Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

insert.pause

Allianz is the one that's come in $200m over budget, either reduce the scope of the project or can it. If ANZ isn't touched the NSW government have cost taxpayers $200m buying back the lease. Not sure how they got away with not making ANZ the priorityafter that.

Mate what is to stop them? Only reason the initial plan (i.e. 65k new stadium being built over Kippax Lake at Moore Park) was kyboshed was Mike Baird. With him gone, Gladys has just agreed with whatever Stuart Ayres has proposed.

Ayres is definitely a problem but the kippax lake stadium was more than just Baird.

There were issues with the centennial park trust that would need legislation, and MLC’s were threatening not to pass it.

Turnbull even got involved.

$10m for how long? I'm assuming that it's $10m a year?

Then if things go bad in NSW they can take that number to VIC, WA, NZ, wherever, and say 'QLD offer ed us $10m, what would you offer?' and bounce them of each other, then next year after QLD paid (e.g.) $12m, they can take that number and the number that QLD made from tourism, etc, and start the process again and hopefully get (e.g.) $14m from somewhere else, and so on.

If you do it as $10m a year for 10 years, then you've got to wait ten years before you can hear opposing offers when after year 2 it was clear that the GF was/is worth more then the $10m a year that you are getting.
Of course you may have to take less to start off, as QLD may offer $10m a year for 10 years but only (e.g.) $8m for one year and nobody tops that offer, but I doubt it, I reckon you could get Melbourne and Brisbane (at least) in a bidding war straight away and get more then that $10m offer, if you played your cards right.

I'm sure you could grow the value of the GF more quickly by having the GF being more flexible and able to adapt to the market as quickly as possible by selling it each year then by selling it in 10 year lots.

They're doing it with the third SOO games, no reason why they couldn't do it with the GF, and it'd be a better result all around in my opinion.

Nope they need to take it away for an extended period, otherwise the NSW government will think that it wasn't as much of a disaster as it could have been and they'll repeat that to the voters over and over to save face, and it leaves open the opportunity for them to try and out stage other places that are hosting it to make the NRL look stupid for taking it away from them, which I'm sure you can tell would leave the NRL looking stupid and not the NSW government...
And you can bet your arse that Labour is hoping that they can play it so that the Libs lose the election but they can still keep the GF in Sydney, the NRL can't let them do that otherwise it sends a message to everyone that they're easily manipulated.

The NRL has to make it a lose-lose situation, either the government goes ahead with the deal and risks the election or they lose the GF for a very long time, either way the government comes out looking like the arseholes and not the NRL, and it sends a massive warning to other governments of don't try to f##k with us cause we'll ruthlessly screw you over.
They've got to take it away for at least a decade or so, preferably for the length of the contract that the NSW government has torn up, otherwise you're just letting them save face in the eyes of the NSW public which would be a terrible outcome for the NRL...

Yeah $10 million for the 2020 grand final.

Fair point about the taking every GF on the road, they need to know the threat is real.

Ayres is definitely a problem but the kippax lake stadium was more than just Baird.

There were issues with the centennial park trust that would need legislation, and MLC’s were threatening not to pass it.

Turnbull even got involved.

On that side of things, you don't have to tell me. That is why Baird kyboshed it as he knew any legislation for it would not pass the Legislative Council.

i think that dick Dave Smith wanted that too

spent quite a bit of money doing some analysis of it too

edit: https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/sp...at-moore-park-unravelled-20160414-go6ohk.html

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...l/news-story/1d0454824560e78442c07e4a54da2fab

● SPENDING $750,000 on a feasibility study to rebuild Allianz Stadium, which is home to only one club while others are left with poor facilities.

Stormwarrior82

From the get go the SCG Trust has been manipulating, moving the goal posts, undermining, self-serving to the nsw gov, Nrl and the public. The media seems to have had enough. The Nrl has been trying to make it work and have kept there end of the bargain and the media have been rather supportive of the Nrls wishes.

