Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Go ahead!...ask us anything!

El Duque

Well the IBF is def not respectable after the Bob Lee shit.

Jose Suliman(WBC) is a knob too and fair dinkum some of their rankings are mind boggling.And despite me being a devout Mundine hater I really can't fathom the WBC's reasoning for dropping him from their rankings just because he's a loud mouth drip.

Nne of them are worth much and the people know who the real champs are.

Atilla

I don't think too much of the IBF. They are over glamourized. I think some of the WBA ratings and fighter positionings are far more absurd than the WBC and IBF put together. The WBA's fighter ranking in the Heavyweight, Super Welterweight, Welterweight and Super Featherweight divisionsare absolutely ridiculous.If I had to choosed one I'd also say the WBC though. Purely based on the fact that I believe their ratings are far more 'realistic' than the other three sanctions.
But like El duque said: None of them are worth much and the people know who the real champs are. Which I agree with totally.
Cheers and good night all - Atilla

El Duque

And now this WBA Super Champ shit takes the cake.I like the idea behind it being that champ has 18 months before having to defend against a mandatory because they're undisputed champ(Jones Jnr,Hopkins and Tszyu)but did they really have tocreate a 'Super' champ as well???
If Lennox Lewis had fought Ruiz instead of that hyped bum Grant(still can't believe I picked him even after I saw the Golota fight)then the WBA heavyweight shit wouldn't be as bad.

What is the story behind all the different sanctioning bodies? I hear their are many more than the main three. How long has it been that way for? Wasn't there a time when there was just one belt and one champion in each division?
I'm sure one of the boxing pro's here can shed some light into the matter...
Raging Bulldog

Thanks ED
Legend, I see they have homoured you on the official NRL web site mate. Check out nearthe bottom of the NRL ladder-

<table cellspacing=2 cellpadding=1 width="70%" border=1> <tbody> <tr> <td colspan=10>NRL 2002 Ladder</td></tr> <tr> <td align=middle>No</td> <td align=middle>Club</td> <td align=middle>P</td> <td align=middle>W</td> <td align=middle>D</td> <td align=middle>L</td> <td align=middle>F</td> <td align=middle>A</td> <td align=middle>B</td> <td align=middle>PTS</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>1</td> <td>Knights</td> <td align=middle>3</td> <td align=middle>3</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>120</td> <td align=middle>44</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>6</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>2</td> <td>Storm</td> <td align=middle>4</td> <td align=middle>3</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>110</td> <td align=middle>82</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>6</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>3</td> <td>Wests Tigers</td> <td align=middle>4</td> <td align=middle>3</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>88</td> <td align=middle>65</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>6</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>4</td> <td>Sharks</td> <td align=middle>3</td> <td align=middle>3</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>72</td> <td align=middle>52</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>6</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>5</td> <td>Warriors</td> <td align=middle>3</td> <td align=middle>2</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>85</td> <td align=middle>66</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>6</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>6</td> <td>Broncos</td> <td align=middle>3</td> <td align=middle>2</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>84</td> <td align=middle>34</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>5</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>7</td> <td>Bulldogs</td> <td align=middle>4</td> <td align=middle>2</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>107</td> <td align=middle>68</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>5</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>8</td> <td>Eels</td> <td align=middle>3</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>2</td> <td align=middle>110</td> <td align=middle>60</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>4</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>9</td> <td>Dragons</td> <td align=middle>3</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>2</td> <td align=middle>56</td> <td align=middle>73</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>4</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>10</td> <td>Rabbitohs</td> <td align=middle>4</td> <td align=middle>2</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>2</td> <td align=middle>86</td> <td align=middle>114</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>4</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>11</td> <td>Roosters</td> <td align=middle>3</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>2</td> <td align=middle>62</td> <td align=middle>49</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>2</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>12</td> <td>Raiders</td> <td align=middle>3</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>2</td> <td align=middle>49</td> <td align=middle>56</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>2</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>13</td> <td>Nthn Eagles</td> <td align=middle>2</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>2</td> <td align=middle>32</td> <td align=middle>82</td> <td align=middle>1</td> <td align=middle>2</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>14</td> <td>Panthers</td> <td align=middle>4</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>4</td> <td align=middle>44</td> <td align=middle>134</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>0</td></tr> <tr> <td align=right>15</td> <td>Cowboys</td> <td align=middle>4</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>4</td> <td align=middle>54</td> <td align=middle>180</td> <td align=middle>0</td> <td align=middle>0</td></tr></tbody></table> <table cellspacing=2 cellpadding=1 width="70%" border=1> <tbody> <tr> <td align=middle>Legend</td></tr> <tr> <td align=middle>P:played, W:Win, L:Loss</td></tr> <tr> <td align=middle>D:Draw, F:For, A:Against, B:Byes, PTS:points</td></tr></tbody></table>

Well done mate! lol
Raging Bulldog

ex-manager

I now realise that most of my previous questions have been a little too too difficult for most of you Antipodeans, so here's a simple Monday morning one for all yooooosockers to ponder.
emwink.gif

Why can't Americans pronounce Adolph or Iraniancorrectly?

Thanks to those who have responded to my question. Thanks El Duque. I too enjoyed the read on the different governing bodies. They all seem to have there flaws, judging by what you guyssaid, but hey ain't it always the way? :)

G'day Gav: In refrence to your question in post 222, I found this info:

<h2><a target=_top name=2>What does Jamiroquai mean?</a></h2> The name Jamiroquai is a conglomeration of the word "jam" and the name of the Native American peoples, the Iroquois, indigenous to central and eastern United States and Canada. The Iroquois Confederacy or Iroquois League - consisting of the Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga, and Seneca Indians - was the most powerful and advanced American Indian nation from the early seventeenth century until the American Revolution (in which most tribes joined the British and were massacred during the war). There are still some Mohawk and Cayuga living on reservations in Ontario, most Oneida are in Wisconsin. Most Iroquois now live in New York. The Iroquois population in the US and Canada is today around 29,000. In the liner notes to Emergency on Planet Earth, Jay Kay writes that the name Jamiroquai is put forth to the Iroquois and other Native American peoples "with the utmost respect to all of you because I know you are right." The value placed on natural law and the earth in this message from Jay would seem to grow out of his admiration of the cultures of the Iroquois and other Native American peoples. On the track "Manifest Destiny," from the band's second album, The Return of the Space Cowboy, Jay reflects upon the more than four centuries of violent, rapacious subjugation of the Native American peoples, expressing a profound sadness and attempting to come to terms with "the shame of my ancestry."

Here is the link if you or anyone elsewhishes to explore further: http://funkin.net/faq/?section=basics#1
Raidpatch

Ah yeah, teflon...the wonder material of the modern age...non-stick and heat resistant....just as good as asbestos only it doesnt give you cancer (as far as we know).

I was told that it was the electrons in teflon thats makes it adhere to certain surfaces.

Both surfaces aresubjected a process of elektro musak a'la Bryan Ferry and after that they stick together.

Willow,
I have no doubt that you are on to something with the Bryan Ferry observation.
I think it was his mother that invented teflon and she perfected it via his non-stick hairstyle.I reckoned this became apparent and by his own admission,by his famous version of " I'm Just A Gel Less Guy".