Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Greg Inglis: 18 mths good behaviour bond for mid range DUI, speeding offences

Oh, of course!

Says the bloke who thinks he was probably over the limit every Wednesday night for 20 yrs.

You sure you can control yourself one 1 beer Carch??? Seem to be a little conflicted with what you are saying.

Now that I know how easy it is to go over I don’t risk it by drinking anywhere near enough to go over.
I’ll have a beer over dinner.
Sometimes we’ll get cabs but on a week night I think I can cope with just the one beer.

I had a good chat with the cop.
Those little indicators on the sides of cans and bottles telling you how many standard drinks they are , are pretty much useless.
He said the fact that I’d just exercised and not eaten would’ve made my reading higher.
He also said bigger blokes will have a lower reading than a smaller woman.

And are you trying to say you’ve never ever had a couple of beers and driven?

mxlegend99

Ha
Yeah I can control myself with one beer.
Sounds like you must be a piss head.

Mid range is pretty much f**k all TBH.
I was .049 after 2 beers once after oztag.
I usually had 3 but the one night they pulled me over I only had 2.
A full strength beer is a fair bit more than 1 drink.
I just always thought 3 beers in an hour and a half would be fine.
I was probably over the limit every wed night for 20 years.

It’s no excuse but it doesn’t take much to be mid range.

veggiepatch1959

Cop "you know you were speeding in Lithgow?*

Ingliss "Is dat in Qld?"

Cop "So what reason do you have for the speeding besides being drunk?"

Ingliss ""I was trying to rush to the nearest petrol station before I ran out of petrol"
Did you watch Highway Patrol on TV last night by any chance?

I admitted to not realising how easy it was to go over.
That was the entire point of my post
Now I’d never ever drink that much.

Spot On

Now that I know how easy it is to go over I don’t risk it by drinking anywhere near enough to go over.
I’ll have a beer over dinner.
Sometimes we’ll get cabs but on a week night I think I can cope with just the one beer.

I had a good chat with the cop.
Those little indicators on the sides of cans and bottles telling you how many standard drinks they are , are pretty much useless.
He said the fact that I’d just exercised and not eaten would’ve made my reading higher.
He also said bigger blokes will have a lower reading than a smaller woman.

And are you trying to say you’ve never ever had a couple of beers and driven?

I thought all the above was common knowledge, especially to a bloke your age.

Maybe for a teenage driver or slightly older they could possibly be naive or lacking in decent parenting/guidance or brains if they don't know that.

No, when I drink, I don't drive. Sorry, but it just aint that difficult a concept to grasp.

All the good Inglis did by playing in the Koori Knockout just blew up with this stupid act. As someone who is 31 years old, he should know better than to drink and drive in this day and age, especially on a double demerit weekend when just about everyone know the cops will be on the lookout for offenders. The speeding was just the tip of it.

Instead of celebrating an achievement of him becoming (iirc) one of the few players of Aboriginal ancestry to captain his country, he brings this down on his own head.

Very disappointing to say the least.

I thought all the above was common knowledge, especially to a bloke your age.

Maybe for a teenage driver or slightly older they could possibly be naive or lacking in decent parenting/guidance or brains if they don't know that.

No, when I drink, I don't drive. Sorry, but it just aint that difficult a concept to grasp.

Yet you can’t grasp the concept of having just one beer with dinner being a possibility?
I do it all the time.
It is easy.

If I need to get a cab everywhere because I can’t trust myself not to get pissed I think I’d be very f**king worried.

Maybe you need to get off the piss a bit.

some11

This is very naive tbh.

In this case, and with some assumptions being made, Inglis was close to 3 hours into his journey from Dubbo and blew mid-range AND was speeding.

He is very, very lucky he did not have a RBT just outside Dubbo.

Can't believe anyone gets in a vehicle with the idea they should drive even after 1 drink.

f**king irresponsible dead shits.
Hence the reason you don't drink and the drive. Pretty f**king simple.

And people don't get this?????
Yep, and driving tired is just as irresponsible imo.

It's not about if you "feel ok to drive", it's about the lives of other motorists on the road.

I've driven home over the limit once when I had just got my opens at 3am on dead roads but I still regret it.

SDM

If you are not a moron, you can use the following to safely have a few drinks and know if you can drive;
- Counting, if you run out of fingers and toes, you are probably over
- Basic maths
- Past experience of what you blew roadside after a couple of beers over what period of time

I had 8 beers on grand final day over about 11 hours, and when I drove home it was neither illegal, or dangerous.

Spot On

Yet you can’t grasp the concept of having just one beer with dinner being a possibility?
I do it all the time.
It is easy.

If I need to get a cab everywhere because I can’t trust myself not to get pissed I think I’d be very f**king worried.

Maybe you need to get off the piss a bit.

Really??? Is that what you interpret the discussion so far to mean???

I don't have a problem with trusting myself. If I want a drink I'll have one. More if I wish. If I don't want a drink, I won't. If we a drive to a venue and the misso wants a few and I'm not fussed in having one then I'll drive or vice virsa. No biggie.

However, if I have a few I sure as hell don't get in the car a drive.

That has to be one of the most simple decisions an adult can make.

Drink = don't drive.

How many you want to drink is up to you Carch.

The discussion isn't if you have the will power to have 1 at dinner and no more so YOU CAN drive and feel you are under the limit.

Again, that is naive and immature.

Really??? Is that what you interpret the discussion so far to mean???

I don't have a problem with trusting myself. If I want a drink I'll have one. More if I wish. If I don't want a drink, I won't. If we a drive to a venue and the misso wants a few and I'm not fussed in having one then I'll drive or vice virsa. No biggie.

However, if I have a few I sure as hell don't get in the car a drive.

That has to be one of the most simple decisions an adult can make.

Drink = don't drive.

How many you want to drink is up to you Carch.

The discussion isn't if you have the will power to have 1 at dinner and no more so YOU CAN drive and feel you are under the limit.

Again, that is naive and immature.

So
Do you expect me and everyone to believe that you have never had one drop of alcohol and then driven a car?

Yet you reckon you go out and get on it and then catch cabs every time?

Never caught up with a mate for a quick beer on the way home.
Or at the footy?
Or a bbq
Ever?

Bwhahaha

Mate I’ll admit I’ve done it
I admitted I was unsure how little could put me over the limit
But
What you’re trying to saying sounds like utter bullshit.

Bwhahaha
FFS

kbw

You people are talking about how many to drink or not to drink and stay under the limit, under what is called low range.
Ingli$ was mid range and unless he was drink as he was driving (which I assume he wasn't) it was quite a bit of time since he had his last drink.
there is no slight error of judgement or a bloke feeling completely sober but just over. This is a case of a supposed "role model" getting into his car with a skinful and driving. all likelyhood if he had been picked up just as he got in the car it would have been a high range charge.

Frailty

You people are talking about how many to drink or not to drink and stay under the limit, under what is called low range.
Ingli$ was mid range and unless he was drink as he was driving (which I assume he wasn't) it was quite a bit of time since he had his last drink.
there is no slight error of judgement or a bloke feeling completely sober but just over. This is a case of a supposed "role model" getting into his car with a skinful and driving. all likelyhood if he had been picked up just as he got in the car it would have been a high range charge.

This is the part that get's me. He was either drinking whilst driving, or he was so far over the limit that he was still blowing .08 a few hours later. On top of that, he was speeding.

Given how the NRL responded to the Bulldogs mad Monday, Inglis should be punished pretty severely.