Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Can only be a good thing and if it drives a second tier to become a more viable NRL2 in the future then that would be a great opportunity for the game to expand at a professional level without continually adding teams into the NRL. If you could get crowds of 5k plus , tv interested in covering (maybe a separate streaming deal?) and brought in a proper reserve grade for NRL then an NRL2 could be a long term viable goal. There's only ever going to be so many top tier places and lots more places tan we can accommodate. The trick is to make the current clubs not feel threatened by it! and the state leagues to accept their state comp isnt the second tier.

Be a great opportunity for the 25 year olds that dont make first grade, the 32 year olds that still have a few more years in them and the local talent that doesn't want to move interstate or to another country.

If getting small boutique quality stadiums gets us to this bring it on!

TheRam

I like your mindset and message but I think arguably we would be better off with each of those 4 grandstands being spread out over 4 grounds (with 3 grass hills) than 1 ground.

Small minded big thinker T-Boon? Just like most RL administrators. You'd fit in well. 😄

titoelcolombiano

Nothing stupid about hoping for more professionalism at the lower level mate. In fact if we could get more lower level stadiums like the one I showed in my previous post built, I believe attendances would increase across the board as more people, especially the immediate locals would see it as a great and cheap quality way to spend 2-3 hours with mates or family and support their local team on a more regular basis. I know if I lived within 5-10 mins of such a stadium, I wouldn't be able to resist becoming a regular attendee. The quality of it and the exceptional viewing experience would be to seductive and they would have me as a member and supporter of their team and I don't follow second tier sports at all. But this would be different and in my backyard. It would feel like my personal team so to speak.

But if they play in parks with grassy hills and look like any old amateurish footy team playing on the weekend, then sorry, I couldn't be bothered. I like quality, professionalism and a sense of grandioseness in my sports. Otherwise I just don't care enough to make it a regular thing, if at all.

We should try to make stadiums like the one I posted as the blueprint model for all lower team clubs to aspire to. It can only be a good thing for our sport and other rectangular sports, if they chose to use it too. That would be a truly winning strategy for them and our sport in general.
I must admit, when Dolphin Oval was redeveloped into its current format, I couldn't help but go and check out a Q Cup game to experience it. I'm thinking I'll do the same when Easts and Wynnum have done their grounds up so you have a point about making the second tier more attractive.

titoelcolombiano

Can only be a good thing and if it drives a second tier to become a more viable NRL2 in the future then that would be a great opportunity for the game to expand at a professional level without continually adding teams into the NRL. If you could get crowds of 5k plus , tv interested in covering (maybe a separate streaming deal?) and brought in a proper reserve grade for NRL then an NRL2 could be a long term viable goal. There's only ever going to be so many top tier places and lots more places tan we can accommodate. The trick is to make the current clubs not feel threatened by it! and the state leagues to accept their state comp isnt the second tier.

Be a great opportunity for the 25 year olds that dont make first grade, the 32 year olds that still have a few more years in them and the local talent that doesn't want to move interstate or to another country.

If getting small boutique quality stadiums gets us to this bring it on!
It's a good point you make about the 32 - 35 year old players. They used to drop back to reserve grade prior to the 2000's keep playing for a few years. These days some may go to SL but it would be massive for NRL2 if it existed to have players recently retired from NRL level footy playing at an NRL club. Will bring good promotion and boost crowds.

Imagine if say Smith, Cronk and Slater reunited after retirement to play a couple of seasons with their old club North Brisbane Devils or for the Storm feeder club the Sunshine Coast Falcons, they'd surely turn the regular 1 - 1.5k crowd into at least 5 or 6k.

siv

The Newcastle Rugby League in Newy is a funny study that is exactly the same as Sydney NRL but on a smaller scale.
The Newcastle teams play out of garbage grounds in the middle of nowhere (because they are close to their poker machines) meanwhile probably the best 2nd or 3rd tier stadium in Australia (Newcastle Number 2) in the best location in the town right near public transport has no Newcastle RL team playing in it so the area (Newcastle city) remains kind of a rugby area.
The redevelopment at Maitland SG looked good

Though I am not sure of the grandstand size maybe 2k

One thing people should like aboput lower tire clubs being able to upgrade their facilities is it may stop the stigma some players have when they are signed byu an NRL club but have to plaay Qld or NSW Cup as they don't make the NRL squad. Many players vieww it as park football due to the poor facilities, which is why you get some players who are not in the NRL 20 player squad each week agitating to move clubs whilst still under contract.

macavity

The Newcastle Rugby League in Newy is a funny study that is exactly the same as Sydney NRL but on a smaller scale.
The Newcastle teams play out of garbage grounds in the middle of nowhere (because they are close to their poker machines) meanwhile probably the best 2nd or 3rd tier stadium in Australia (Newcastle Number 2) in the best location in the town right near public transport has no Newcastle RL team playing in it so the area (Newcastle city) remains kind of a rugby area.

no one under 60 actually lives in the city though. It’s all boomer boxes. And Number 2 has been the home of Newcastle Rugby for a hundred years.

