Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hayne to the NFL???

Sleep

But I am talking exclusive SF games, just so Hayne is broadcast into Australia. I would imagine the ratings would justify the cost and effort.

Which American network does Seven take its games from?

They wouldn't do that for the simple fact Hayne is probably only going to be a special teams player and will be on and off just like that. Maybe they'll favour the 49ers games when they have the option to choose but they won't broadcast them over the better match up just so people can get a two minute fix of one Australian player.

Doesn't come from a specific network. NFL deal is split across multiple channels.

Danish

They wouldn't do that for the simple fact Hayne is probably only going to be a special teams player and will be on and off just like that. Maybe they'll favour the 49ers games when they have the option to choose but they won't broadcast them over the better match up just so people can get a two minute fix of one Australian player.

Doesn't come from a specific network. NFL deal is split across multiple channels.

If you don't think the rights holders to NFL in Oz will be preferencing Hayne's games over all others for broadcast you are kidding yourself.

If Hayne is on the roster for their week 1 game then that game will be televised in Oz, without question. If he continues to do well, then they will continue to do so. If he sucks, then they'll switch back to regular scheduling.

The amount of casual fans who would be attracted to watching Hayne play in Oz would far, FAR outweigh the amount of actual NFL fans who currently watch their broadcasts. Hell I am surprised that they didn't televise his preseason games, they missed the boat big time there.

nick87

Pretty much every NFL fan i know watches the games via Game Pass, so i tend to think Danish is right and if Hayne is on a roster, Seven will wind up showing as many Niners games as they can to attract the extra viewers who otherwise wouldnt watch

retch

z11.gif

Cletus

If you don't think the rights holders to NFL in Oz will be preferencing Hayne's games over all others for broadcast you are kidding yourself.

If Hayne is on the roster for their week 1 game then that game will be televised in Oz, without question. If he continues to do well, then they will continue to do so. If he sucks, then they'll switch back to regular scheduling.

The amount of casual fans who would be attracted to watching Hayne play in Oz would far, FAR outweigh the amount of actual NFL fans who currently watch their broadcasts. Hell I am surprised that they didn't televise his preseason games, they missed the boat big time there.

I wouldn't be surprised if they replayed it at a decent hour as well. Although it depends of what their rights agreement is.

Usain Bolt

Pretty much every NFL fan i know watches the games via Game Pass, so i tend to think Danish is right and if Hayne is on a roster, Seven will wind up showing as many Niners games as they can to attract the extra viewers who otherwise wouldnt watch

ESPN broadcast the SNF and MNF games in Aus/NZ

shaggs

Don't 7mate have the broadcast rights for the next two years?? Three games a week I think.

Tinkler

If Hayne plays well ...

the money from sponsors will be huge ...

This is the most international exposure for the game ever.... whatever parra are still paying him is worth it

you can not buy this amount of publicity for the game

Just had a look on the 49ers fan forum at their Hayne thread. Understandably there is a lot of technical talk I don't get but sadly there are VFL fans trying to push how tough or skilful their game is, they truly are a sad bunch of merkins.

It's pretty hilarious. On my Facebook there's AFL fans hijacking posts about Hayne saying if he can do it imagine how good 'insert afl player that ive never heard of' would be.

Links/copy some posts plz

Danish

They would be wise to have a 49ers only special I reckon.

You can buy single team passes. I think they Are $100 or so for the year. I have the full regular season pass for $180 as my wife and I go for different teams in the NFL.

The full season pass including finals is $270 or so

nick87

They would be wise to have a 49ers only special I reckon.

They do. They have a bevy of different options
You can get the full 12 month pass, which includes every game live, on demand replay, post season, draft, nfl network 24/7, redzone and back catalogue of games... costs about $270

you can just do regular season, which gives you the same thing but during the period of the regular season, and it's about $170

or you can get team passes where you pick your team and get access to all their games during the regular season for around $120

Danish

All games are in HD as well providing your internet is up to scratch.

If the NRL had a game pass type service I wonder what hey could charge for it?

Parra

They probably sold the rights to do this along with everything else. And then wonder why Murdoch makes jokes about footy over lunch.

I'm not gonna pay for a cheap nasty service. I'd pay good money ($150) for an NRL service that was anywhere near NFL Gamepass.

As it stands, internet streams are often a better option than NRL Digital for $80.

nick87

I pay for the full NFL Game Pass. Id happily pay the same for a similar quality service from the NRL. Spending $250 to say $90 a month on fox sounds like a great deal