Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gameday - Rd 10 Warriors v Panthers

Ford binning was pretty clear cut, when are the players going to learn

The young fella was a stupid play, and left him open to that call, but I watched Mitchell do the same to Reynolds and he wasn’t penalised at all, so those calls on the same incident are at the complete opposite end of the spectrum

competed well again, defence will keep you in the contest but attack is looking a touch toothless. Egan starting from the bench is a strange call

JJ

Presumably that was caution with Egan? But yeah he has to start, and ideally play the whole game

SpaceMonkey

Presumably that was caution with Egan? But yeah he has to start, and ideally play the whole game
I had a think about it and I suspect it’s because they’re worried about him getting another knock so they want to have Lussick in the team as backup for him, but also don’t want to waste an interchange spot if Egan plays out the game so they’re using Lussick in the first 20 to soak up the initial punishment and then act as an injury reserve.

Benek

I had a think about it and I suspect it’s because they’re worried about him getting another knock so they want to have Lussick in the team as backup for him, but also don’t want to waste an interchange spot if Egan plays out the game so they’re using Lussick in the first 20 to soak up the initial punishment and then act as an injury reserve.
That’s exactly what it was, and in this case it worked quite well due to all our injuries.

vvvrulz

Another tough old grind, we did way too much defending and injuries and rubbish calls didn't help us one bit.

I'm still glad we didn't give up, I love our starch and our biggest problem right now is not icing the (few) opportunities we get to score. It could be a lot worse.

Matua

How do the refs justify these high shots as not even deserving penalties now? A year ago they’d be looking at a potential sin bin. How quickly the rules change when the Warriors are at the receiving end.

Its not why we lost but it’s f**kn frustrating.

Also, could we get through one game please without losing most of the bench to injury? Really tough circumstances to try to close out games with both wingers gone and down to one man on the bench.
I thought the bad old days of B/S officiating of the Warriors was over, the last two have proven me wrong.

I really don't know what's the point anymore.

Penrose Warrior

I wish we'd grow up as a fan base, and I don't mean this forum.

Every time I go on Warriors social media it's about the refs, like we think we have this premiership winning squad and the only way to deal with the fact we might not win it all is to go down the easy route and blame the refs. Sharks fans felt aggrieved in our comeback win but we pushed on, we saw nothing. But oh no when we lose, let's lay out the sufferance we had!

Penrith were the better side. We fought hard, but we were bereft of ideas, we blew chances, Montoya f**ked up a read on the To'o try, etc. That's the NRL. We need to get better, get guys like Egan, Barnett, Martin etc back on the field or we're fringe 8 potential again

2nd set and CNK loses ball in tackle, inital called ruck interference. Captains challenge successful for Panthers.

Panthers grubber knocked on by Panthers on tryline.

Walker grubber on halfway regathers by Panthers, giving them a start on our 40m.

3rd grubber gone wrong for Panthers at the line.

Ford through a huge hole and no support.

Panthers get forever to lay in ruck. No professional foul.

Poor kick at end by SJ.

Montoya steam rolls Cleary and earns a penalty!

Stretch the right and then hit them in the middle with AFB strolling in off a flat Harris pass.

6-0 10 mins

Harris got a Panther on the chin off the ball and penalised as Panthers trapped in their half for a few sets.

Kosi nails Creighton, who stays down and to earn a penalty, crowd loved it. Kosi down knee clash and contact cleared. U

Bunty accidental offside on Panthers kick. 6 again as hand on ball.

Lusick 2nd time caught out lazy in line and Edwards steps through. Get Lusick off.

6-6 19mins.

Ford rocked in making tackle.

Kosi not 100% with knee.

Panthers penalised for marker not square.

Start on their 40m.

Creighton nails Walker on the last.

Hits coming thick and fast.

Montoya 2 Cleary 0.

6 again for Panthers and AFB did something wrong at marker.

Cleary grubber taken dead.

To much possession for Panthers, score in the corner, Montoya jammed in causing overlap.

6-12 29mins

Why is Kosi still out there? To get free Interchange with HIA.

Stays down after Creighton shoulder to head and bunker sees it.

Starting on our 30m.

What's up with the grubbers today? Poor by both sides.

Break by Curran off Egan, back to Egan tackled 5m out, SJ brain snap of a kick that goes dead.

DWZ gets up holding jaw, nothing to see other than arm on ground across jaw.

Panthers knock on the ball on our 40m.

Ford loses ball on halfway, looked backways bit no challenge.

Clear goes for for 2 point drop goal and misses.

HALFTIME.

Kosi gone with knee injury passes HIA.

SJ midfield bomb. His kicking off today.

Panthers break shut down by CNK after 3 other misse Brian T.

Cleary grubber forced Nikora in goal.

SJ drop over line but not penalised this week.

6 more for Panther ruck infringement then again next tackle and Panthers lose it at dummy half next play.

CNK loses ball off Ale pass who looked like hipdrop by Yeo! Not looked at! (49min mark if you want to look again.)

You can't read about it, Lui grimness in his tackle and Ford done for hip drop and infinite for 10mins! WOW

6-14 50mins

Cleary bomb allowed to bounce and taken dead.

Short kickout taken by Pompey.

SJ brake stumbling and no one there to pass too.

Harris gets up slow. Chin shot with shining arm. But no issue, Boos ring out. Caught on last.

Panther lose ball in play the ball on their 40m.

6again ruck infringement by Panthers.

SJ grubber forces dropout.

Ford kept off after singing return, AFB on instead.

SJ grubber didn't work again. Panther ducking out if in goal.

DWZ cops a slap in face and stays down. But nothing in it.

Ford ruled out of game.

Now DWZ off for HIA, but no penalty for head shot??? Come on bunker.

