Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Galvin

Nutz

Good ol back door, never fails to deliver.
What a goose. Who cares what Elias thinks.
He acts as if he is an official spokesman for the club. Far from it. He talks crap.
Moses has thrown the boy under the bus. Unless of course Lachlan wants out so bad that he's agreed to make it go viral, go toxic and leave the club no choice to release him.
Well Moses, your opposition is Shane Richardson.
He won't be bullied and so far he has got WHAT HE WANTS with the WT. He has sorted out the board, playing hard ball with the home grounds and got the players Benji wanted.

Just how long Galvin remains at the club remains to be seen, especially now he is tipped to be left off the team sheet when it is released at 4pm on Tuesday.

Latu Fainu remains unavailable because of a broken thumb, with Doueihi, who remains without a deal for next year, the front-runner to shift into the halves alongside Jarome Luai.

I thought they wouldn't drop him but I'd drop him on form. He hasn't been playing well and we don't have to develop him.

I can't believe I'm stating AD can do a better job than Galvin in the halves however I think he has outperformed Galvin this season and I think he has more in his game at this point.

I'm not sure if any of you have worked in a corporate environment, but if you have, you'll be familiar with a term called 'gardening leave.'

I worked in a corporate environment and never saw this happen however my cousin's husband was a big wig lawyer and it happened multiple times to him. It's not really about being a bad influence. They are going to a competitor and they don't want their clients moving with them.

I don't know what we do with Galvin but I don't want to see us release him unless we benefit. The problem is the kid has embarrassed himself and the situation now appears untenable.

I still think we make him play reserves and/or let him stay at home and get his head right. You can call it acting with a duty of care for his mental health.

We have him next year as well and any club who signs him will want him released as quickly as possible. I think that club has to make it worth our while. I doubt he is on good dollars and we've taken much bigger hits to our cap.

Moses has thrown the boy under the bus

I assume he isn't dumb as dog shit and he has done it to get an early release. He could though just be dumb as dog shit and a terrible player manager.

I mean part of your job as a manager is to protect your client's reputation.

I suppose in reality I don't give a shit. I think on the field right now we'll improve with Galvin out of the team.

I also hope Benji and Richo learn from this. They've been sucking up to this kid for too long.

Nutz

I beieve Lacky's coments and thoughts around Benji must be true as i cant fathom he and his parents would let such a comment stand whilst knowing the incredible hatred and pressure that will be directed towards him from this day forward. As a parent i would never sit by and watch my childs character be destroyed for any amount of money , usless that is what they have said and stand by. Perhaps they are just shit parents and couldn't care less ...who knows.
Good point. Lachlan is a spoilt lad, probably learnt that from his parents.

I said yesterday that this can turn out a us versus them scenario. It can derail us but I can see other's POV that it could galvanize us.
Whatever happens, we can't go backwards.
Personally, I think it will bring the team closer together, quite a few are here or still here because of Benji.
TBH, I think we are travelling OK atm.

DJDL

Thoughts?

Can't see him going to the Dogs.
They're all in on Bombs Away Burto as 6.
Even if they want to shift him back out to the centres, where he belongs, they've got Crighton and Xerri.
They may possibly move Xerri on, but I'm not so sure.

Whatever happens, it's a really poor move from Galvin and his camp.
The kid is being very badly advised.

Richo has handled it well - "No one is bigger than the club. You want to disrespect us like that? No worries. Don't let the door hit your arse on the way out".

Nutz

Though, there is a big part of me, that wants this to happen. Reserve for reserve grade.
Scenario.
1.Galvin is gone, next year or earlier.
2. Luai decides to stay long term.
3. Latu is with us for another 3 years.
If this is the case, Fainu and Luai must play as many games together starting from yesterday. Well at least when Latu is fit and ready to go.
We can't wait too long because as I've said sooooo many times before, combinations take time.
If we don't do this now, we are simply giving up on our aspirations of playing finals footy this year.
We must play finals this year so marquee players want to be here.
We come last or down the bottom somewhere then we are rooted.
Would I go for DCE. Jury is out because we/I want Luai. He'll get better and we bought this guy to help us win games.

Nutz

Even if they want to shift him back out to the centres, where he belongs, they've got Crighton and Xerri.

Richo has handled it well - "No one is bigger than the club. You want to disrespect us like that? No worries. Don't let the door hit your arse on the way out".
Burton is injured and destined to play lock ;)

Perth Tiger

No one is paying attention to the real victim here if Galvin signs with Manly.

Poor Onitoni Large, leaves the Tigers because we wouldn't give him a Galvin re-signing clause in his contract. Ditches us to go to Manly, then Galvin doesn't re-sign and goes to Manly and blocks his path again :D

I can, Gould is a known fan and has tremendous financial backing.