Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Harold Matthews and SG Ball Discussion Thread

sweet-as

when you only have one front rower

Mate i wouldn't say that. There are some very talented front rowers in that team. However one has dogged Penrith and the other is injured. And also it is very hard to compare them to Tuivasa as he is a total different type of player.

Second rower

might i jst add tomorrow
shall test penrith big time
because i no for a fact
that acedamy are going
to be very pumped for game day
which is tomorrow

half_back

Mate i wouldn't say that. There are some very talented front rowers in that team. However one has dogged Penrith and the other is injured. And also it is very hard to compare them to Tuivasa as he is a total different type of player.

The shame of it is the best front rower with the greatest potential to progress on and make it all the way will be playing against Penrith tomorrow. The big question that irks me about Penrith this year especially is what is their junior rep program about? is it about developing players of the future for Penrith or trying to win the HM comp. I think they have focussed solely on the latter and done both poorly.

brothers34

Halfback would you be refering to a windsor player with a name beginning with j Lol and tai is a much better player and has tons more talent. He is also a funny and nice character off it.

isaiah

As I said previously QLD were none too pleased bout being ranked 13-16 as such they have modified finals format. NSW will play in a round of 12, 1 play 12, 2 play 11 etc and the QLD teams will play off to give a final two (which should gaurentee stronger teams from up North) then they will join the remaining 6 from NSW in a round of 8.

southern conference of the qld comp in u18's is going to be topped by norths, which has lots of broncs contracted players. they beat the 2nd side, souths, easily tonight. 3rd and 4th just coincidentally play each other later today. it will be interesting if the top northern conf team, who i guess will have some young cowboys, will be as good as the young broncs.
i can see the titans finishing 5th and having a win over whoever finishes 9th!
second week we may see the 2 qld sides, bulldogs, eels, jets, dragons, titans, and your panthers!

should be a ripper of a final 8 from there!!

half_back

southern conference of the qld comp in u18's is going to be topped by norths, which has lots of broncs contracted players. they beat the 2nd side, souths, easily tonight. 3rd and 4th just coincidentally play each other later today. it will be interesting if the top northern conf team, who i guess will have some young cowboys, will be as good as the young broncs.
i can see the titans finishing 5th and having a win over whoever finishes 9th!
second week we may see the 2 qld sides, bulldogs, eels, jets, dragons, titans, and your panthers!

should be a ripper of a final 8 from there!!

Tough gig for whoever finishes second in NSW they will presumably beat the 11th ranked team but then have to play away in QLD in the 2nd week of the finals. If the top teams up North are as strong as you suggest then an early morning flight up there to play a quarter final against that opposition would be none too appealing for any team

half_back

Halfback would you be refering to a windsor player with a name beginning with j Lol and tai is a much better player and has tons more talent. He is also a funny and nice character off it.

Actually refering to Jakiel. Year young and dominate with exceptional skills. Dont get me wrong Tai is a very good player but one who dominates in a comp where many havent developed yet. Unfortunately Players like Tai dont make it all the way due to thier considerable size, while a weapon at this age group, as the game speeds up through Ball and 20s and other players finish developing he will struggle to keep up. Im sure he is a great character I have only spoken to him a couple of times and dont profess to know him. He should definitely make the NSW 16s team will no doubt make Ball if not Penrith then Academy but will have to work very hard from here to make 20s. I guess time will tell.

Kilkenny

Thankfully wasn't able to make the SG Ball as I had to wait for my young bloke to finish work. What a godsend that was.

It would appear we are a little light on in talent in the juniors at the moment but it is surely only a blip and surely in the next year or two we will turns things around.

It should be remembered the junior sides really only have to produce one or two high quality players each year as the majority fail to reach the lofty heights of the NRL.

Fibroman

Thankfully wasn't able to make the SG Ball as I had to wait for my young bloke to finish work. What a godsend that was.

It would appear we are a little light on in talent in the juniors at the moment but it is surely only a blip and surely in the next year or two we will turns things around.

It should be remembered the junior sides really only have to produce one or two high quality players each year as the majority fail to reach the lofty heights of the NRL.

profound.......

half_back

It seems the HM team is hitting some form while the ball team remain very inconsistent. I couldnt be there yesterday so am keen to hear what the general opinion of the matches were. Who plyed well in HM? Im assuming no one played well in Ball.

Both teams will have their work cut out for them next week against the dogs.

HM this week will be very interesting after 3 in a row and facing the undefeated dogs we will see how much improvement they have made.

They can be very thankful that it is a 12 team semi finals format with them in 7th and 8th respectively.

BOMAR

I knew Blake austin would be a big loss to the team. he is the talker in this side. top three for tackles and line breaks each week and the teams higest point scorer.

Fibroman

How good is this thread going? If the boys were doing as well as this thread they would be on top of the ladder.

footyboy7

It seems the HM team is hitting some form while the ball team remain very inconsistent. I couldnt be there yesterday so am keen to hear what the general opinion of the matches were. Who plyed well in HM? Im assuming no one played well in Ball.

Both teams will have their work cut out for them next week against the dogs.

HM this week will be very interesting after 3 in a row and facing the undefeated dogs we will see how much improvement they have made.

They can be very thankful that it is a 12 team semi finals format with them in 7th and 8th respectively.

Harold Matts was a very close game despite the scoreline.
Personally, i would have to say, Tai played well scoring 1 or 2 but Jakiel in my opinion had it all over Tai. I would have to say Penriths forwards played much better than there backs (once again despite the scoreline).

In the Horrid game some call Representative footy otherwise known as the SG ball. The WSAS made up of entirely 17 yr olds carved Penrith up.
Matthew Moylan played better then the rest of his team. Harry started on the bench for god knows why, he injected a little bit of upbeatness on the Penrith boys but basically the game fell away after that.

Smart coach hey, we all start a gun halfback on the bench, i know he must have his reasons but i still cant get my head around it to be honest
:?

:):)

Bashem

Harold Matts was a very close game despite the scoreline.
Personally, i would have to say, Tai played well scoring 1 or 2 but Jakiel in my opinion had it all over Tai. I would have to say Penriths forwards played much better than there backs (once again despite the scoreline).

In the Horrid game some call Representative footy otherwise known as the SG ball. The WSAS made up of entirely 17 yr olds carved Penrith up.
Matthew Moylan played better then the rest of his team. Harry started on the bench for god knows why, he injected a little bit of upbeatness on the Penrith boys but basically the game fell away after that.

Smart coach hey, we all start a gun halfback on the bench, i know he must have his reasons but i still cant get my head around it to be honest
:?

:):)

From what i seen tai seemed scared ! esspecially after jakeil put him on his ass.
he dropped the the ball 3 times in the opening 10 minutes but would have to say came good towards the end.
there where many biffs thoughout the Hm game all involving the likes of tuivasa vs jakeil :lol:. very entertaining

In the Sg it was simply a demolition by WSAS . with penrith seeming confused how to score points againt the confidence boosted wsas Outfit.

micro

some people must have been watching a different h-matts game to me, academy never ever looked like winning, if it went longer penrith would have won by more. Tai was scared of jakiel??????? Jakiel had nothing, he forgot he was out there to play football, may be because he was not good enough to compete. All talked it up last week? what happened 26-4, that is a fair old flogging in anyones terms.