Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

The Great Dane

If the overall strategy sold to the QLD govt is Broncos, Dolphins and Jets with Dolphins and Jets hosting their major SEQ derbies at Suncorp, then Suncorp will get its extra content while Dolphins and Ipswich get boutique grounds for the rest of their games in the area they represent.

Besides that point, Brisbane is getting to a size now where you need at least a second smaller stadium. You can't arrive at a situation in the future where Broncos, Dolphins, Jets, Reds and Roar are all playing out of the same ground.
Which isn't an issue because both the Reds and Roar are trying to move away from playing at Suncorp, they'd be gone already if a viable alternative already existed, and the Jets aren't an NRL side and won't/shouldn't join the NRL anytime soon if at all.

It's unlikely that there'll be another NRL side in Brisbane at least before the 32 Olympics, and by rights it probably shouldn't happen for a fair while after then either, but even then if/when a new stadium is built in Brisbane it should be a boutique stadium that's as centrally located as possible to suit the Roar and Reds needs as well, not expensive single tenant suburban grounds in the outer boonies for a gaggle of superfluous NRL sides.

Either way your problem is a non-issue.

TheRam

The irony of calling others naive then writing that nonsense lol.

Politics is a game of consensus building, and it's very difficult to build a consensus when you go into every negotiation with an aggressive attitude and refuse to compromise or concede anything to other parties and stakeholders whom you are trying to convince to support your position.

Your attitude might work in places where you already have the support (then again look how badly bungled the Sydney stadium deal was...), but it'll bite you on the arse in other places where things aren't so clear cut.

Take Canberra for example, this is how things are going in Canberra because of mismanagement by successive NRL, Raiders, ARU, Brumbies, and to a lesser extent Capital Football and FFA, administrations- https://www.canberratimes.com.au/st...tests-and-an-act-bbl-side-but-theres-a-catch/

We all know that plans for the rectangular stadium will be reduced until the talk dries up completely again if/when the upgrades to Manuka go through, and there'll be a more concrete push for an AFL side once the Tasmanian side is sorted out at which point Barr and his government will push for another upgrade/rebuild at Manuka as part of that.

Mate it's called the carrot and the stick. The AFL has both and has been using both aggressively and with great success for decades while the NRL was being hobbled and holding its own d*ck during all that time. We are only now just beginning to stir and make some waves, but there is still a Hell of a long way to go to even begin to catch up.

V'Landys needs to firstly lobby and serenade pollies like that AFL twat loving Barr and see if he can make him an ally in some way, he is a polly after all and most of them have a price after all. Not saying to do anything illegal, but there are legal ways you can sway and bring pollies over to your side. However if he can't be convinced then publically call him out for the road bump AFL loving lump that he is and keep attacking him intelligently and publically to gain weight in public support so he can't stuff the NRL around and eventually does the right thing by us. Pollies hate it when you turn the public against them. 101 of politics, nothing surer.

But we need a full on lobby division dedicated to all things RL based in Canberra just like the AFL have had since forever working those pollies over continually to see the world through the eyes of an NRL prism. We still haven't done this ffs and you wonder way we are making no head way?

Don't be a baby, only real men change the world. The rest say it can't be done and sight a laundry list of excuses.

TheRam

Absolutely, I'm pretty sure it was you that pointed out that the AFL states are allowed to be hostile against anything non-AFL, but our states seem to have the 'everyone is welcome attitude'. No, RL is our game up here and the NRL needs to make sure that it is prioritised at every single opportunity.

If it were up to me I would do a Pol Pot on the AFL at every turn and obliterate them back to the year zero.

Canard

Mate it's called the carrot and the stick. The AFL has both and has been using both aggressively and with great success for decades while the NRL was being hobbled and holding its own d*ck during all that time. We are only now just beginning to stir and make some waves, but there is still a Hell of a long way to go to even begin to catch up.

V'Landys needs to firstly lobby and serenade pollies like that AFL twat loving Barr and see if he can make him an ally in some way, he is a polly after all and most of them have a price after all. Not saying to do anything illegal, but there are legal ways you can sway and bring pollies over to your side. However if he can't be convinced then publically call him out for the road bump AFL loving lump that he is and keep attacking him intelligently and publically to gain weight in public support so he can't stuff the NRL around and eventually does the right thing by us. Pollies hate it when you turn the public against them. 101 of politics, nothing surer.

But we need a full on lobby division dedicated to all things RL based in Canberra just like the AFL have had since forever working those pollies over continually to see the world through the eyes of an NRL prism. We still haven't done this ffs and you wonder way we are making no head way?

Don't be a baby, only real men change the world. The rest say it can't be done and sight a laundry list of excuses.
If it were up to me I would do a Pol Pot on the AFL at every turn and obliterate them back to the year zero.
RU OK?

I think you might need some help

Canard

Putting aside the macho posturing, the location of Sydney's stadia and there respective tenants mean that you will never get overall consensus public support for their upgrades.

That's why Sydney people calling for Brisbane to build a new stadium, when there is only 2 teams, in an out of the way location, makes me scratch my head.

