to other markets like e.g. Melbourne and Sydney.

Aussie Rules has more clubs, teams, and significantly higher participation numbers in Canberra itself than RL as well. Multiple of those clubs are highly successful businesses in their own right, particularly Eastlake and Ainslie. Aussie Rules is also very healthy in the private school system, which is a big deal in Canberra.

Just spending a bit of time traveling around Canberra and interacting with people here would make it clear to anybody with a functioning set of eyes and ears that Aussie Rules is very popular here, similarly popular to RL in fact, and it frankly just speaks to peoples ignorance when they suggest otherwise.

Wb1234

Yep, assuming that they were reasonably well run, an AFL side in Canberra would be as big as the Raiders if not bigger from day one. Their average attendance would quickly outpace the Raiders as well if an oval was built with a big enough capacity to sustain it.

The reason for that is, shock horror, there's more to Aussie Rules (AR) than just the AFL!

For historical reasons Canberra has a long history with AR and there's a huge bed of intergenerational support for the sport here. A huge portion of Canberra's population are expats as well, and a huge portion of those expats come from west of the Barassi Line (RIP). In my experience there's also significantly more overlap between the AR and RL fanbases in Canberra compared to other markets like e.g. Melbourne and Sydney.

Aussie Rules has more clubs, teams, and significantly higher participation numbers in Canberra itself than RL as well. Multiple of those clubs are highly successful businesses in their own right, particularly Eastlake and Ainslie. Aussie Rules is also very healthy in the private school system, which is a big deal in Canberra.

Just spending a bit of time traveling around Canberra and interacting with people here would make it clear to anybody with a functioning set of eyes and ears that Aussie Rules is very popular here, similarly popular to RL in fact, and it frankly just speaks to peoples ignorance when they suggest otherwise.
Afl should put a team in Wagga Wagga they would have a chance there

meanwhile in terms of actual fans not cardboard ones the raiders keep getting back the jaded fans from super league (most anyway)

TheRam

Thanks mate. I really hope something comes of it, but is seems like a long odds type of thing. But you never know. Fingers crossed.

But I think the best we can hope for is for the Warriors to keep having the success that they are now having and they keep growing. Then maybe Shaun Johnson doing a Jonathan Thurston and publically calling out the NZ Government to build them and all rectangle sports a new Harbour side stadium that is befitting the city of Auckland.

Pneuma

data is a decade old but with rugby league now having over 6000 participants, its still going strong

TheRam

The NRL only has so much political capital and every time it pushes for taxpayer's money to be wasted on frivolous shit it burns some of that capital.

Sooner or later the NRL will need the taxpayer to help them with something important, like potentially turning Accor into a genuine state of the art rectangular stadium for major events for example, and there'll be no political or public will to assist because of the billions wasted whacking a lick of paint on every tinpot shithole in Sydney.

There's no reasonable justification from either a business or city planning point of view for the taxpayer to fund upgrades to either Cronulla or Penrith so long as viable alternatives exist, especially when two of those alternatives are less than a decade old. . .

I know it's a novel idea, but maybe, just maybe, the Sharks, Panthers, and NRL should look into funding development of those venues themselves if it's such a good idea.

You sound so naïve. We are talking politics buddy. It's amazing how deep those pockets can be and are when the right circumstances or people are involved.

The AFL says hello!!!

Mate you lobby and you lobby hard and all the time. It is a 24/7 job that actually needs paid employees and a division within the NRL to be set up. The AFL have had this going for 30+ years. We have only just started to make a little noise through V'Landys and it is no where near good enough if we want to catch up to the AFL. But at least it is a start.

As for funding little tin pot sh*tholes? That's the point we want to transform them into sparkling medium size rectangular all seater arenas for as many NRL clubs and other rectangular sports(if the want to play there) as possible, wherever possible.

As for Accor, mate that ain't getting touched for at least another 10+ years and the only way that will really happen is if by some miracle Australia gets the Football WC. Then the Government will be prepared to knock it down and build what should have been built the first time around, but for the AFL's dirty little finger intervention.

The NRL for now needs to fix all the suburban grounds it can in Sydney and hopefully Canberra too. This alone will take time and some considerable effort. But it is all doable and should be priority. The King Kong Accor stadium redevelopment is not happening anytime soon and pointless chasing after it when we can extract hundreds of millions out of Governments remodelling and sprucing up all our tired and old 20th century ovals masquerading as modern day stadia in the 21st century, which by the way we are already in almost a quarter of the way. Let that sink in. We are playing semi finals at grounds like Shark Park in its current cringe worthy condition or Penrith Park and its salubrious surroundings...not!

Take the money and run while we can I say. Then when the time is right, the Government will snooker itself and have to eventually spend big to redo Accor, but it won't be for years and anyone telling you otherwise is telling you furphies. Fix what we can NOW!!!

Besides I would much rather see most teams have their local nice high-end redeveloped or brand new stadium that hosts around 25K+ or so that is chockers most weeks, then have one centralized mega stadium that may have all the bells and whistles, but most clubs are reluctant to use unless it is for a major game of final and continue playing out of tin pot sh*tholes as you say on a weekly basis. What's the point of that. Put it this way, I didn't bother even watch the Sharks-Roosters Final last week. I wasn't willing to be insulted like that. That was not a finals setting. That was the setting for a local suburban semi professional footy team. Same was the case with the Panthers-Warriors game. For mine they were not an event. They were amateur hour entertainment.

You may say that is harsh. I say blow it out of your arse. The stuck on league fan might have resigned themselves to accepting mediocrity and amateur hour venues but the non hard core supporter hasn't. All the passing viewer needs to do is flick the channel and wham AFL shines bright with 60K-100K fully seated arenas everywhere and the crowds are going nuts! What do you think the public and kiddies will find shinier and more attractive?

We have real competition, but you seem happy to just keep living in the past like a regular Mr Magoo. The world has moved on mate. We need to take whatever we can to just keep up. Stop being a crab in a bucket of dumb crabs. There will only be a pot of hot boiling water waiting for you if you don't.

Wb1234

Thanks mate. I really hope something comes of it, but is seems like a long odds type of thing. But you never know. Fingers crossed.

But I think the best we can hope for is for the Warriors to keep having the success that they are now having and they keep growing. Then maybe Shaun Johnson doing a Jonathan Thurston and publically calling out the NZ Government to build them and all rectangle sports a new Harbour side stadium that is befitting the city of Auckland.
Wahs have outgrown my smart

if their form stays as is they could sell out most of their games

which is unheard of in rugby league

SpaceMonkey

Wahs have outgrown my smart

if their form stays as is they could sell out most of their games

which is unheard of in rugby league
Ideally Auckland will eventually get a brand spanking new 50k stadium. But realistically that’ll take a decade plus. In the meantime Mt Smart could be upgraded to 30-35K in an off-season’s worth of construction, so I think there’s a case for an upgrade of Mt Smart while Auckland sorts out its stadium situation properly.

Wb1234

Ideally Auckland will eventually get a brand spanking new 50k stadium. But realistically that’ll take a decade plus. In the meantime Mt Smart could be upgraded to 30-35K in an off-season’s worth of construction, so I think there’s a case for an upgrade of Mt Smart while Auckland sorts out its stadium situation properly.
Warriors have to start taking their bigger games to Eden park

selling out a final in 40 minutes is just stupid

Eden park had another 5k plus watching on the screen

they are a big club now
I think everyone has.
😎
not Moana Pacifica lol