Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Just look at these supposedly 'economically viable' proposals put forward:View attachment 100063
View attachment 100062
View attachment 100065

Why not build a more budget style 50k modern oval in the style of Commbank for 1-2B instead of 4b? It will still 'look good' and be a modern serving stadium for Lions and cricket well into the future.

View attachment 100064
You cant build a 50k athletics oval and all the surrounding infrastructure for $2bill anymore. They are saying the 23,000 tassie stadium could cost $1.1bill!

i0Nic

You cant build a 50k athletics oval and all the surrounding infrastructure for $2bill anymore. They are saying the 23,000 tassie stadium could cost $1.1bill!
You're really supporting my arguments by bringing up the new Tassie stadium.

It's another stadium that:
- The AFL are pushing
- Is a fancy stadium with fancy expensive construction materials, a roof etc
- it's being built in a location that makes it super expensive to build
- It's supposedly going to be a landmark and attract global attention

Massive backlash to this stadium that is over 1B that should be no more than 500m by reducing the scope. On top of that, Tasmania already has 2 suitable ovals that just need minimal upgrades!

Sounds just like the new Brisbane 'lets not embarass ourselves so let's spend 4B' Olympic stadium that you are spruiking. I can sense common themes.

You're really supporting my arguments by bringing up the new Tassie stadium.

It's another stadium that:
- The AFL are pushing
- Is a fancy stadium with fancy expensive construction materials, a roof etc
- it's being built in a location that makes it super expensive to build
- It's supposedly going to be a landmark and attract global attention

Massive backlash to this stadium that is over 1B that should be no more than 500m by reducing the scope.

Sounds just like the new Brisbane 'lets not embarass ourselves' stadium that you are spruiking. I can sense common themes.
Did you notice that its costing $300mill to build two basic stands at penrith? In just 5 years weve gone from $300mill buying you a commbank, to buying you a half built penrith for same price.
people who know about this sht have been doing the costings. I think I'll take their word for it over your 'we could build a cardboard version for a fraction of that price'.
Unless you are in the stadium construction industry, in which case I apologise.

i0Nic

Start with a brief and budget.

Max budget: 1.5-2B (stadium only)
Location: Build in a location that won't require massive infrastructure build
Capacity: 50k
Inspiration: Commbank Stadium, London 2012 olympics stadium (both made relatively cheaply)

i0Nic

Did you notice that its costing $300mill to build two basic stands at penrith? In just 5 years weve gone from $300mill buying you a commbank, to buying you a half built penrith for same price.
people who know about this sht have been doing the costings. I think I'll take their word for it over your 'we could build a cardboard version for a fraction of that price'.
Unless you are in the stadium construction industry, in which case I apologise.
Yes I did notice. Again your supporting my argument. Penrith is a cost effective new stadium, which is what I'm proposing for Brisbane Oval - not the Taj Mahal.

Penrith is 300m for a 25k stadium. So my proposal for a 50k stadium (2x bigger) that is 5x more cost than the penrith stadium (1.5B) is very reasonable. I've even left 500m for wiggle room blowouts to 2B.

i0Nic

It doesn't matter. What will happen is that they will spend $4/5B on the oval and it will be huge and fancy. AFL will get their shiny new stadium to become the centrepiece of AFL in Qld where they can make a case for 2nd team. Rugby League will continuously miss out on stadium upgrades in Brisbane over the next 30 years and move many games to the new oval - killing off 'the cauldron' atmosphere Origin is known for. Brisbane will follow a formulaic approach to hosting the games, rather than any innovation as seen in Paris or LA, wowing noone.

AlwaysGreen

Why does a new stadium equate to a second fumbleball team in Brisbane?

To me it equates to a cricket stadium that can compete against Sydney, Perth and Adelaide for major events like world cup quarter and semi finals.

Right now Brisbane is behind all those cities.

It doesn't matter. What will happen is that they will spend $4/5B on the oval and it will be huge and fancy. AFL will get their shiny new stadium to become the centrepiece of AFL in Qld where they can make a case for 2nd team. Rugby League will continuously miss out on stadium upgrades in Brisbane over the next 30 years and move many games to the new oval - killing off 'the cauldron' atmosphere Origin is known for. Brisbane will follow a formulaic approach to hosting the games, rather than any innovation as seen in Paris or LA, wowing noone.
Or the Olympics will get a stadium befitting it. Cricket, AFL and Concerts will get a venue fit for the next 50 years and life will go on.
Maybe one day NRL might actually lobby for something to be done about Suncorp, but that would require them to lose the myopia about the GF in Sydney so dont hold your breath.

i0Nic

Why does a new stadium equate to a second fumbleball team in Brisbane?

To me it equates to a cricket stadium that can compete against Sydney, Perth and Adelaide for major events like world cup quarter and semi finals.

Right now Brisbane is behind all those cities.
Cricket is a minor focus for this new stadium and a red herring

Vee

Brisbane could be a catalyst of real change for the Olympics and set a new standard of how a city can host it, and for the IOC that could mean renewed interest in cities wanting to host it which has fallen off a cliff. In fact that's why Brisbane was chosen to begin with, a 2nd tier world city without the profile or GDP of cities like Beijing, Tokyo or Paris, that would host it without spending gazillions.

If they build a 4B oval not only is it damaging the premier sporting code of the state and creating a huge hole in taxpayers wallet, but it even sets a dangerous precedent for the Olympics continuing the narrative that the IOC want to move away from, which is you need to spend billions on white elephant stadiums.
IIRC, we got it as the only serious bidder.

i0Nic

If only the Saudis didn’t bribe the ioc and Australia won World Cup instead in the 2030s. We’d have much more sustainable and beneficial outcomes than building ovals.

i0Nic

I’ll believe what I want, like some here believe we need to spend a least 4B on an oval and there’s no other way to go.

Jetka100

Sydney must be magicians spending 800m on a 42k stadium in the middle of the most expensive city in Australia.
I admire your passion, but building costs have gone up significantly since then. Brisbane is getting a new oval stadium, it will be at Victoria Park, because there is no time to rebuild the Gabba. Experts in 2 reviews have come up with the same decision. The decision has been made, it will be endorsed Monday and revealed on Tuesday. I will be more pissed if they try and get rid of the Brisbane Arena because that’s what we really need. A nice new Suncorp would be nice but at the moment it is still pretty good to attend. There will come a time when it needs a full rebuild. I would rather wait until that is needed than spend hundreds of millions to add 5000 seats.

i0Nic

I admire your passion, but building costs have gone up significantly since then. Brisbane is getting a new oval stadium, it will be at Victoria Park, because there is no time to rebuild the Gabba. Experts in 2 reviews have come up with the same decision. The decision has been made, it will be endorsed Monday and revealed on Tuesday. I will be more pissed if they try and get rid of the Brisbane Arena because that’s what we really need. A nice new Suncorp would be nice but at the moment it is still pretty good to attend. There will come a time when it needs a full rebuild. I would rather wait until that is needed than spend hundreds of millions to add 5000 seats.
I actually don’t have a problem with a new stadium per se. But just one that can be built economically. It does not need to be the MVP of oval stadiums. Just a nice new oval akin to the standard built with CommBank. and built to a reasonable capacity ie 50k

I’m well aware of the increase in building costs I just built a house in the last 18m. But I do believe they can build it for less than 2B, given Allianz is a pretty high spec stadium for 800m surely 2B can get them a great new oval.

if they come out and say it’s going to cost 3.7B which will swell to 4+, that’s a complete rort to qld.