What I really am worried about is that the trust or gov will try to swing this issue around in the media once the Nrl moves the gf and paint the Nrl as the bad guy. The Nrl need to be ready for that. A media release from Greenberg or Beattie explaining that the Nrl will deliver 70 plus games a year to Anz if rebuilt and have advocated for this over Allianz for over 2 yrs.

The nsw election date is March next year. Start of the footy season. The Nrl could take all teams for the season opening round to the US, that would impact the nsw gov enough I’m sure. It hasn’t been eluded to yet in the papers but if Anz doesn’t get rebuilt and/or pushed back having a round away from Sydney during the election could potentially sink Gladys gov or at least keep it in the papers long enough to cause a problem.

It looks like the nsw gov will crack under pressure and lessen the commitment to the stadiums. The Nrl needs to make sure that Anz gets the lions share of the money on offer.

Who knows maybe Mr Qatar Sheikh could fly in and offer up $200mil for a sponsorship and 5 games/10yr deal or something and the Nrl could come away from this with the keys to a new Anz stadium.

Stormwarrior82

The best thing for the Nrl to do now is to get massive crowd numbers to the first 5 rounds of the season and have the players back up the Nrls stadium stance.

titoelcolombiano

Agree it does play into AFL's hands a little but they're never gonna relocate their GF to ANZ just because NRL isn't there. So no win in replacing NRL GF for Sydney.

Once the NRL take the GF on the road though there will be no turning back. Too many state govs with better stadiums will be bidding on it and Sydney's offer of ANZ combined with the bad blood will be behind the 8 ball. Even a total rebuild in 5yrs will only see them on par in the bidding for NRL GF, they'll never have it locked in again.

Good points! I'm probably referring more to the disconnect the Sydney may feel (even slightly) now that the their city is not the permanent home of the NRL GF.

Taking GF's on the road though will really help the NRL push the case for bigger, purpose built rectangular stadia in places like Perth, Adelaide and Melbourne into the future.

Quidgybo

Nope they need to take it away for an extended period, otherwise the NSW government will think that it wasn't as much of a disaster as it could have been and they'll repeat that to the voters over and over to save face, and it leaves open the opportunity for them to try and out stage other places that are hosting it to make the NRL look stupid for taking it away from them, which I'm sure you can tell would leave the NRL looking stupid and not the NSW government...
And you can bet your arse that Labour is hoping that they can play it so that the Libs lose the election but they can still keep the GF in Sydney, the NRL can't let them do that otherwise it sends a message to everyone that they're easily manipulated.

They've got to take it away for at least a decade or so, preferably for the length of the contract that the NSW government has torn up, otherwise you're just letting them save face in the eyes of the NSW public which would be a terrible outcome for the NRL...
Ten years is too long. It sends the wrong message to Sydney fans (ie. that you’re abandoning them). Instead, you award three GFs, the first and third to Brisbane and the middle one to Melbourne. Long enough to get everyone’s full attention without giving the impression you’re leaving permanently. The price you get for those GFs isn’t important, it’s the message and the precedent. Importantly, you make no commitment on where the 4th and subsequent GFs will go. You just say, “OK NSW, your call on what happens next.” At that point you’re in a position to really negotiate.

Once the NRL take the GF on the road though there will be no turning back. Too many state govs with better stadiums will be bidding on it and Sydney's offer of ANZ combined with the bad blood will be behind the 8 ball. Even a total rebuild in 5yrs will only see them on par in the bidding for NRL GF, they'll never have it locked in again.
Exactly. But we could offer them a commitment of every *second* GF if they’re prepared to honour their stadium promises. Otherwise all bets are off and they might see it every fifth or sixth year... but we’re not promising anything.

Leigh.

M2D2

I think NSW should lose the GF while ANZ is being rebuilt anyways.
The ideal is 2018 is the last year for it at ANZ (maybe 2019 if its booked beyond October for concerts im not quite sure ATM)
One in Brisbane. One in Melbourne.
Back to Sydney if its finished, otherwise another year elsewhere.
Then SFS can get a look at.

