Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Greg Inglis: 18 mths good behaviour bond for mid range DUI, speeding offences

This is the part that get's me. He was either drinking whilst driving, or he was so far over the limit that he was still blowing .08 a few hours later. On top of that, he was speeding.

Given how the NRL responded to the Bulldogs mad Monday, Inglis should be punished pretty severely.

I agree
Except my version got deleted.
I reckon he had x amount of beers

Reflector

how does this sport manage to bend itself over and f**k itself up the arse so often?

I was speaking to a client this morning about the footy grand finals....absolutely beaming about the AFL version but then i turned the attention onto the NRL GF and you'd think she'd sucked on a lemon..."i don't like the culture, I don't like the response of the NRL to player misbehaviour, it's a bogan sport"

perception is reality and the game is on the nose with women in particular.

The AFL is the "woman-friendly" code that gets slated for racism

The NRL is the "indigenous-friendly" code that gets slated for player misbehaviour

Difference is that the AFL has a much cosier relationship with the media in Melbourne...

Life's Good

The main things I took out of the press conference:

He's not stepping down from the captaincy - Over to you Todd & Mal
He's got no past criminal history/convictions - ??
He consumed the alcohol at least 24hrs earlier and thought he was right to drive home the next day - That's interesting to say the least

The main things I took out of the press conference:

He's not stepping down from the captaincy - Over to you Todd & Mal
He's got no past criminal history/convictions - ??
He consumed the alcohol at least 24hrs earlier and thought he was right to drive home the next day - That's interesting to say the least

That actually makes sense
If he was caught at what around 2pm?
2 hrs after he left Dubbo .
I doubt he was just up
And at em after breaky.
I know people who have been caught the day after a big one.

You can consume alcohol 24 hours before and it can still be in your system. That is reasonably well known as plenty of people have been done for DUI after having drinks the day before.

yobbo84

24 hours? He never said that. He said something along the lines of getting back to the hotel about 11 and then leaving 12 the next day. I'll re-watch to confirm.

Anyway a simple statement like this would have sufficed: "This is not acceptable as a leader of my country, club and community. I will be standing down as Australian Captain and hope that I can earn it back in the future. As always I would love to pull on the green and gold, but will fully accept whatever Mal and the NRL decides.".

He's certainly missed an opportunity to earn back a little good will.

no name

He’s obviously spoken to Mal and has been told he won’t be dropped completely.
It appears much classier when you step down.

You can consume alcohol 24 hours before and it can still be in your system. That is reasonably well known as plenty of people have been done for DUI after having drinks the day before.

They catch dudes at those Ute muster things on RBT the next day all the time.

I’ve had 2 mates get done the day after.

If you’re havin a go .
Easy.

Life's Good

24 hours? He never said that. He said something along the lines of getting back to the hotel about 11 and then leaving 12 the next day. I'll re-watch to confirm.

Anyway a simple statement like this would have sufficed: "This is not acceptable as a leader of my country, club and community. I will be standing down as Australian Captain and hope that I can earn it back in the future. As always I would love to pull on the green and gold, but will fully accept whatever Mal and the NRL decides.".

No he didnt say that he mentioned the drinks the prior day and then leaving the next day. That's how I took it.

Like you, pretty disappointed he didn't step down as a mark of ownership for what is a pretty serious error of judgement.
Its now up to Mal & Todd to play the bad guys(or good guys in most peoples eyes in this instance).

Frailty

So he said he left the pub at 11pm or 1am. That's a big window to say what time you left (though given the likely circumstances that isn't surprising that his recollection is bad).

And then left at 12pm, which means he was then nabbed around 2pm. So we are to believe that over 12 hours from his last drink he still blew 0.085 but thought he was right to drive?

And there is nothing said in his statement about the fact he was speeding too.

Given Papalli was stood down after pleading guilty, and Inglis is pleading guilty there is only one viable option.

Danish

Yep it seemed a pretty easy play for Inglis to show his leadership qualities and stand down for these 2 tests.

DUI is obviously bad, don’t get me wrong, but hardly the crime of the century. His story - being on the piss the day/night before and blowing over today - seems plausible to me, but he should just take his medicine and not force the NRL and Meninga to make the decision