RedVee

It's a good point you make about the 32 - 35 year old players. They used to drop back to reserve grade prior to the 2000's keep playing for a few years. These days some may go to SL but it would be massive for NRL2 if it existed to have players recently retired from NRL level footy playing at an NRL club. Will bring good promotion and boost crowds.

Imagine if say Smith, Cronk and Slater reunited after retirement to play a couple of seasons with their old club North Brisbane Devils or for the Storm feeder club the Sunshine Coast Falcons, they'd surely turn the regular 1 - 1.5k crowd into at least 5 or 6k.
Calling it NRL something may help keep the 21-26yo’s that currently drift away

Reactions: TGG
Well , here we are over a year after Gladys canned the 800 Mill to be spent on Homebush , with the money instead to be used on improving or replacing several existing suburban venues in Sydney
( this NRL administrations preferred option)
But , we haven't heard a thing by way of confirmation except rumors & speculation about every suburban ground used in the NRL in Sydney getting something done to it.
Lets see the plan guys , whos getting what & how much of the pie.
Hopefully it gets all of the Sydney based sides playing in something half decent minimum.
For the NRL that is every one sorted except Newcastle needing its 2 hills seated in & Canberra getting the codes first indoor venue.
That should be the next focus for PVL

T-Boon

no one under 60 actually lives in the city though. It’s all boomer boxes. And Number 2 has been the home of Newcastle Rugby for a hundred years.

that was fine when no1 was the home of RL (grand final at least) and no2 was junk. But now neither of those are the case. The Lions should move there (except that their slot machines are else where).

The Seagulls do need to move away from Kougari Oval. The Arthur Lovell Stand is sandwiched between the touchline and a creek. There's no room at the carpark end. The Chook Pen can be expanded. The Leagues Club side doesn't provide much room for expansion.

Wouldn’t it make more sense to relocate the club to the Pink Lands Sporting Complex at Thornlands merge with the Redlands Parrots to become the Redland City Seagulls?

There's way more people living in Redland City and its demographics are similar to Wynnum. I see cars driving around in Redland with Wynnum Manly Seagulls bumper stickers.

So we've got PNG, Sunny Coast, Mackay, Cairns, Redcliffe and soon Brisbane Tigers and Wynnum Manly now all with 10 - 15k stadiums in the QLD Cup. Is there something they know that we don't? The only way they'll ever use anywhere near that capacity is by playing in a stand-alone NRL second division that might get some traction in terms of crowd and TV support.
It would be great if the QRL revolted against the ARLC and worked with the Queensland and Victorian Governments to make it illegal for the Sydney-centric NRL to operate in Queensland and Victoria. That way we can return the BRL clubs to their glory and run the NRL out of business.

Without the Broncos, Storm, Cowboys and Titans, the broadcast rights for the NRL would be almost as worthless as Super Rugby because no one outside of Sydney would watch it. Most Sydney clubs draw low ratings around the country. Melbourne Storm, Brisbane Broncos and North Queensland Cowboys are in the top six most watched clubs, draw good attendances and have plenty of members.

The Queensland Cup has plenty of regional centres covered, plus PNG with New Caledonia bidding for a team in the competition. The Brisbane 2032 Olympics are going to see stadium upgrades in Rockhampton, Cairns and Sunshine Coast. I don't know if Mackay is getting an upgrade, but if it does then that just leaves Ipswich and Logan. Bring in the West Coast Pirates, Melbourne Storm, Adelaide Rams, Darwin and three NZ sides.

titoelcolombiano

The Seagulls do need to move away from Kougari Oval. The Arthur Lovell Stand is sandwiched between the touchline and a creek. There's no room at the carpark end. The Chook Pen can be expanded. The Leagues Club side doesn't provide much room for expansion.

Wouldn’t it make more sense to relocate the club to the Pink Lands Sporting Complex at Thornlands merge with the Redlands Parrots to become the Redland City Seagulls?