Sydney's stadium situation is something to avoid, not aspire to

TheRam

RU OK?

I think you might need some help

I'm fine buddy, I just don't mince words. I leave that for the soy boys and politicians.

No one ever achieved anything making excuses. You want something, you plan and you move forward and make it happen.

In the world of politics, lobbying is almost the only way to get things done. Look at Washington DC, almost all the surrounding streets offices around the Capital are filled lobbyists firms. The number one business in the city. Now why would that be?

Real world stuff, not living in a cocoon wishing it to be a certain way. If you want something you need to play the game otherwise you will be left way behind and empty handed.

Canard

I'm fine buddy, I just don't mince words. I leave that for the soy boys and politicians.

No one ever achieved anything making excuses. You want something, you plan and you move forward and make it happen.

In the world of politics, lobbying is almost the only way to get things done. Look at Washington DC, almost all the surrounding streets offices around the Capital are filled lobbyists firms. The number one business in the city. Now why would that be?

Real world stuff, not living in a cocoon wishing it to be a certain way. If you want something you need to play the game otherwise you will be left way behind and empty handed.
This imported US "podcast tough guy" has really reached its nadir.

Iamback

Putting aside the macho posturing, the location of Sydney's stadia and there respective tenants mean that you will never get overall consensus public support for their upgrades.

That's why Sydney people calling for Brisbane to build a new stadium, when there is only 2 teams, in an out of the way location, makes me scratch my head.

Sydney's stadium situation is something to avoid, not aspire to

You don't think that a city that is soon to host the Olympics?

Would aspire to a 2nd A League team

As well as the ever growing womens sports, should have a 2nd rectangular Stadium that holds more than 10k?

The Great Dane

V'Landys and the NRL more broadly would need to actually care before they could do anything in Canberra at all, which they plainly don't. But setting that aside, over a decade of evidence makes it blatantly obvious that Barr won't be swayed to build a new rectangular stadium and is perfectly comfortable paying it lip service to tow supporters along while pushing for investment in oval infrastructure and other projects behind the scenes.

Furthermore, outside of extreme high risk methods (which I'm not opposed to exploring BTW) the NRL doesn't have the means to swing public support against him on this issue. He couldn't swing even if he wanted to because the ACT literally can't afford to build the new stadium without at least pausing construction of the light rail, and doing so would mean Barr losing a massive amount of face. The new stadium isn't going to be an election swinging issue in the current environment anyway, if anything polling would be against building it and Barr could use it as wedge issue to gain support for himself.

Any talk of a permanent NRL lobbying group in the ACT is neither realistic, nor necessary, and the NRL has proven time and time again that they will not offer the ACT government anything of value that they don't already have in return for their support and construction of a new stadium, unlike the AFL BTW. So yeah that's just nonsense.

So what are you going to do now? "Real men fight, blah, blah, blah" BS isn't going to change anything, so you'd just fight and lose and make yourself look like a fool in the process because you could have achieved your goal but shot yourself in the foot instead because don't understand politics.

Canard

You don't think that a city that is soon to host the Olympics?

Would aspire to a 2nd A League team
No. Not even close. It's not even been rumoured

The current team barely averages over 5k now.

Even then with so few teams, you utilise one central stadium.

Wb1234

This is the great hole in Australia’s 2024 sporting calendar – a major footy code without a grand final venue or location.

And it can be blamed on broken promises, dishonoured agreements and backtracking from government.

The NRL released its full draw for next season almost five weeks ago on November 13 – and we’re now only 10 weeks from season kick-off — but still there’s no mention of the stadium, or even the city, for rugby league’s October 6 decider.

And culpability for that lies with our politicians.

In 2018, the NRL was prepared to lock in 25 years of grand finals in Sydney when the NSW Government offered to rebuild and upgrade stadiums in the Harbour City, including Accor Stadium.

But the funding package fell $800 million short and still hasn’t been delivered.

A redevelopment of Accor Stadium has been promised six times since 2012, but despite some improvements, it is rapidly falling behind other major venues. Our suburban grounds are also desperate for investment to keep them safe and viable.

NRL management has every right to start negotiating with rival cities – nationally and overseas — about hosting the grand final.

The previous Coalition Government reneged on its stadium’s promise and Labor premier Chris Minns ruled out stadium funding when elected in March. He asked for more time.

The NRL agreed to a one-year deal with the NSW Government for last year’s grand final to allow Minns time to settle into his new high-profile job.

Minns is desperate for the grand final to remain in Sydney at the 80,000-seat Accor Stadium, where it provides a substantial boost to the local economy, but he needs to stump up the cash.

The impasse leaves a billion-dollar-a-year sport without the ability to nominate a venue and host city for its biggest game.

I feel for the poor fans, the people who helped vote Minns into power.

The AFL knows its grand final will be played at the MCG and we’re all aware The Everest will be run at Royal Randwick next year. We even know the next Olympics will be held in Paris.

Yet will the NRL grand final be in Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne, Adelaide, Townsville or Auckland? We still don’t know.

