Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Future NRL Stadiums

Saint Doc

great post gUt, love it when people think outside the square. Sure it may "never" happen, but I'm sure 20 years before One day cricket, 20 years before Super League, before video referees, before two league players were signed to million dollar a year contracts to play AFL, before Hoppa started...you know..., people would have said those things would NEVER happen.

I agree with applesauce, it is crazy enough to work!

Green Machine

Sounds a great idea. Something to rival Docklands in Melbourne. If you could reconstruct Olympic Park again, I reckon the best scenario for Rugby League would have been a 40k in-door stadium with a slide in/out pitch. With this, there would have been no need for Acer Arena. All concerts could be held at the same venue. It would have been an ideal venue for the Tigers, Eels and Bulldogs, plus the odd game for the other Sydney teams. It could have been a great venue for soccer and union at well. One facility to serve most of the needs of Sydney

nqcowboy87

its stupid and too crazy too work but unforutenatly 20 years ago surfing the net on a phone was out of the question as well

That is just admitting defeat. EPL, AFL, NFL etc all manage massive TV deals and fill their stadiums. There should be no reason why NRL clubs can;t get 25-30k crowds every weekend with better stadia, marketing, value etc etc

People seem to think the TV grant will pay for everything, it won't! At best it is likely to only ever compromise around 1/3rd of a teams required income. The other 2/3rds needs to come from game day fees, fan membership and merchandise sales and corporate (inc boxes at games) support.

Red Bear

30 000 at the SFS is excellent. In fact SFS is good with anything 10K and above.

It's ANZ that sucks with small crowds, because unless you have a big turn out you dont compensate for being so far from the action

paulmac

gUt - youre idea isnt as far fetched as it seems.In 1996/97 the Perth Reds realised the WACA was rubbish for watching league and actually came up with a plan to play thier home games at the Burswood Casino.Capacity was going to be limited to 14,000 and indoors.

yeh it was going to be in the Burswood Dome and the plan was to have a pitch that rolled in on game day. Would have been a cracking atmosphere if it had happened!
images

The Japanese built something similiar for the world cup, the Sapporo Dome with an amazing roll in, roll out pitch!

sapporo-dome.jpg

gUt

Thanks paulmac. It doesn't seem far fetched to me at all. The idea isn't really anything to do with admitting defeat about small crowds at NRL matches, it's more about Fox (or whoever) wanting to present what is already a great TV product in a whole new, improved way.

30k at the SFS is tolerable when you're at the ground but anything less... well on TV it looks shockingly bad imo. Too many empty seats. Sure it's a good crowd to be a part of but on the box it looks like a ghost town.

Do you think when Rupert eventually builds it he'll post in here and offer me a million dollars to say thanks?

beave

Check out the arizona cardinals stadium in the NFL, the turf rolls in for game day and the space left outside turns into a park.

bobmar28

How about artificial turf for the field? Yes the upper tiers of ANZ stadium are too far from the field but the lower bowl holds about 35,000. Less teams in Sydney and lower ticket prices would help to fill stadiums.
If any American city had 9 NFL teams they would have half empty stadiums also.

Green Machine

yeh it was going to be in the Burswood Dome and the plan was to have a pitch that rolled in on game day. Would have been a cracking atmosphere if it had happened!
images

The Japanese built something similiar for the world cup, the Sapporo Dome with an amazing roll in, roll out pitch!

sapporo-dome.jpg
I remember they looked at doing that before the 1997 season.
Would have been a great atmosphere,

seanoff

Sounds a great idea. Something to rival Docklands in Melbourne. If you could reconstruct Olympic Park again, I reckon the best scenario for Rugby League would have been a 40k in-door stadium with a slide in/out pitch. With this, there would have been no need for Acer Arena. All concerts could be held at the same venue. It would have been an ideal venue for the Tigers, Eels and Bulldogs, plus the odd game for the other Sydney teams. It could have been a great venue for soccer and union at well. One facility to serve most of the needs of Sydney

:shock::lol::lol::lol:

It would have to be f**king portable because it would be too far away for some groups of fans for any single game

Manly don't travel, chooks don't turn up, it's too far from the shire, i might get wet walking from the car, it's not close too me, i can't get there in 10 mins.

You could build it on top of central with escalators up to the stadium, free beer and food and $5 tickets and people would still complain.

CC_Roosters

:shock::lol::lol::lol:

It would have to be f**king portable because it would be too far away for some groups of fans for any single game

Manly don't travel, chooks don't turn up, it's too far from the shire, i might get wet walking from the car, it's not close too me, i can't get there in 10 mins.

You could build it on top of central with escalators up to the stadium, free beer and food and $5 tickets and people would still complain.

