Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Greg Bird charged and released by Sharks

sharks8601

the reason the media write stuff is because dumb dead beat sh*ts like your self believe what is said in papers
what proof do you have that any off that happened?

Are you serious? This has nothing to do with media print you goose.

Do you think the DPP would've charged him if they didn't suspect him of the crime?

Do you think the Sharks would have a case to stand him down if he wasn't the prime suspect in the crime?

Do you think he wouldn't have yet protested his complete innocence?

Surely you aren't that biased and stupid...

Last edited by a moderator:

warren

Are you serious? This has nothing to do with media print you goose.

Do you think the DPP would've charged him if they didn't suspect him of the crime?

Do you think the Sharks would have a case to stand him down if he wasn't the prime suspect in the crime?

Do you think he wouldn't have yet protested his complete innocence?

Do you think he would've skipped the country to meet up with Ms Milligan if he had nothing to hide.

Surely you aren't that biased and stupid...

i dont think those things equal guilt

Guilt is now kind of irrelevant. The guy is a proven wanker - proven by his actions (including those toward his own club) over time.

Can't wait for the Sharks/NRL to make the guy sit out the rest of his contract on no pay, so the tool learns some lessons in life and comes back a better human being. It might even end up saving his (future) career, if he can stop himself from whinging about his punishment and instead takes a good long hard look.

i dont think those things equal guilt

Yes, they all scream innocence, don't they. He might not be proven guilty yet, *** EDIT***
Anybody calling his actions since the charges "defensible" should give themselves an uppercut. Deadset.

Last edited by a moderator:

DJShaksta

I'll throw a little more fuel on the fire shall I........

While Cronulla star Greg Bird was stood down from playing for the Sharks and has subsequently lost his place in the Test team after being charged over an incident in which his girlfriend Katie Milligan suffered severe facial wounds from broken glass, Titans second-rower Anthony Laffranchi continued playing before and during court proceedings while facing sexual assault allegations. The charge was later dismissed by a Sydney magistrate.
http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/news/hunt-and-boyd-a-risk/2008/10/16/1223750231139.html
Hunt and Boyd are lucky they have Judy Spence, The QLD Police minister who just also happens to be the QLD minister for sport, in their corner.

The difference being that Laffranchi, Boyd and Hunt all appear to have been up front with (and actually in formal contact with) their employers throughout their allegations/charges/processes.

Bird appears not to have done the decent thing by the Sharks/Zappia - Zappia has been on the record on behalf of the Sharks saying that Bird has not bothered to explain his side of the allegation to his employers, and he even appears to have lied to both them and police (now the subject of a separate charge).

That alone - regardless of guilt re the glassing - should be enough for the Sharks to cut him loose and the NRL to back a ban for the duration of the rest of his reigstered contract.

I think the Sharks have been very understanding all things considered to keep him on at full pay and not cut him until after his case is settled, and in doing so have avoided their potential reaction from prejudicing his court proceedings.

gunnamatta bay

http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/news/depressed-bird-could-sue/2008/10/18/1223750401810.html

Depressed Bird could sue
Adrian Proszenko | October 19, 2008
EXCLUSIVE

Greg Bird will consider taking legal action against Cronulla for standing him down if he is cleared of assault charges, while his mother revealed he was suffering from depression before the incident.
Bird has taken medication for depression and has had counselling sessions with behavioural analyst Charlie Hunter since he was accused of recklessly wounding girlfriend Katie Milligan.
The former Kangaroos star fled the country to escape the media glare, but has promised his mother and his manager he won't breach his AVO by reuniting with Milligan in the US.
Bird's family has a history of depression and his mother Iris believes he had been battling the condition before the alleged assault.
"Even before all this happened, he had a few problems he needs to deal with," she said.
"He's just not himself. He's not the happy Greg that he used to be.
"I just hope it all sorts itself out and once it's all finished he gets back to doing what he loves doing most, which is playing football.
"We just want everything to be good for him and hopefully he and Katie can sort it out, that everyone lets them get back to their lives."
Iris Bird said she wasn't sure of her son's whereabouts. "I have heard from him, he said everything's OK and that he's with friends," she said. "It's all just getting to him a bit over here and he just wants to get away."
Despite pressure to reinstate Bird for the finals, the Sharks stood him down from all official club activities until the outcome of his court case.
That stance could come back to haunt them, with Bird's manager Gavin Orr warning there may be grounds to sue the club if his client is cleared of charges.
Orr said he understood the club was in a difficult position, pointing to the pressure applied by sponsors. And while he acknowledged the Sharks were providing Bird with counselling and pay - the star pivot earns more than $350,000 a year - he wouldn't rule out legal action if Bird was cleared.
"We're going to look at all the legal avenues," Orr said. "The club has been advised by the board that they were in fear of losing their sponsorship.
"I can cast a stone at the Sharks for the way they've handled things, but you have to understand the pressures on them. First things first, we have to make sure Greg Bird is cleared of all allegations."
Orr took a swipe at the reporting of the case by some sections of the media and claimed defamation action could be an option, believing some rumours had been presented as facts.
"Once the dust settles we'll re-evaluate our situation and go after a lot of the stuff that's going on out there on radio, television and newspapers," he said.
Orr, who claimed "there is no doubt Greg is suffering from depression", admitted Bird hadn't handled the public scrutiny well.
"He's gone from being a star in everybody's eyes, as an Australian and NSW player, to looking like a murderer," Orr said.
Although selectors ignored Bird due to the assault charges, Karmichael Hunt and Darius Boyd were called into Kangaroos' team. The Broncos pair were questioned over an alleged sexual assault but have not been charged.

Jimmy

Today's Telegraph reports that friends of Greg Bird reveal that he will be sounding out the Roosters on his path to redemption. I would say that the bookies will give long odds.

Carlito

So many things wrong with that article;

Bird deciding to play the depression card.

His mum playing the "it's not his go" card

Threatening to sue the Sharkes even though he allegedly has not even sad down to tell them what really happened. Oh and by the way he has been getting full pay for sitting on his arse regardless

God-King Dean

LOL despression.

F*cking insult to those who do have it.

I don't care what you have, there's no medication for being a d*ckhead.

Kiki

i hate when people play the mental illness card. as dean said, its insulting to people who actually suffer from those conditions.

no name

Today's Telegraph reports that friends of Greg Bird reveal that he will be sounding out the Roosters on his path to redemption. I would say that the bookies will give long odds.

It actually says that they have approached him.

ozbash

THE Greg Bird saga is nowhere near over, with the troubled Sharks star surfacing to admit he won't return from the US until next month.
The Sunday Telegraph learned the 24-year-old was en route to Los Angeles yesterday as Bird's team-mates revealed he had explored the prospect of linking with the Roosters.
Bird's back-up plan is the first sign in almost three months that he is resigned to walking away from the Sharks.
"It's a talking point for sure among the boys. He's told a few of us he's had more than just standard interest from the Roosters,'' one senior Cronulla player said.
"He's adamant about it, that he can get a big offer from them.''
Another team-mate added: "Of course, his first priority is to stay at the Sharks, but he reckons he's got no worries he'll get a club.''
Roosters recruitment manager Peter O'Sullivan played down the prospect of Bird moving to Bondi, without fully closing the door.

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,24516942-5001023,00.html