No wingers left.

We have no spark, don't see how we score points.

Curran loses ball in tackle as he goes to ground and handbags come out.

Sifakula sent to sin bin for striking at Cleary (f**ken shirt grab)! Bunker finds anything on us. More Boos. If your going to do it connect and knock him out so he out with HIA!

Yeo loses ball and crowd loves it.

SJ break but no one with him (theme of the day for us) grubber for only him and traps Peachy.

SJ grubber collected by Cleary.

This week shoulder charges not allowed by us as AFB done for one in front of post. FMD vs Roosters last week it nothing.

Panthers knock it on 5m out line wide open.

Cleary offload to Edward kicks foe them 10m out, Leniu charged straight through Lussick and Egan to score out wide.

6-18 76mins

Short kickoff failed.

FULLTIME.

Can't beat Panthers with 2 sin bins in a game and come crap kicking.

12-6, we're in it. Despite players like Ford (knock-on) trying to present them with a try two minutes from halftime.

A high quality first half from both sides, with brutal defence and completion rates standing out.
Always felt like they going to roll over top of us at halftime.

Ford binning was pretty clear cut, when are the players going to learn

The young fella was a stupid play, and left him open to that call, but I watched Mitchell do the same to Reynolds and he wasn’t penalised at all, so those calls on the same incident are at the complete opposite end of the spectrum

competed well again, defence will keep you in the contest but attack is looking a touch toothless. Egan starting from the bench is a strange call
Go back and look at Yeo tackle before Fords, Ford at least drop his arms down. Only diff is out guy didn't get up limping.

Feel we missing a spark/threat in attack that makes defense have to answer a few questions.

Every time I go on Warriors social media it's about the refs, like we think we have this premiership winning squad and the only way to deal with the fact we might not win it all is to go down the easy route and blame the refs. Sharks fans felt aggrieved in our comeback win but we pushed on, we saw nothing. But oh no when we lose, let's lay out the sufferance we had!

Penrith were the better side. We fought hard, but we were bereft of ideas, we blew chances, Montoya f**ked up a read on the To'o try, etc. That's the NRL. We need to get better, get guys like Egan, Barnett, Martin etc back on the field or we're fringe 8 potential again
We clearly made to many errors and had poor last tackle kicking options.
But consistency is a bitch sometimes!
Still hoping Webster will get us out of the victim mentality soon.

SpaceMonkey

I thought the bad old days of B/S officiating of the Warriors was over, the last two have proven me wrong.

I really don't know what's the point anymore.
I don’t think they ever really went away but when you side is a rabble you know it’s not really making much of a difference and don’t care. When you’re competitive and still getting arseholed in close ones it matters and hurts a lot more.

GoSouths

Its the inconsistency from one game to the next which is the most infuriating aspect as well as within the game.
The previous night, a player got a slap in the face and it was a penalty. Last night DWZ has the same thing happen and nothing. Clearly the referees arent reffing from the same rule book.
Last night, Harris gets pinged for a moderate high tackle that had slipped up from the ball to the neck region. Commentators say its a soft penalty. Then in the second half when Warriors are hot on attack, he cops one fair on the chin. The bunker looks at it and its play on. How is that not viewed as cheating by whoever is in the bunker by the public? How can you watch a game when you know this sort of thing goes on every game. There is no accountability, no fines to these people who are making poor decisions everytime. Compared to other sports the NRL is an absolute joke, where a crap referee, ends up in the bunker with all the technology in the world and still f**ks it up, or sees something different to the rest of the world. No wonder people think its a rort.

And this is nothing to do with any narrative bullshit. i dont even watch footy shows etc. This is what i am seeing with my 2 eyes.

100% right, but it’s hard to get past when you have a media that knows f all about rugby league pushing the narrative week after week after week

The Sky commentary is the worst, last week Larmer and whoever the token female of the day was were making up scenarios that happened and rules as they went. Couple I remember was when you heard held, the Warriors player offloaded, and the ref called them back. “Ball was clearly passed before the call”. Walker clearly not square at marker “he was perfectly fine” etc

That Dogs game earlier in the year was a very nice call for the winning try as well. Fans of most clubs feel they are hard done, it is something across the board. My Raiders mate reckons they get stitched up every week, even though Annesley admitted a gigantic error that hugely contributed to getting them home last weekend

ozenzud

100% right, but it’s hard to get past when you have a media that knows f all about rugby league pushing the narrative week after week after week

The Sky commentary is the worst, last week Larmer and whoever the token female of the day was were making up scenarios that happened and rules as they went. Couple I remember was when you heard held, the Warriors player offloaded, and the ref called them back. “Ball was clearly passed before the call”. Walker clearly not square at marker “he was perfectly fine” etc

That Dogs game earlier in the year was a very nice call for the winning try as well. Fans of most clubs feel they are hard done, it is something across the board. My Raiders mate reckons they get stitched up every week, even though Annesley admitted a gigantic error that hugely contributed to getting them home last weekend
The raiders and the titans do get shafted week after week. Storm, Easts generally somehow get the better of decisions over an average season with a few shockers here and there. Warriors were getting some calls earlier this season. Now its disappeared and normal service resumed.

I suspect the investigation is into the comments not the shit calls?
Wonder if NRL will be a bit more worried about a major sponsor seeing what the random punters have been screaming about for a while. Oh hold on its a Warriors sponsor.

Amazing in today's world it got past any PC filters. Must have done a customer survey and found their target demographic had these grievance! 😀

Phil Gould got investigated last week too

How embarrassing from the sponsor, shame he wasn’t as concerned about the customer service of his operation where you spend an hour on hold to speak to someone overseas that you can barely understand