Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Give Anthony Mitchell a chance

DA even said on NRL tactics he has been struggling, and dropping him was needed for the team and him. Last night he offered zero, Robson played well again i thought.

hold on, I didn't see NRL tactics but he actually said he would drop him?? :?

Craig Johnston

If he keeps improving with each game, Tom Humble is going to fix this 6 problem. Mentally he already appears to be miles in front of KK. Under DA's latest team structure I still think that DM should stay at 7 and Robbo at 9.

It's time to give Humble a good shot at the 6 (interchange with Hayne at 1) and let KK fight out for the 14 or 9 or the PL 6 and be a back up 6 when required due to injuries.

you're on drugs mate. (as if you needed me to tell you that)

kk has been a shining light this season and last, and you want a bloke with 2 games under his belt to supplant him :roll:

wow

Not those exact words. He said something along the line. That mk took it hard about being dropped to the bench but i have to do what i think is right for the team

ok, so it was only in relation to putting him on the bench which I maintain is merely a tactic rather a demotion..

I wish people would understand that this is no longer a 13 man game...

tactic? demotion? .... well yeah they often play half a game each (although if anything Robson will play a bit more), but MK is hardly adding "spark" from the bench ... tbh I'd still call it a demotion - unfortunately MK just isn't cutting it of late

well you just said it yourself about MK not adding spark off the bench which is what he's position is designed to do, maybe we do need Mitch there but I can't see it happening right away..

Djay

I find it hard to believe that after a loss, we have to go and change everything. KK has being playing really well IMO, Morts is behind pace but DA loves him and thinks his improving day by day and he will be better in the long run if he continues with him at 7. TBH MK isn't this weeks scapegoat his been horrible all year IMO opinion and changing Robson to hooker was a very good move. Mitchell needs a turn, We haven't seen him yet so I reckon until we see what his like we can't go changing things.

Humble played well last week, he defended solidly and was pretty good in attack. But you can't just after 2 FG games want him in the side over KK who has being playing brilliant. He played very well in our 4 wins and a stand out against the Bulldogs if I remember correctly.

lingard

If he keeps improving with each game, Tom Humble is going to fix this 6 problem. Mentally he already appears to be miles in front of KK. Under DA's latest team structure I still think that DM should stay at 7 and Robbo at 9.

It's time to give Humble a good shot at the 6 (interchange with Hayne at 1) and let KK fight out for the 14 or 9 or the PL 6 and be a back up 6 when required due to injuries.

I couldn`t agree more, Casper. It is a shame that Keating`s career has been so interrupted with injury. If he`d played all year last year, we might be seeing a different player today. But the fact is that Humble looks VERY good already, and we have him on a contract for two years. It`s a no-brainer in my opinion.

lingard

you're on drugs mate. (as if you needed me to tell you that)

kk has been a shining light this season and last, and you want a bloke with 2 games under his belt to supplant him :roll:

wow

A bit of objectivity is needed here. To say that Keating has been a shining light is a bit over the top. The fact is that Humble is really a specialist five-eight; that`s why he would replace Keating if he came into the team. The other thing is that the Eels have apparently suspended talks with Keating because they are not convinced they want to sign him at this stage, so it`s pretty logical for us to start talking along these lines. And, of course, Tom Humble has been very impressive for a guy with only one and a half games under his belt.
You know, the very first game Brett Kenny ever had, I was at Cumberland Oval with my dad; and I said to him "this bloke`s gunna play for Australia one day". Well, that doesn`t make me a genius, it`s just that I was very impressed with him. Well, I get the same feeling from Humble. He has a certain grace about him; moves around the park as though he has all the time in the world. I think he is destined for big things. Of course, I could be on drugs. Fifty three years old and on drugs. :lol:

We miss the spark that Kinga gave us. That sharks rake was super off the bench. If Ant can be that spark then let's do it.

lewiscook

A bit of objectivity is needed here. To say that Keating has been a shining light is a bit over the top. The fact is that Humble is really a specialist five-eight; that`s why he would replace Keating if he came into the team. The other thing is that the Eels have apparently suspended talks with Keating because they are not convinced they want to sign him at this stage, so it`s pretty logical for us to start talking along these lines. And, of course, Tom Humble has been very impressive for a guy with only one and a half games under his belt.
You know, the very first game Brett Kenny ever had, I was at Cumberland Oval with my dad; and I said to him "this bloke`s gunna play for Australia one day". Well, that doesn`t make me a genius, it`s just that I was very impressed with him. Well, I get the same feeling from Humble. He has a certain grace about him; moves around the park as though he has all the time in the world. I think he is destined for big things. Of course, I could be on drugs. Fifty three years old and on drugs. :lol:

I agree with Lingard,
Humble runs around the park with so much confidence speed and ergency. he just seems to me to have that kind of aura that makes him look great!

natheel

that bench spot this year id say will be fought out between humble, kk and mk

humble and kk will fight for the 6 and then whoever doesnt get it will prob take mk's bench spot. Morts is there to stay in the number 7. he played 6 last year this is his first season of playing 7 in first grade, i think we should give him a break. we have signed him up for a while so leave him there to develop, KK is coming off contract make him work for it and humble wants to prove himself and so far id say i like him better at 6 although he looked comfy under the bomb and has speed i think his kicking game (what he showed of it against manly) wasnt to bad compared to kk and morts. Morts will get better with time in the 7.

spartan2153

Guys sorry to flog a dead horse.I hope you all realise that kk has shown more confidence and poise as well as form this year than what mortimer has done. The way the system is in place at the moment they each control there side of the field. So i think the straight swap if it happened would be for mortimer. Mortimer to that bench spot where he could play at hooker & fill in at half.

KK does not deserve to be dropped. I also would play robinson for longer minutes. He has shown he can play the hooker role & lead the side there very very well

Noise

agreed, when robson is dummy half we look a lot sharper. when MK comes on everything seems slower...it all starts at the 9, and when they r not playing well the whole team suffers, even the storm look very average when smith is out

natheel

so if kk doesnt deserve to get dropped why does morts? if anything he is having a good season not spectacular but is getting his job done just like kk, kk has played 4 or 5 good games so has morts and morts played well last night when kk didnt get out of first gear imo, yeh he looked as though he was goin to break the line but morts had big forwards running at him and still was able to score a try on his own back and still played well backed up in line breaks etc

spartan2153

Mortimer has read to many papers & is more interested in giving a comment than just concentrating on his game. He needs to realise he has done nothing.

I said this to friends before. If he did not have the name mortimer. He would be getting blasted left right & centre from the media & most fans. The fact he has royal blood in him makes him imune. Well from what i understand. Keating has started 5 games now for 3 wins. He is going great guns at the momment & should be rewarded. Mortimer is struggling & knows it. Last night was the first game where he was average. Every game until then he has been woeful.