Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gameday dragons v cowboys

BlackDuckSaint

It is wins like that, that define a season. I honestly reckon they went out in that second half already looking toward the ANZAC Day game.

It didn't help but from my point of view, very few, if any, 50/50 calls went our way, and the bounce of the ball failed us as well. I really reckon we would have lost that last year.

Hopefully a lot of lessons are learnt from that. Game management at the back end of the game, loose tackles, poor ball control. The most worrying was how they went in their shell and tried to defend the lead. that is negative football and that is Dragons of 2015/16.

JDB is such a massive difference. I really think he is the leader of the pack. When he was still on in the second half, that was when we were still playing a bit of footy. He went off and we started to lose the forward battle badly and leaked points. He came back on, we leaked no more points and we started to run hard again.

And thank Nene for his Hand of God moment. Saved Aitken from really looking like a knob.

OzDragon

Atrocious refereeing in the second half. Cows offside every tackle in the last 15 mins.

We weren't good in the second half but errors were compounded by shite decisions by the refs.

In saying that, still great to leave the stadium hearing 'oh when the saints'.

TomRedVRiver

Credit where it's due, the Cowboys were phenomenal in that second half. Awful refereeing or not, we were dominated fair and square.

Bit of a great escape in the end. 2 points, Chooks next week. Plenty to work on.

j0nesy

I'm really not worried by that fade. We played with our food. We knew we were bigger, faster and stronger than the Cowboys after the first 40. We completely switched off in the second 40 and still did enough to win. Good kick up the arse before we head to Allianz next week.

Thought the same thing, we barely had the ball and when we did we mucked around with it. Also, had a bit of luck and refereeing go against us. Just as an aside, we barely caught a ball off the kick off all night.

Red V for life

My blood pressure went thru the roof.
My wife called the Medics.
My standby alcohol was administered intravenously by the good nurse.
Dragons win..... patient is resting well and is on a 24 hour Bourbon drip.
Intravenously you say. :thinking:

I'll have to keep that in mind OKB1. I had beer in hand but my mouth was so dry from anxiety every mouthful was like drinking nails :blush:

rasaint

Guys don't stress too much. All the rub of green went to cowboys in 2nd half. A grubber richocheted for one try and a 50/50 dubious Hail Mary bomb called a try. Good try by Morgan was the only fair dinkum one.

Refs refused to give us a penalty in 2nd half. It was comical at the end when all the cowboys had run 5 metres past the ref in the last set and goodnold Henry knew it but decided it would be more exciting to see the game play on.

Watch the replay of the field goal the cowboy chaser was on his way at Gareth before the ball had even been placed on the ground. Nun no penalty as this was all too exciting.

Anyway we won and on to next week with I hope a fair go.

j0nesy

Atrocious refereeing in the second half. Cows offside every tackle in the last 15 mins.

We weren't good in the second half but errors were compounded by shite decisions by the refs.

In saying that, still great to leave the stadium hearing 'oh when the saints'.

There was one play, think it was the 2nd tackle of our last set, we hadn't played the ball and the entire cows line rushed up about 5m. The ref called "hold, hold, wait until they play it". The didn't, didn't and didn't and the ref didn't penalise them. Bizarre...

Dragon66

Cowboys showed us how to play in that second half.
thank god Thurston wasn't out there or that would have been the game that got away.

JDB seemed to be off for a long time in that second half. Still think the forwards still need to work on their offloads. They did great in the first half, but in that second half they just tucked it under their wing and just wasted time and put no pressure on the Cowboys defence.

We had better be better than that next week against the Roosters.
That second half was McGregor's 2016 Dragons team as has been said before. Hope that's the last time we have to see them.

We gave the Cowgirls too much ball due to penalties and unforced errors.

Didn't get any of the 50/50 calls in the second half.

We needed to slow down the game and put the ball in to touch to give the forwards a breather. Last tackle options were not good.

Still we should be very happy to have collected the 2 points.

Second half will bring the team back to planet earth.

As supporters we need to recognise the team will not always play the perfect game. That's footy.

Looking forward to ANZAC day game. Would love to see us pluck the feather dusters !!!!!!!!!!!

FlameThrower

There was one play, think it was the 2nd tackle of our last set, we hadn't played the ball and the entire cows line rushed up about 5m. The ref called "hold, hold, wait until they play it". The didn't, didn't and didn't and the ref didn't penalise them. Bizarre...
Exactly....

Pro Dragons

Refs will put on those sort of second half performances to advantage the Qld teams. Still we dropped off and in the NRL losing your intensity will gift the opposition points. Let's hope it's a good lesson learnt.