Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Games thread eels v dogs

yy_cheng

What disappointed me was we didn't try and build pressure with grubbers and trying to get repeated sets

Yeah Agee. What killed me is when Roberts decided to kick the balll back to them instead of testing them out with a Bomb, their fullback is shitt and was never tested.

cv8z

2012 wooden spooners vs grand finalists.
Whilst the game was there to win, not a bad effort, at least we are on the rise.
Off topic. Geez some dogs fans are knobs!

forward pass

move ben smith out of the side

I am yet to figure out what he adds to the side. He offers nothing in attack, gives away silly penalties, has no off-load, is ineffective as a wide runner and never pokes his nose through the line. I know he is a long serving player and a decent bloke but I can't see how we can carry him.

It was a tough game last night and the Dogs gave us no room because of their line speed and slowing down the ruck.

We'll learn a lot from that.

Weakest links - Roberts & Ben Smith.

I also thought that some of the props spent too much time out there Our bench rotation was stuffed because of the Reni injury and Kelepi on debut. I know that you want to protect your rookies, but IMHO if he's selected then play him like any other player.

In general I was pretty damned happy with the game. We generally showed a great attitude and going forward this will be of great benefit to us. However:

* Roberts and Paulo: Have copped a lot of unwarranted criticism. Neither is supposed to be a major playmaker. They are bit players that add a little to our attack at times but were forced to go beyond their limits due to Kelly's absence and HaHa's utter laziness.

* HaHa: an utter joke. If he had have decided to play last night then we would have won - end of story. Do not offer him a massive contract as last night showed his true colours. If some other Club wants to pay a squillion for him then let them have him. Also, take the co-captaincy off him immediately. I blame him entirely for last night's loss.

Everyone else was great. The forwards busted their arses and our inexperienced backs were amazing in defence. Sandow was superb. If we take that attitude into next week, even with HaHa continually sooking like a petulant little turd, then we're a damned good chance of winning.

EelsFan05

In general I was pretty damned happy with the game. We generally showed a great attitude and going forward this will be of great benefit to us. However:

* Roberts and Paulo: Have copped a lot of unwarranted criticism. Neither is supposed to be a major playmaker. They are bit players that add a little to our attack at times but were forced to go beyond their limits due to Kelly's absence and HaHa's utter laziness.

* HaHa: an utter joke. If he had have decided to play last night then we would have won - end of story. Do not offer him a massive contract as last night showed his true colours. If some other Club wants to pay a squillion for him then let them have him. Also, take the co-captaincy off him immediately. I blame him entirely for last night's loss.

Everyone else was great. The forwards busted their arses and our inexperienced backs were amazing in defence. Sandow was superb. If we take that attitude into next week, even with HaHa continually sooking like a petulant little turd, then we're a damned good chance of winning.

What's your thoughts on Hayne, Hollywood?

Captain BF

Wow just...wow!

But what a bunch of pissant fans we have.
To all those bagging Hayne did u miss the tackle where he so obviously got a leg injury as well as being collected as high ?? I spent the rest if the game hoping to **** that the injury wasn't serious as it obviously impeded him from then on in. ( But hey I could be wrong & mayve he is just Parra's J Dugan)
We were competitive & up until the last few minutes there was always a chance we could snatch a victory . We couldn't have said that too many times last year.

I am pissed off we lost considering I think it was a game we could have won, but to lump tonight's performance in with previous lacklustre efforts is just plain wrong.

Some of you guys are in for a long year if you expected us to be performing better than we have in the last 2 weeks coming off one of the worst years I have seen from us highlighted by winning the spoon.
Couldn't agree more Muznik.

broncos2010

I only have one thing to say that is so matter who the coach is when the cattle is not their you dont win games simple as that need some serious recruiting in the forwards,if buldogs had as much possession as you guys did in the second half and a near full strength team like you guys did they would have won by 30.

Delboy

Thnaks 2010. welcome to our nightmare, why dont we have the cattle ? I think you have a major reason for that now sitting in Brisvegas. Hopeless at identifying talent, and was unwilling to promote over established players

You are correct, but we are ecstatic that we competed hard, this should be the start of a building era for us, hope the "lads" are listening to your new coach :)

Thnaks 2010. welcome to our nightmare, why dont we have the cattle ? I think you have a major reason for that now sitting in Brisvegas. Hopeless at identifying talent, and was unwilling to promote over established players

You are correct, but we are ecstatic that we competed hard, this should be the start of a building era for us, hope the "lads" are listening to your new coach :)

To be fair, Kearney did give heaps of young blokes a lot of football - Allgood, Ryan, Sio, Morgan, Blair and Kelly can thank Kearney for giving them some time.

I only have one thing to say that is so matter who the coach is when the cattle is not their you dont win games simple as that need some serious recruiting in the forwards,if buldogs had as much possession as you guys did in the second half and a near full strength team like you guys did they would have won by 30.

Fair call - sometimes you're just outclassed.

Someone

I think itll do more for our season losing then winning.

Hayne needs to realise just how big an influence he is on the side.

born an eel

we tried a captain who led by example, we are now trying the do what I say not what I do type.

When he broke his toe-nail I actually think he considered staying down for a medicab.

natheel

Good thing is. We are still in the 8 (and probably still will be at the end of the round) and still above the dogs

IFR33K

To be fair, Kearney did give heaps of young blokes a lot of football - Allgood, Ryan, Sio, Morgan, Blair and Kelly can thank Kearney for giving them some time.

Youngsters have always been blooded by all coaches. It's not like he's the first to do it.