I think NSW should lose the GF while ANZ is being rebuilt anyways.
The ideal is 2018 is the last year for it at ANZ (maybe 2019 if its booked beyond October for concerts im not quite sure ATM)
One in Brisbane. One in Melbourne.
Back to Sydney if its finished, otherwise another year elsewhere.
Then SFS can get a look at.

Can’t make a move now until the govt has made a concrete decision on ANZ.

Moving the 2019&2020 grand finals would give the govt a perfect excuse to dump the ANZ rebuild and put the blame on the NRL.

taipan

The point is, would the soccer International mob FIFA want to stage a World Cup in a stadium(oval like ANZ)?
Gallop should be getting goff his ooh,um and agh blot and say a Soccer world Cup may never make it here, because ANZ is sh*thausen.
Surely when it was built, it was temporarily for track and field etc OPs 2000.Then conversion for 3 codes, not just rugby league to a rectangular configuration.Wjhat happened since, the fumblers there in a couple of mill to retain the seating set up.
Fumblenball are the real beneficiaries of retaining ANZ as is,and just of one or two semis.And as usual the rectangular codes got sucked in big time.Foley can;t see it,Gladys can't see it,Peter Bandanahead can't see it, the NIMBYS cant see it.
Think of the children and hospitals,an easy slogan to stir the emotions.They are forgetting of course the Federal Govt is paying the NSW State Govt now over $4bn ,for their part ownership of the Snowy Hydro Scheme.
Is this going to be spent on new bicycle tracks or a hospital to remove foot in the foot in the mouth by politicians and do gooders?

Clover Bore has a statue being built in George Street ,as ugly as a hatful of rear ends costing $2m.Banadana head again missing in action.
To be sure as the irish would say, if union was the supreme sport in nSW,I sincerely doubt he would protest so much.His abhorrence towards rugby league ,makes his protests so much more enjoyable for him.Hundreds of millions spent on private (elite ) schools,Banadan wearer unsighted.

M2D2

Can’t make a move now until the govt has made a concrete decision on ANZ.

Moving the 2019&2020 grand finals would give the govt a perfect excuse to dump the ANZ rebuild and put the blame on the NRL.
The government has already broken the contract/agreed terms several times. So its a pretty poor 'perfect excuse'.

https://www.smh.com.au/politics/nsw...4z2ku.html?utm_medium=rss&utm_source=rss_feed

'It's our policy': Berejiklian's qualified support for stadium plan

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian says she intends to stick to a controversial $2.5 billion policy to demolish and rebuild Sydney sporting stadiums despite mounting questions, including from within her party, about whether the plan is value for money.

But in a testy exchange with reporters, the Premier stopped short of ruling out a change of tack on the stadium rebuilding in a week in which a former minister said the policy had been “rammed through” and the party room was not informed about its economic justification.

“That is our policy,” Ms Berejiklian said when asked to guarantee she would pursue the policy through to the March 2019 state election. “That is our intention, of course."

The state government spent much of the past year dogged by questions over its stadium policy and its final iteration announced last October: demolishing and rebuilding both ANZ Stadium at Olympic Park and Allianz Stadium at Moore Park at a cost of about $2.5 billion.

This week, former fair trading minister Matthew Mason Cox said it was difficult to justify spending so much on sporting institutions when the state’s child-protection system was under-resourced and fewer than a third of children assessed as being at serious risk of harm received face-to-face assessments from social workers.

The government’s own policy guidelines for asset investment dictate a project must deliver more than a dollar in economic benefit to the state for every dollar spent.

But the Premier refused to say whether she would consider changing the guidelines on government spending to allow the controversial project to go ahead if it did not meet them.

“Let’s wait for the business case,” she said. “Often governments invest in projects that have non-tangible benefits to the state.

“Governments are there to provide projects that create jobs, investment and secure our state.

“I will not sit on my hands and watch other states take us over."

But Ms Berejiklian refused to guarantee the future of the project if a major cost blowout was forecast, saying she would not engage in hypotheticals.

“I’d much rather be criticised for doing too much,” Treasurer Dominic Perrottet said. “Under Labor … they built nothing."

insert.pause