Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Grand Final > Storm v Roosters

merahputih

NRL is a professional sport where market forces operate, as in any other business- peanuts and monkeys, etc. The NRL has talked about TPA's being reviewed but as the system stands any CEO of a club would be crazy to not take advantage of it within the rules to improve their club's fortunes. I hope the new regime at the Dragons can take us on a similar path. Congratulations to the Roosters and Robinson for a great campaign and a brilliant winning game plan.

BLM01

Again I will bang on about players form not being highlighted but Chambers who the media especially portray as basically the best defensive centre in the game IMO has had an ordinary year in both attack and defence. Been showed up at club, and state level and has had many brain explosions this year with his kick happy nature and without the ball.

TruSaint

More factual than your hunches...and it has already been discussed here numerous times... ..have a good evening.

@getsmarty ...

I think you are spot on. In terms of Graham, as was published, he was heavily subsidised. Also, Hunt was reported to be on 6 million deal was refuted by Millward in an interview about recruitment some time back when he emphatically said the " figure is not accurate by some margin " or words to that effect.

Not saying he isnt on good coin, but it is not near the 1 plus mil per season.

As to the GF, well done Roosters. I found it boring, but thats probably due to the 2 teams playing.

Munster is such a talent, but if that was a close game, his brain snaps would have cost his side victory.

I did watch the game begrudgingly. The first 20 minutes by Easts were awsome, they starved the rorters of the ball and were brutal in defence.
I think Storm were a disgrace towards the end of the game.grubs of the first degree.
Mitchell is beginning to piss me off big time, he is becoming a real grub, same as Ferguson.
I was impressed with Cronk for even playing and the way he went to the Storm players after the end showed he has the right attitude. I applaud him for that.

Como Connection

@getsmarty ...

I think you are spot on. In terms of Graham, as was published, he was heavily subsidised. Also, Hunt was reported to be on 6 million deal was refuted by Millward in an interview about recruitment some time back when he emphatically said the " figure is not accurate by some margin " or words to that effect.

Not saying he isnt on good coin, but it is not near the 1 plus mil per season.

As to the GF, well done Roosters. I found it boring, but thats probably due to the 2 teams playing.

Munster is such a talent, but if that was a close game, his brain snaps would have cost his side victory.
$950k's is close to the mark.
CC

Saint_JimmyG

Lol.

Um ...we didn’t get to a prelim the year before. They were always going to win this year once they signed 2 of the best players in the conp to an already stacked squad. Robinson had a bit to work with don’t you think?

Oh and also, the Dogs are paying more than half of Graham’s freight.

I reckon I paraphrased the sentiment of your second paragraph elsewhere.

Of course, Canterbury are paying a substantial portion of Graham’s stipend, but it’s widely accepted that SGI have out laid a fair bit to remuneration to secure Hunt.

Not to mention I used the word “approximately”.

People just don’t read everything that’s in front of them.

giboz71

Of course, Canterbury are paying a substantial portion of Graham’s stipend, but it’s widely accepted that SGI have out laid a fair bit to remuneration to secure Hunt.

No.

You tried to insinuate that us getting Graham and Hunt, somehow compared with the Roosters and their already stacked squad, getting Tedesco and Cronk, the 2 highest prized recruits this year.

And you tried to say that they only difference was Mary and Robinson.

Now we both know that’s not the case.

TruSaint

Jimmy, curious to know what you think Hunt is worth.

Serious question. As many have suggested and has been widely reported , he is not on 6 mil.

Is a quality half worth say 800k ? 900 ?

I know he had a poor second half to the season, after a blistering start, but I am convinced since the injury, he has not been fully fit. In combination with his mental health issues, its understandable he didn't play to his potential. .

TruSaint

getsmarty

@getsmarty

Here you go mate...

Quote "
One thing we are really disappointed with was the continued innuendo how much he is getting, and I don’t want to talk figures about that, but it is nowhere near some of the figures that are said, which also causes problems at times internally because players actually see those reports.''

https://www.nospam47.com/au/league/...sbane-broncos-jack/1g6cl4wceecv41inp5c6w8731r

Quote from Millward in 2017

Thanks TruSaint...outside sources have also confirmed..but it still doesn't stop some quoting the incorrect figures stated in the press....

