Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

T-Boon

Yes, the AFL team that currently represents Canberra. Why can't they out rate or out draw the Raiders if there are so many AFL fans?
I think most of Canberra don't consider themselves to be Greater Western Sydney or represented by them. Ive seen what happens in Gold Coast. The AFL back the club in a huge way with advertising etc.

The Great Dane

Yes, the AFL team that currently represents Canberra. Why can't they out rate or out draw the Raiders if there are so many AFL fans?
You keep repeating these things like they mean something when all it does is expose your confirmation bias.

Ratings for Canberra are bundled into the Southern NSW regional numbers, and the sample size for Canberra/ACT itself is only roughly 200 households. In other words any numbers you see claiming to be numbers for just Canberra/ACT are literal guesstimates extrapolated either from the Southern NSW numbers or data collected from about 200 household, making them effectively meaningless.
In saying all that, it wouldn't be surprising if the NRL outrates the AFL in Canberra given that Canberra has an NRL side but no AFL side, but we simply don't know because that data isn't being collected. So not only is the sample size for ratings in Canberra so low that it makes the numbers effectively meaningless, but you aren't comparing like for like even if Nielsen were collecting solid data in the ACT.

Claiming that any of GWS's statistics in Canberra are particularly meaningful is just ignorance, or you're being intentionally dishonest about GWS's cultural significance in Canberra. GWS aren't a Canberran team, most people in Canberra, local or expat alike (even hardcore AFL fans), don't give a shit about them and never will. So again you aren't comparing like for like.

The Great Dane

100% correct
how big would manuka have to be to have a full time team do you reckon?
They could probably get away with roughly 20k at least initially, but they'd be forced to lock people out if they ever played a home final and would probably sell out against the big teams regularly as well.

Like the rectangular sports roughly 30k would probably be ideal, but I doubt you could fit a 30k stadium on either the Manuka or Phillip Oval sites, so I don't know where you could build it.
They’ve argued that Bellerive is too small in Tassie, it holds 19,500.

I’m not too sure if you could increase Manuka to 20,000 with its footprint though
Manuka's master plan actually has plans for upgrades that would take it's the capacity to 20k, but those phases have never been delivered.

The $200m that Albo is giving the NRL for a PNG team should be spent on upgrading Bruce Stadium.

Raiders get great crowds at an ageing stadium.

Imagine how many more they would get at a ground with better facilities?

Raiders fans need to stop voting for Labor until Albo rebuilds Bruce Stadium.

titoelcolombiano

You keep repeating these things like they mean something when all it does is expose your confirmation bias.

Ratings for Canberra are bundled into the Southern NSW regional numbers, and the sample size for Canberra/ACT itself is only roughly 200 households. In other words any numbers you see claiming to be numbers for just Canberra/ACT are literal guesstimates extrapolated either from the Southern NSW numbers or data collected from about 200 household, making them effectively meaningless.
In saying all that, it wouldn't be surprising if the NRL outrates the AFL in Canberra given that Canberra has an NRL side but no AFL side, but we simply don't know because that data isn't being collected. So not only is the sample size for ratings in Canberra so low that it makes the numbers effectively meaningless, but you aren't comparing like for like even if Nielsen were collecting solid data in the ACT.

Claiming that any of GWS's statistics in Canberra are particularly meaningful is just ignorance, or you're being intentionally dishonest about GWS's cultural significance in Canberra. GWS aren't a Canberran team, most people in Canberra, local or expat alike (even hardcore AFL fans), don't give a shit about them and never will. So again you aren't comparing like for like.
So again I ask, if AFL is more popular in Canberra, then why aren't the fans getting behind it in greater numbers when it's in town?

Also, Canberra is by far the largest city in that southern nsw region, and whilst I agree a small sample we still have the nrl as the main game.

The crux of your argument is that the AFL would be bigger given certain circumstances that may or may not eventuate. Whereas the actual support for both codes in the city shows RL as number 1

titoelcolombiano

I think most of Canberra don't consider themselves to be Greater Western Sydney or represented by them. Ive seen what happens in Gold Coast. The AFL back the club in a huge way with advertising etc.
I would imagine they don't. But other than these AFL fans being no shows for the odd AFL game that comes to town. There is no data pointing to AFL being the bigger sport in Canberra.

