Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Greg Bird charged with violent attack

If charges are dropped against Bird, should he return immediately?

• Yes

Votes: 85 50.9%
  • No

Votes: 77 46.1%
  • I don't know/maybe/depends, ie. I'm too weak to have an opinion

Votes: 5 3.0%

Dave Q

Neighbours: Chinese Malaysians on the one side, Chinese Indoensians on the other.

Awesome folk, nice and peaceful.... we exchange pressies at Christmas.

You know I always wondered why they gave us choclate last year and why it glowed through the wrapper.

: Greg Bird v Police of NSW
: 1 October 2008
Court of Public Opinon ( Sutho)

Statement of Fred Nerk

This statement made by me accurately sets out the evidence that I would be prepared to give in court as a witness. The statement is true to the best of my knowledge and beleif and I make it knowing that if it is tenderd in evidence, I will be liable for prosecution if I have willfully stated in it anything that I know to be false.

1. I know someone who knows a mate of Greg Bird's.

2. I like fishfingers

3. My mate told me words to the effect that

"My mate told me that Greg Bird told him that:

I was holding up my champagne glass with my right hand. We were toasting the success of the company who provides me with my ugly designer shirts"

We chinked glasses and had a swig.

She moved quickly towards me, she told me later she was going to kiss me.

But I panicked. I had a league flashback and thought I had the ball and was being tackled by Mick Crocker.

So I put me arm out to fend her off but I forgot I was holding a glass."

4. I do not rmember anything my mate told me after that.

5. Then I stole a car, rego number GFH 678A from the corner of Seppo and Yobbo streets at 10.30pm .

6. I often steal cars for re-birthing purposes.

FRED NERK.

The great man recognises your attempt at humour. However, the great man feels he needs to inform you that your effort was lame and did not bring a smile to his face.

sorry

identity crisis.

Dave Q

The great man recognises your attempt at humour. However, the great man feels he needs to inform you that your effort was lame and did not bring a smile to his face.

sorry

identity crisis.

It was for samshark, I was waiting for his objections.

League flashback, happens to a lot of players at bars, nightclubs and taxi ranks.

Its a terrible medical condition and the clubs give generously.

Dave Q

I dont usually back up a post but I will tonite.

I spoke to an acquaintance who is currently doing some time in remand. I thought of you guys on this thread. If Bird is convicted, but sentancing goes over to another date, he will almost certainly get bail. But if not....

But heres a snapshot of remand gaol at the moment.

* No internet.
* No private toilets. Enjoy crapping with your "cellies" watching on.
* The place is full of mental cases as the state's got rid of the hospitals.
*You can earn $15 a week. Family and friends can bring in a $100 a week.
* Everything is slightly more expensive than the shops
* Lockdown at 3.30pm
* Heaps of gym equipment
* Ad-hoc gangs ( they try to seperate nationalities etc)
* Plenty of bikies doing time
* Not much food (but you adjust)
* Routines change frequently
* Fights break out sporadically. See a fight, clear off.
* Avoid looking at guys the wrong way.

Theres a story....that there was a mistake recently. The department put a guy in a gaol for murder and the murdered blokes son was in the same gaol.

Things got a little heated.

cjs1822

i disagree with frenzy

dave Q's attempt at humour brought a little smile to my face

but it wasn't a haha joke funny, it was more a simmo's been selected again funny.

cityshark

It would be good for the youth of today to become more aware of what happens when you have to spend some time in remand. Its no joke.

spider

he fronts up on thursday

but it will only be for him to enter a plea

if this goes on - it may well go for some time

Wouldn't it be in his best interest to have this matter seen to asap?

I'm sure that you can have it mentioned and heard on the same day?

Edit: Hang on, if we pleads not guilty it won't be heard on the same day.

spider

Wouldn't it be in his best interest to have this matter seen to asap?

I'm sure that you can have it mentioned and heard on the same day?

Edit: Hang on, if we pleads not guilty it won't be heard on the same day.
i believe thats right - not being on the same day that is, following a plea of 'not guilty'

i think the court will then set a date after his plea sometime

will be interesting to see the date set by the court

Dave Q

It would be good for the youth of today to become more aware of what happens when you have to spend some time in remand. Its no joke.

And that was the nicest account I have heard.

It probably wouldnt be a bad idea to take every year 7 or 8 to an excursion to a remand prison for a day.

After a tour they can discuss the prison life with a real inmate.

Its nice to take them to the zoo and everything, but some of the kids are going to get a lot more out of seeing the horrors of prison.

Getting stabbed from behind with something while you eat dinner is an old favourite.

Falling ill and getting a few weak panadols is another.

I think Bird will ask for and be granted additional time to enter a plea.

Afterall, they just dumped some fresh charges on him.

So this mighty thread will roll on unemcumbered by an actual result.

Just my thoughts.

Also, Terrachini is doing that Rene Rivkin driver case atm. Hes a bit busy...

i believe thats right - not being on the same day that is, following a plea of 'not guilty'

i think the court will then set a date after his plea sometime

will be interesting to see the date set by the court

Court date likely to be around March 12th if a quilty plea is entered :p

kindly pass it to the left hand side when you have had your share....

obviously my remark did a 747 on ya Spid??
buttsmiley.gif

And that was the nicest account I have heard.

It probably wouldnt be a bad idea to take every year 7 or 8 to an excursion to a remand prison for a day.

After a tour they can discuss the prison life with a real inmate.

Its nice to take them to the zoo and everything, but some of the kids are going to get a lot more out of seeing the horrors of prison.

Getting stabbed from behind with something while you eat dinner is an old favourite.

Falling ill and getting a few weak panadols is another.

I think Bird will ask for and be granted additional time to enter a plea.

Afterall, they just dumped some fresh charges on him.

So this mighty thread will roll on unemcumbered by an actual result.

Just my thoughts.

Also, Terrachini is doing that Rene Rivkin driver case atm. Hes a bit busy...

I think this mate of yours who is giving you the poop on what it's like to be in a remand centre is giving you a typical biased and one way view of things Dave Q.

I've worked in the remand centre for the last 10 years and you've so far given quite a few inaccuracies based on what your buddy tells you.

Oh and we used to have open days but they had to be canned due to the rock spiders getting off on having kids come through the centre

It's too good for them in there actually