Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Galvin

WA Tiger

Parra may end up with Galvin yet. At least he’d be in their A team. One thing Mahoney(spelling?) said on a podcast was yea it’s difficult having a new guy join up and then said he’s quiet.. I don’t think quiets good in that situation. Esp weird quiet. You could see a bit of him being excluded at wt during the song..I’d say he’s going to at last shut his mouth cos he’d been in a world of worry and embarrasment right now..esp after creating such a stir before and after he left and now he’s amoungst a heap of strangers..and he’s sitting in the coaches box ??

Karma can be a bitch.

Galvin is doing fine. He is doing better than he was with us because he is getting paid a bomb. In stating that I have never in my life seen such an overrated player. I would have dropped him when he was playing for us and I think he has improved with the Dogs but he still isn't playing well.

I think he might come good but geez how much drama and cost is there and who even knows if he develops into deserving his current pay packet.

Some situations are just weird and this is one of them.

Galvin is doing fine. He is doing better than he was with us because he is getting paid a bomb. In stating that I have never in my life seen such an overrated player. I would have dropped him when he was playing for us and I think he has improved with the Dogs but he still isn't playing well.

I think he might come good but geez how much drama and cost is there and who even knows if he develops into deserving his current pay packet.

Some situations are just weird and this is one of them.
His problem is, he is not currently being paid to be fine, he is being paid to be better than good and he simply isn't at that level yet (same for TDS). He'll probably get there at some stage.
With us, it is now more noticeable how he was affecting the team, but his pay packet wasn't a problem, it would have been if he had signed with us on the elite $ contract we offered him.

Anyway, he's the dogs problem now.

Tiger Ted

Maybe he'll get there. It's not a sure thing. The comments about him being the best teenager footy player ever when he was making a lot of mistakes on the field were ridiculous. The buy in from the WT staff was insane as well.
We certainly dodged a bullet.Richo’s offer was insane.AD is earning less than half what this ungrateful prick was offered & he’s doing a better job not to mention he’s a much better person to have at the club.

TBF, he went alright last year, which no doubt showed his potential, but this year he didn't improve imo, he probably got worse, maybe 2nd year syndrome, but probably more like his ego was dented when Luai showed up.

gordsy

Galvin has been talked about like he's an immortal but that's not what I reckon Gus expects him to be, no matter what he says in public. I reckon Gus just wants him and Burton to be the next Cleary / Luai and that's it, now if he can be better than all the better. I hope to god it doesn't turn out or we will never get that Insufferable merkin off our tvs

AKA Das Hassler

Galvin has been talked about like he's an immortal but that's not what I reckon Gus expects him to be, no matter what he says in public. I reckon Gus just wants him and Burton to be the next Cleary / Luai and that's it, now if he can be better than all the better. I hope to god it doesn't turn out or we will never get that Insufferable merkin off our tvs

Here's one that Gus and a lot of others must have forgotten about when they carried on about 20 year young Galvin...one B Marshall....touch footy at 17...RL and busted shoulders @ 18&19 then wins a premiership @ 20 YEARS OLD after turning the game on it's head!. not to praise Benji...just to put a bit of perspective on Gus's "best 20 year old rookie he's ever seen" ....what a load of bullshit

Wizardman

Maybe he'll get there. It's not a sure thing. The comments about him being the best teenager footy player ever when he was making a lot of mistakes on the field were ridiculous. The buy in from the WT staff was insane as well.
I have lost an online friendship with an Eel fan over Galvin. He was a bloke who kept drinking the kool-aide over how good Galvin is. He agreed with Gould's best under 20 player he'd ever seen line and actually thought he was going well at the Tigers.
With each weekly dog failure he has had, I kept reminding him of his stupidity. We no longer talk....lol.
For Gould to say he is better than other under 20s players he has coached himself is plain old bullshit. Fittler ran rings around Galvin as a first grader.

Nutz

Here's one that Gus and a lot of others must have forgotten about when they carried on about 20 year young Galvin...one B Marshall....touch footy at 17...RL and busted shoulders @ 18&19 then wins a premiership @ 20 YEARS OLD after turning the game on it's head!. not to praise Benji...just to put a bit of perspective on Gus's "best 20 year old rookie he's ever seen" ....what a load of bullshit
I doubt whether we would have beat the dogs or even Manly with Galvin in our side. Both Luai and Galvin's first reaction when they receive the ball is to catch and step or swerve sideways. That's why they were easily defended.
At least Latu straightens the attack and passes great left and right.
Benji knows this and is playing the patient development game and substituting him with AD for the moment.
This club was doomed having Galvin and Luai as our halves. They don't compliment each other
Our CEO saying they were the best spine, pigs arse.

I doubt whether we would have beat the dogs or even Manly with Galvin in our side. Both Luai and Galvin's first reaction when they receive the ball is to catch and step or swerve sideways. That's why they were easily defended.
At least Latu straightens the attack and passes great left and right.
Benji knows this and is playing the patient development game and substituting him with AD for the moment.
This club was doomed having Galvin and Luai as our halves. They don't compliment each other
Our CEO saying they were the best spine, pigs arse.
Though, what did you expect the CEO to say at the time?

Nutz

I just don't want him to fall into same bog hole Hege and Pasco talked themselves up in.
For me, Richo is the best thing that's happened to this club for ages so he shouldn't make bold statements.
You don't hear too much from other CEO's unless there's smoke like what's been happening with Cronulla, Souths, and Manly.
We are doing all our talking on the footy field now by winning, and as you keep saying mate, winning shuts the noise down.

Nutz

The players are talking up the team a bit and I'm okay with it but my opinion is just shutting your peep hole and getting shit done is the best way.
Oh yeh, players talking it up on the field and in your face dtuff is a great way to get on top of your opponent as long as you back it up which we are doing. Great stuff, but front office should stay out of the media unless they have to, good or bad.
We're going alright, better than the previous self appointed gods.

I just don't want him to fall into same bog hole Hege and Pasco talked themselves up in.
For me, Lee is the best thing that's happened to this club for ages so he shouldn't make bold statements.
You don't hear too much from other CEO's unless there's smoke like what's been happening with Cronulla, Souths, and Manly.
We are doing all our talking on the footy field now by winning, and as you keep saying mate, winning shuts the noise down.
Hopefully you meant Richo is the best thing?