Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Game day V Roosters

Dragonslayer

Well done lads. We got within 2 but I don't think we deserved to get that close. We suck at the moment and you guys sucked less in this one. Both sides in for long years based on that game.

Cheers Jack fair and non-biased statements. You guys will string together wins soon when your full squad is back, but I like the look of some of those new boys, your future is looking bright.

Jack_Napier

Cheers Slayer, we weren't good enough plain and simple.

Good luck for the rest of the season.

Red V for life

Happy we won, but equally frustrated that we couldn't go on with it. Just once I'd like to know how it feels to be up by 18 and comfortable the game is ours rather than being as nervous as a cat on a hot tin roof waiting for the Dragons to lose it like only they can.

Got to say that second half was poor. Our defensive pressure paid off a couple of times forcing Rooster errors in excellent field position but we either lost our way, dropped the ball or got barrelled into touch more than once early in the tackle count. You just can't do that. You just have to convert those opportunities into points.

As sh*tty as the season has been to date, it is weird looking at the ladder and seeing us currently 9th with 80 odd point differential.

kit66

We played well in the first half, spreading the ball and some great off - loads and dummy half runs and good line speed then we come out in the 2nd half and shut up shop. You'd think the boys were following orders - complete your sets and get to the kick - no "fancy" stuff e.g. short passes, long passes, that kind of thing.
So, just two reasonable halves of footy in our last 4 games.....not good enough.

BennyV

Roosters were awful. Haven't they gone downhill.

Yeah, they have, but there's definitely a reason for it.

Someone at our club needs to sit up and watch - THIS is how you do a re-building year! Put your best youngsters in there, combined with a proven coach and a series of experienced veterans like Friend, Moa, SKD, Pearce/JWH when they return, and let them lose. Them them learn. Let them grow.

Really, Roosters are setting themselves up to be a force again, likely as soon as next season (if not the following). Mitchell, Hastings, Nikorima, Burgess, Elliot and now Matterson, Vunakece and Watson, all incredibly young and being let lose to gain experience that will be invaluable in future years.

Dragons 09

Yay, 2 more points that goes a long way towards avoiding an unwanted timber trophy. Until we get a real coach, that's as much as i can hope for.

Certainly can't question the boys efforts, they always look like they are giving it their all and that effort is what is saving us from total embarrassment. If only they were mentored effectively in attack, they could have actually been a chance of falling into the bottom of the 8 at the pointy end of the season. Oh well, maybe we will get a real coach in 2018.

gitano

I don't know if playing him this early is smart by the Roosters...

I think he will be a superstar but maybe this is killing his confidence.

He seems like he believes the hype. Needs a rocket about his lack of intensity and a really clear, simple role.

If SKD or Ferguson play 1 today, we lose IMO - so I couldn't overlook him for man of the match.

gregstar

on a different note.

just how f*cking soft has the game become?

some of the penalties were simply appalling.

Cagey Mac

Great call mate. Nailed it. :cool:

I'll second that and recalled the comment during the game.
My MOM was Nightingale
So consistent and his reaction to that stupid crusher possibly saved the game.
To all the Widdop haters. He has the heart of a dragon and can play.

saintjeff

Good win got there in the end
First try if gareth dont chase hard we dont score.
Hopefully we learnt to contest high kicks as we gave up two tries At pc trent was sooking at ref , tell your stupid forwards to stop tackling high .
And by the way there was a huge forward pass in the chooks first try

gitano

Would love to hear Coach Robinson's take on the try they were incorrectly awarded and a few of the other big moments that favoured them.

rasaint

I agree that Roosters were hit with a couple of soft penalties; hey we copped plenty ourselves.

The forward pass leading up to Roosters 1st was probably the worst forward in a decade. Even the normally anti dragons commentators called it stone cold. I didn't need any replay to spot the knock on kick for 2nd try. Dugan got stripped and then miracle catch but called for roosters. I thought that Moa would be sent off for that shot on McCrone early. Very lucky roosters.Then copy book head high on McCrone again near the end of game allowed to play on.

What is disappointing is Trent Robinson now attacking the Ref, calling his behaviour unacceptable, we was robbed type comments. Veiled suggestions that Dragons lay down, he said same last year when they tried bashing Euan Aiken out of the game. Good on you Trent you were gifted an amazing roster ( probably TPA galore) and won a comp with SBW etc. Now still have a very good side, but hey blame everything else for your loss.

We won't win the comp but we won today and let's bring on next week.

thebigredv

The history books will show we have won the ANZAC day game two years in a row by 2 points. Too bad Roosters, poor little chooks.