Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Halves last chance...

True EEL

straight up - if we lose tonight v Cowboys, and especially if we lose because of insipid, stuttering attack - i believe it is time to reconfigure the halves....Jeff Robson, i'm especially looking at you :x

i know its only Round 4, but 1-3 is not good - if it ends up that way, and don't get me wrong, i want us to win. i want the halves to play well and guide us around, i just don't have much confidence in that right now

i know SK gave these two the green light for the season, but he also said words to the effect of its their job to lose at one point - and for mine if they can't come up with the goods tonight, Round 4 or not, there must be some change and if the worst happens tonight and we lose i hope SK has the balls to admit the same......

having said that, i think Morst has been playing alright, hope he keeps it up

oldmancraigy

straight up - if we lose tonight v Cowboys, and especially if we lose because of insipid, stuttering attack - i believe it is time to reconfigure the halves....Jeff Robson, i'm especially looking at you :x

i know its only Round 4, but 1-3 is not good - if it ends up that way, and don't get me wrong, i want us to win. i want the halves to play well and guide us around, i just don't have much confidence in that right now

i know SK gave these two the green light for the season, but he also said words to the effect of its their job to lose at one point - and for mine if they can't come up with the goods tonight, Round 4 or not, there must be some change and if the worst happens tonight and we lose i hope SK has the balls to admit the same......

having said that, i think Morst has been playing alright, hope he keeps it up

If Morts would learn to kick FLATTER on his long kicks - go for only 20-30 meters in the air and make the friggin thing bounce!

As it is he has a real knack of kicking it right to the fullback - 40m on the fly and straight down their throat for the easy 20m return.

It's killing us in the 'wrestle'.

I've been pretty happy with almost everything else Morts has done so far this season.

Robson has been a real worry. I'm hoping Mitch/ MK string some real magnificent performances together so McGuire can take over at half.

Reconfigure the halves? To who?

Murray can't even crack NSW Cup. Humble isn't playing anywhere and McGuire is injured.......

True EEL

old man,

thanks for your constructive input

Colonel,

umm, yeah, pretty much the opposite

by reconfigure, i mean consider McGuire (when fit) in the halves and the obvious that i keep banging on about, Jarryd Hayne at 6....its not rocket science oh wise one...

caylo

old man,

thanks for your constructive input

Colonel,

umm, yeah, pretty much the opposite

by reconfigure, i mean consider McGuire (when fit) in the halves and the obvious that i keep banging on about, Jarryd Hayne at 6....its not rocket science oh wise one...

Maguire to 7 isnt nessesarily a good move IMO, out of MK, Robo and Mortz performances this year MK would probably be the wrost. We have no options other then Bruest in u20 (it would be a big ask for him) and Murry (who atm isnt an option tbh) Humble we can forget about until he comes back and plays some footy.

I didnt watch last week but Mortz is still a bit of a road block between the backs and halfback, the best mix up i could think of is MaGuire to 6 and Mortz to interchange with Mitchell or MK at 9 or MK to 5-8 instead of Mortz. They are both very out there desperation moves and i wouldn't go with either of them over what we currently have.

If these halves are there next year it will probably drive me to suiside but ATM we have no other choice, Mortz has to learn to get the ball to hayne more often in the 20meters in attack (on the edges rather then from first reciever) and they have to get the ball to Hayne more often on last to kick it long. If they do that IMO we can win games, if they cant we are a one trick horse atm and will fail.

So who plays fullback if Hayne plays 6?

Outside of possibly Marmin Barba who had a great game the previous week in NYC the rest of the backline is struggling for form and we have no real standouts in the NSW Cup or NYC.

McGuire could play at half yet we weaken the dummy half role which as we have seen is probably the most important position on the field at the moment to get right as it allows the forwards to move over the advantage line and gives the halves room to move. IF Mitchell and Keating find some form it would be worth a try but it is yet a big IF and we have to worry about that first before we even worry about moving McGuire who is injured.

The only two positions that we have something going for the team, when McGuire is fit, are 1 and 9 so we move those two players to different positions to strengthen another area?

It isn't rocket science but if you sit back and look at the whole picture you too would realise that.

caylo

So who plays fullback if Hayne plays 6?

Outside of possibly Marmin Barba who had a great game the previous week in NYC the rest of the backline is struggling for form and we have no real standouts in the NSW Cup or NYC.

McGuire could play at half yet we weaken the dummy half role which as we have seen is probably the most important position on the field at the moment to get right as it allows the forwards to move over the advantage line and gives the halves room to move. IF Mitchell and Keating find some form it would be worth a try but it is yet a big IF and we have to worry about that first before we even worry about moving McGuire who is injured.

The only two positions that we have something going for the team, when McGuire is fit, are 1 and 9 so we move those two players to different positions to strengthen another area?

It isn't rocket science but if you sit back and look at the whole picture you too would realise that.
:thumn:thumn:thumn

There has been improvement based on the structure. We haven't scored heaps of points in recent weeks but we have been in better position to do so and have had a good number of tries disallowed. The baseic structire is there. The forwards need to aim up and the dummy half needs to get a good roll on through that area and the halves will have the room they need which is what happened in the first half of the first week and for times in last weeks game as well.

Changing that structure after a handful of games is not the answer.

Maroubra Eel

I don't think we have too much to worry about tonight. It's the cowboys for crying out loud.

The 2 points are as good as ours. I don't really care that the cowboys are hopeless. A wins a win, and I love it when parra win.

I don't think we have too much to worry about tonight. It's the cowboys for crying out loud.

The 2 points are as good as ours. I don't really care that the cowboys are hopeless. A wins a win, and I love it when parra win.

I with M.E

yy_cheng

I must give a wrap to the halves today. They did good.

After watching today's game, Hayne is more or less playing 6.

The only difference is that mortz is the 7 on the left and robbo the 7 on the right.

But when in NSW where you have a real 7 and 6, Hayne would get in the way.

boxhead

Agree yy_cheng, the halves didn't do anything spectacular but they were solid and didn't do much wrong either. I think they are performing well above their 2010 form and if they keep up tonight's effort or, better yet, keep improving then they won't be as huge a worry as they have been.

jk13

completions got us thru 2nite. if teams match us in completions we r a good chance of losing. 2nite everyone did their job.

ShaunC

The halves will be ok. Kearney is structuring the game around their strengths and it is starting to work. There is still improvement but I like what I am seeing.

boxhead

The thing is though mate, how many teams complete 34/38 sets regularly? There are only a few teams we should really be worried about in that respect; the way we play forces errors from other teams.

If we keep up this sort of completion rate from Round 1 and Round 4 then regardless of our halves we should do well.

You have to also consider that even with the completion rate of 34/38 possession was only 51% our way.

Morts has been told that his role as 6 is to give good service to his outside man. I give him props that he is doing that. Having said that, he has no pace of the mark, crap kicking game and no money ball.