I wouldn’t begrudge the NRL wanting to take our big game elsewhere. How much could the NRL get for taking the big match interstate or overseas? Try $10m, perhaps more.

AFL clubs sell membership packages which include an option to attend the grand final. NRL clubs can’t do that.

There is a push for the NRL to take the grand final on the road, perhaps only offering Sydney a grand final every second or third year if the government continues playing hardball.

Yes, there is a cost-of-living crisis but new and upgraded stadiums bring significant money into the NSW economy.

Governments have procrastinated and propagated fiction over stadium funding for far too long now. Fans deserve to know where the NRL grand final will be played in 2024 — and probably the following 10 years.

Minns is well-liked inside the corridors of power at the NRL and he shouldn’t be blamed for the failings of previous governments.

But he’s had 10 months in charge now and needs to dig into his pockets. We want a date, we want a venue and we want our grand final in Sydney.

This is the great hole in Australia’s 2024 sporting calendar – a major footy code without a grand final venue or location.

And it can be blamed on broken promises, dishonoured agreements and backtracking from government.

The NRL released its full draw for next season almost five weeks ago on November 13 – and we’re now only 10 weeks from season kick-off — but still there’s no mention of the stadium, or even the city, for rugby league’s October 6 decider.

In 2018, the NRL was prepared to lock in 25 years of grand finals in Sydney when the NSW Government offered to rebuild and upgrade stadiums in the Harbour City, including Accor Stadium.

But the funding package fell $800 million short and still hasn’t been delivered.

A redevelopment of Accor Stadium has been promised six times since 2012, but despite some improvements, it is rapidly falling behind other major venues. Our suburban grounds are also desperate for investment to keep them safe and viable.

NRL management has every right to start negotiating with rival cities – nationally and overseas — about hosting the grand final.

The previous Coalition Government reneged on its stadium’s promise and Labor premier Chris Minns ruled out stadium funding when elected in March. He asked for more time.

The NRL agreed to a one-year deal with the NSW Government for last year’s grand final to allow Minns time to settle into his new high-profile job.

Minns is desperate for the grand final to remain in Sydney at the 80,000-seat Accor Stadium, where it provides a substantial boost to the local economy, but he needs to stump up the cash.

The impasse leaves a billion-dollar-a-year sport without the ability to nominate a venue and host city for its biggest game.

The AFL knows its grand final will be played at the MCG and we’re all aware The Everest will be run at Royal Randwick next year. We even know the next Olympics will be held in Paris.

Yet will the NRL grand final be in Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne, Adelaide, Townsville or Auckland? We still don’t know.

I wouldn’t begrudge the NRL wanting to take our big game elsewhere. How much could the NRL get for taking the big match interstate or overseas? Try $10m, perhaps more.

AFL clubs sell membership packages which include an option to attend the grand final. NRL clubs can’t do that.

There is a push for the NRL to take the grand final on the road, perhaps only offering Sydney a grand final every second or third year if the government continues playing hardball.

Yes, there is a cost-of-living crisis but new and upgraded stadiums bring significant money into the NSW economy.

Governments have procrastinated and propagated fiction over stadium funding for far too long now. Fans deserve to know where the NRL grand final will be played in 2024 — and probably the following 10 years.

Minns is well-liked inside the corridors of power at the NRL and he shouldn’t be blamed for the failings of previous governments.

But he’s had 10 months in charge now and needs to dig into his pockets. We want a date, we want a venue and we want our grand final in Sydney.
The ship has sailed on Accor. It needs a billion $'s and they arent going there. Penrith will get its $300mill and then the govt will sit tight hoping the unviability of suburban grounds eventually drives clubs to using the infrastructure it has spent a wad of tax payer money on.

Canard

Who is this "we", kimosabi?

Iamback

No. Not even close. It's not even been rumoured

The current team barely averages over 5k now.

Even then with so few teams, you utilise one central stadium.

Women's sport's popularity growing is the one.

Suncorp is too big and 10k will be too small in 5-10 years

Wb1234

The ship has sailed on Accor. It needs a billion $'s and they arent going there. Penrith will get its $300mill and then the govt will sit tight hoping the unviability of suburban grounds eventually drives clubs to using the infrastructure it has spent a wad of tax payer money on.
580 million short of what was promised

Newcastle manly and the gong to round off the promised funding

Canard

Women's sport's popularity growing is the one.

Suncorp is too big and 10k will be too small in 5-10 years
They already have a venue.

It's priority no999 for RL in Brisbane.

You need to take your Sydney coloured glasses off

SpaceMonkey

They already have a venue.

It's priority no999 for RL in Brisbane.

You need to take your Sydney coloured glasses off
It says 15K for the redeveloped Ballymore and the concept picture had no end stands- you’d think that would be expandable to around 22K in the future if there’s room to do the ends.

Wb1234

It says 15K for the redeveloped Ballymore and the concept picture had no end stands- you’d think that would be expandable to around 22K in the future if there’s room to do the ends.
No more money for union owned grounds

they could start with upgrades to langlands or kayo park

and not leave it to the feds to do Barlow park