Money, pure money
Cash, pure cash
I personally don’t see it as professionalism
Better words are TPAs and some extra RoRting

Mate I was referring to them as a team , let’s leave the TPA’s and rorting out of the equation for now and let’s focus upon the team of players who went out there and played for one another in the biggest game of the season , the grand final . Dedication and commitment to one other and that brought the desired result - premiership rings !

ouryears

I want to see the media bashing about Munster's brain explosions in the GF. Benny Hunt copped it after 1 kick that went a bit too far at origin and of course seeing something on and trying a risky play that if came off had Mann passed it out would have maybe advanced his team to a GFqualifier. Munster is not getting paid as much I suppose..except maybe from next year. He bombed a try that could of got them right in the mix with about 20 to go.... Nope..crickets.
Benny Hunt has always been a easy target from the media cause of his days of being a utility at the Broncos not being able to cement a position. Then the dropped kick off when he started to make No 7 his own...then the Dragons put the icing on the cake by paying him way overs in the eyes of the media so lets put the spotlight on him moving forward on every mistake..Go figure. BTW i rate Munster an overall slightly better footballer than Hunt..but it is sour grapes on my part with the media darls
Very true mate, as well, Hunt is 10x the man Munster is, kicking players on the ground, looking like a sook and expecting to win without executing what he and the whole team were meant to.

I imagined him in high school, a bully, and one massive ego.
Great that the rorters demolished the jerk

I agree with everything you're saying here. The difference is Munster isn't the sharpest tool in the shed. No doubt he can play good footy but any criticism directed his way would be like water off a duck's back.

Ever so well put drag Queen , you summed it up perfectly ! The blokes been hit once too damn often and he can be looney as a March hare . The incident with the boot showed what a loose cannon he really is and I am surprised that there wasn’t more said about it from all quarters .

getsmarty

How St George Illawarra sparked the Roosters premiership run
Local Sport
r0_172_3159_1944_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Man-handled: James Tedesco. Picture: NRL Imagery/Gregg Porteous.
St George Illawarra fans remember Anzac Day 2018 fondly.

It was the day the Dragons revealed themselves as genuine NRL premiership contenders.

And it was the day Roosters fans hit the panic button after a 24-8 drubbing in which the team's star-studded attack looked lost.

The Dragons forward pack monstered the Roosters for the entire match, with Tariq Sims seemingly honing in on a target painted on halfback Cooper Cronk's chest.

Sims was supported by the remainder of the Dragons pack, with Jack de Belin and Paul Vaughan rocketing into State of Origin contention on the back of an outstanding defensive performance.

The Roosters controlled possession and territory for large portions of the game, yet there was no way through the Dragons defensive wall.

The fallout to such a disappointing Roosters performance on such a big stage was swift, with Roosters consultant Andrew Johns pulling no punches in his criticism of the team's attack.

Now having won the 2018 NRL premiership with a 21-6 victory over the Storm, fullback James Tedesco, one of the team's prized recruits, concedes Anzac Day was the first time he feared the pieces of the Roosters attacking puzzle were not going to fit.

“Obviously you look at our team and we’ve got talented players all over the park, it did take a while to get clicking,” Tedesco said.

“Me and [Luke] Keary after Anzac Day, we looked at each other and thought ‘oh this isn’t how we planned it.’ So me and Keary were a bit, we didn’t know [if the attack was going to come together].”

The defeat forced the Roosters into wholesale changes to their attacking structures, with coach Trent Robinson admitting after Sunday's grand final that the team completely overhauled their game plan.

Tedesco, who is set to make his Kangaroos debut in a fortnight, said Cronk was a pillar of calmness throughout the entire period, never doubting that the team's attack would come together in the second half of the season.

“Throughout the whole year, even when we weren’t playing good, he [Cronk] was the settling voice in our team.

“He was the one who said, ‘the more we practice, the more we train, the more we know each other’s strengths and roles, that will get us there.’

“With his experience, he said ‘I’ve been in this game for 14 years, so let’s just keep practicing, keep training together and it will come’ and that’s pretty much what happened.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...-sparked-the-roosters-premiership-run/?cs=302