Not sure what the Gold Coast has to do with this. RL is by far the dominant sport on the GC

T-Boon

I would imagine they don't. But other than these AFL fans being no shows for the odd AFL game that comes to town. There is no data pointing to AFL being the bigger sport in Canberra.

Not sure what the Gold Coast has to do with this. RL is by far the dominant sport on the GC
I think it’s more to do with the evidence of what has happened everywhere. AFLs approach when they decide to expand is to through a LOT of money at it. And in places like the GC and Brisbane their clubs do as well as the NRL clubs (at least in terms of crowds) which amazes me and Canberra I predict would be worse in terms of I do think it is already pretty strong AFL support there.

Pneuma

Ratings for tv audiences in Canberra and everywhere else across Australia are subjected to a validated sampling system. They would accurately reflect the viewership for each code and any other programming . To say otherwise is self serving

Pneuma

I think it’s more to do with the evidence of what has happened everywhere. AFLs approach when they decide to expand is to through a LOT of money at it. And in places like the GC and Brisbane their clubs do as well as the NRL clubs (at least in terms of crowds) which amazes me and Canberra I predict would be worse in terms of I do think it is already pretty strong AFL support there.
You write a lot of rubbish

Pneuma

So again I ask, if AFL is more popular in Canberra, then why aren't the fans getting behind it in greater numbers when it's in town?

Also, Canberra is by far the largest city in that southern nsw region, and whilst I agree a small sample we still have the nrl as the main game.

The crux of your argument is that the AFL would be bigger given certain circumstances that may or may not eventuate. Whereas the actual support for both codes in the city shows RL as number 1
Given the participation data in Canberra I posted earlier I think it would be brave to claim afl has stronger participation stats as he has claimed and as much or more support in the ACT. I think it a close but the Raiders are a big rich club and participation is strong in the region with over 6000 participants.

Pneuma

AFL participation rates are trash lies and paid advertisements.
I posted participation data for the ACT region which showed afl had less than half the participants of league back in 2013. Since then our participation has increased by over 50% as demonstrated by data available on line. For afl to have the same level of participation their numbers would have to have tripled.

if you go to the AFL Canberra site it’s obvious league poops all over them particularly for teams between under 6s to under 13s. It’s not even close.

Timbo

The $200m that Albo is giving the NRL for a PNG team should be spent on upgrading Bruce Stadium.

Raiders get great crowds at an ageing stadium.

Imagine how many more they would get at a ground with better facilities?

Raiders fans need to stop voting for Labor until Albo rebuilds Bruce Stadium.

I think a new stadium is pretty low down on your average Canberran's list of things when deciding to vote.

Really though, is professional sports infrastructure really something that influences the way that a lot of people vote? I look at things like health, education, transport, IR and welfare policies long before I consider who's going to chuck my footy club a few dollars for a stadium. And I doubt even a full commitment to re-building my clubs home stadium in a great spot would be enough to switch my vote if their health and transport policies were shit.

bazza

I think a new stadium is pretty low down on your average Canberran's list of things when deciding to vote.

Really though, is professional sports infrastructure really something that influences the way that a lot of people vote? I look at things like health, education, transport, IR and welfare policies long before I consider who's going to chuck my footy club a few dollars for a stadium. And I doubt even a full commitment to re-building my clubs home stadium in a great spot would be enough to switch my vote if their health and transport policies were shit.
Building a stadium as part of an urban renewal project may be a good idea
This was part of the reasoning for the Cowboys new ground i.e. have events near the city centre - however, I have heard that there has been limited renewal of the area in Townsville since the new stadium despite them drawing decent crowds

Jamberoo

Canberra is 50/50 to get an AFL club next decade (assuming Tas comes in), and if so, you would imagine that it would end up like on the Gold Coast. AFL might get similar crowds (depending on form), and similar participation, but the ‘man/women in the street’ would still, and probably always, be pro NRL.

I'd rather the money be spent on a stadium in Australia than a football team in a third world country.

titoelcolombiano

Sorry mate, Lions and Suns are not in the same Universe as the Broncos and Titans. Gold Coast is nowhere near an AFL city. This myth born out of AFL House needs to die