Aussies were born to whinge

Green Machine

Aussies were born to whinge
Don't worry about seanoff. He should replace the sean with jerk. Last year the 3 teams who used ANZ averaged 17.5k and none of them qualified for the finals. I never mentioned the Roosters because anyone in their right mind would know they had an adequate stadium at Moore Park. As a member of ANZ, I've seen some big crowds at the ground when they have played the Dogs and Tigers in the past. To not have a great facility in Sydney's West built, taking the view that Manly and Cronulla would not use it, is close to the silliest arguement if heard at League Unlimited. Pay no attention,

seanoff

Don't worry about seanoff. He should replace the sean with jerk. Last year the 3 teams who used ANZ averaged 17.5k and none of them qualified for the finals. I never mentioned the Roosters because anyone in their right mind would know they had an adequate stadium at Moore Park. As a member of ANZ, I've seen some big crowds at the ground when they have played the Dogs and Tigers in the past. To not have a great facility in Sydney's West built, taking the view that Manly and Cronulla would not use it, is close to the silliest arguement if heard at League Unlimited. Pay no attention,

you f**kers are delusional.

want a $1B 40,000 seat indoor stadium for a sport where the spectators turn up 3 games a year if you are lucky. :roll::roll:

parra stadium is heavily under-utilised. it is more than big enough for most NRL games. most of the the other grounds in Sydney need to be put out to pasture or preferably nuked from space.

it's not a case build it and they will come, they haven't before, they won't in the future. 4 regular season crowds of more than 30000 in sydney and one of those was a one off at the SCG. one regular season game in sydney drew 100 or so more the the Average AFL crowd. 1 f**king game.
and that would have had 8000 spare seats at the SFS

The NRL has the shit hole stadiums it deserves. the fans don't turn up in enough numbers to justify anything other than what is out there now. and the 9 sydney teams play out of 11 grounds because their people wont travel more than 10 mins, we've always played here, it's got atmosphere even if it is a hard to get to death trap, we merged therefore we have to play in 4 places to placate the 5 fans that live near the old ground, our fans won't turn up to our normal ground so we'll try and get some other suckers to come, wah wah wah.

want a new stadium. heavily cull the number of grounds that are used. have people turn up to more than SOO and the GF and build a case from there.

until then, carry on with these delusional fantasies about what the NRL needs/deserves. it's got what it deserves.

PaddyBoy

I have to agree with a the Sydney being whingers/game avoiders to some extent. I used to live in Katoomba, travel ti Lithgow for school and got to nearly every Dogs game with Dad and my brother (he commuted from Katoomba to the CBD and other areas) to hear people whinge about having to come from Punchbowl.

That being said, the city is a mess. Getting to the MCG for a packed Test match is a breeze from almost anywhere.

Somehow we need to cultivate a culture of attendance, memberships are doing that somewhat.

Raiderdave

If we'd have had a 40K all seater built at Blacktown for the Soccer world cup . then that'd would have been fine
we'd have benefitted from another sports event

but there is no justification for anything else " new " to be built from scratch .. what we have now in Sydney will do for the foreseable future

there might be some more upgrading of existing stadia
like adding a 2nd tier & roof to either end of Parramatta Stadium
some grandstands at Brookvale
but thats about it.

we can't fill the SFS .... ever :sarcasm:
& ANZ is filled regularly only once a year for the GF ... & occasionally for SOO's

there won't be anything else around in our lifetime

Green Machine

you f**kers are delusional.
Tell me about it jerkoff
want a $1B 40,000 seat indoor stadium for a sport where the spectators turn up 3 games a year if you are lucky. :roll::roll:
I know you are a little silly, but I said if they could reconstruct Olympic Park from scratch, that would have been a better alternative. Please stop making a fool of yourself and saying I want $1b for a new stadium. I was talking about one venue that could cater for Rugby League, Soccer and Union, as well as concerts and expos. Gut’s idea was for a 20,000 seat stadium.

parra stadium is heavily under-utilised. it is more than big enough for most NRL games. most of the the other grounds in Sydney need to be put out to pasture or preferably nuked from space.
So are you saying that Manly and Cronulla should play at Parramatta Jerkoff? The Bulldogs and Tigers once moved to Parramatta for home games and was a failure. You don’t know what you are talking about,

it's not a case build it and they will come, they haven't before, they won't in the future. 4 regular season crowds of more than 30000 in sydney and one of those was a one off at the SCG. one regular season game in sydney drew 100 or so more the the Average AFL crowd. 1 f**king game.
and that would have had 8000 spare seats at the SFS
Crowds have increased for teams who have moved to ANZ Stadium. Clutch at few more strays

The NRL has the shit hole stadiums it deserves.
According to who? A wanker like you? The SFS is a good stadium. Parramatta is good stadium for its size. The Upgrades at Kogarah, Campbelltown and Penrith have made them good grounds. Nothing as stupid as the GWS AFL Gaylords having the Showground rebuilt when they could have played on ANZ Stadium,
the fans don't turn up in enough numbers to justify anything other than what is out there now. and the 9 sydney teams play out of 11 grounds because their people wont travel more than 10 mins, we've always played here, it's got atmosphere even if it is a hard to get to death trap, we merged therefore we have to play in 4 places to placate the 5 fans that live near the old ground, our fans won't turn up to our normal ground so we'll try and get some other suckers to come, wah wah wah.
I see nothing wrong with the Dragons splitting their games between Kogarah and Wollongong. The Tigers split seems to work well. Manly and Souths do OK with odd game at Gosford.
want a new stadium. heavily cull the number of grounds that are used. have people turn up to more than SOO and the GF and build a case from there.

until then, carry on with these delusional fantasies about what the NRL needs/deserves. it's got what it deserves.

I'm not sure what angle you are trolling from, but I can guarantee you that Sydney Suburban will continue to get funding from all levels of Government whether you like it or not. Governments love it because it buys votes,