There's way more people living in Redland City and its demographics are similar to Wynnum. I see cars driving around in Redland with Wynnum Manly Seagulls bumper stickers.
It's interesting that they are going to Kitchener. That's where I played juniors for the Seagulls. I've heard they will use the existing playing area at Kougari to expand the leagues club / carpark. I would imagine that no longer having games on site will affect the traffic through the leagues club though. They may as well sell the site and try and build a new leagues club at Kitchener too.

Dogs Of War

It's interesting that they are going to Kitchener. That's where I played juniors for the Seagulls. I've heard they will use the existing playing area at Kougari to expand the leagues club / carpark. I would imagine that no longer having games on site will affect the traffic through the leagues club though. They may as well sell the site and try and build a new leagues club at Kitchener too.
No chance that they would sell that site. They just spent heaps upgrading the club. Either way the club doesn’t get as much out of game day attendances as you think and it’s not like the club can’t have shuttle buses between the ground and club.

I think the juniors club will benefit immensely from this and hopefully they can upgrade the juniors leagues club down the track as another income stream and with a larger ground you can provide free entry to all juniors. Might mean they can do more with the seniors club with expanding the car park and having an outdoor dining/drinking area as well which works well in Queensland. Not to mention that unless you have a car game day is a pain once you get 2k plus to a game. Way more parking close to central Wynumn station. Overall I think it would be good for Wynumn central itself which really needs a facelift given its best days were a long time ago.
Living in the area I’m all for this.

Diesel

Was always surprised that Redlands never had a Q Cup representation when the population 15 years ago was over 120,000.
Has it always been tied to Wynnum-Manly or the Scorpions at one stage?

Dogs Of War

Was always surprised that Redlands never had a Q Cup representation when the population 15 years ago was over 120,000.
That population was spread over a wide area though. A lot of that is being filled in now. But Wynumns tentacles run wide. I have spotted them fund raising as far as Cleveland hotels. Wouldn’t surprise me if they go as far as Victoria point. Then you have Logan sort of swallowing support from then on in. Though seeing their crowds they don’t seem that well supported.

Redlands do have a Brisbane rugby league club though. Probably the appropriate level given the finances required to make a Qld cup team run and how the comp is structured now.

The Queensland Rugby League has neglected the game in Redlands and Logan over the last 20 years. It's been 19 years since Logan last had a team of its own. It's a disgrace that they have a team from a tiny NSW town but none in Logan and Redlands.

Wynnum Manly Seagulls were building links with Redlands around a decade ago. They were promoting Touch Rugby League in the Redlands and taking games to Pinklands Sports Reserve and Stradbroke Island. They even fielded their BRL team under the name Wynnum Manly Redland City Seagulls for a few seasons. I asked them if they were going to take in the Logan area when I went up to the Football Department to renew my membership around 7 or 8 years ago. The woman at the desk said no and said they're focused on Redlands.

Scorpions were f**ked over by the Logan City Council. In 1987-88 the Scorpions were forced to sign an exorbitant 15-year lease for Meakin Park that was more than the combined total of every other sports club in the city. It bankrupted the club. It didn't help that they entered the BRL A-Grade the year the Broncos entered the cockroach competition, as there just wasn't much sponsorship opportunities available for the local clubs with all the hype being on the Broncos. Wynnum Manly almost went into liquidation. Valleys did fold in 1995. Brothers went under a few years later. Ipswich also came close to going under in the mid-90s.

I wonder if they'll keep the Leagues Club on Wondall Rd and set up another one at Kitchener Park?

Dogs Of War

I wonder if they'll keep the Leagues Club on Wondall Rd and set up another one at Kitchener Park?

I pointed out earlier they spent heaps expanding the club over the last 2 years. It’s staying. They have Wynumn juniors club house at Kitchener which really could do with lots of work. I’d say that’s the next aim. Make that club more self sufficient. Given their is really only the RSL and Waterloo bay hotel close to Wynumn central. I can’t see how that wouldn’t be a winner.

Iamback

Well , here we are over a year after Gladys canned the 800 Mill to be spent on Homebush , with the money instead to be used on improving or replacing several existing suburban venues in Sydney
( this NRL administrations preferred option)
But , we haven't heard a thing by way of confirmation except rumors & speculation about every suburban ground used in the NRL in Sydney getting something done to it.
Lets see the plan guys , whos getting what & how much of the pie.
Hopefully it gets all of the Sydney based sides playing in something half decent minimum.
For the NRL that is every one sorted except Newcastle needing its 2 hills seated in & Canberra getting the codes first indoor venue.
That should be the next focus for PVL

Penrith is confirmed. That is $300m gone