Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hayne wants another chance at 1....

MuleEel

Burty is my favourite Eel (along with Hindy & Caylo). But I wont to win games and Burt is not producing the form that got him the gig in front of Hayne at the start of the year. Last season he was on fire.
I know he is struggling along with a team that is struggling, but fullback is a very key position in todays game. You need to be sure you have got it right. At the moment I am just thinking Hayne with more freedom running of Mateo combining more with Inu could be superb. Hayne is nowhere near his best and if we want to be in the mix we need him to be.
Alternatively we can play him on the wing finishing backline movements that arent in existence and taking the hit ups that our forwards are incapable of taking. Seems like a waste.

Tekken Lord

Damn it - you picked my irony way too quickly. :lol: :lol:
See where I come from, promotion or even change to another role is based on reward for proof of performance, not the promise of future performance.
Yes, I was insinuating that if Hayne wants so desperately to be the fullback over Burt, he should get in there and prove that he is a better choice - not promise to improve his so far lacklustre form for 2008 only once he has been moved there. And he can do some of this from the wing without playing the role of fullback - being a winger doesnt mean camping yourself on the side line and waiting for the ball.

Yes he can do them but really he shouldn't, no problem with him being more involved but to achieve that maybe the side should play a more expansive game and take advantage of its natural talents instead of having Hayne and INU doing nothing for most of the match. Having played both wing and fullback i know it really is ridiculous to suggest the winger should be doing the role of the fullback. I'm not saying Hayne should go to fullback infact i don't think he should but to suggest the winger should be doing that shows that the fullback sucks balls. It clearly indicates Burt is not doing what he should, Burt needs to be dropped and replaced by the ever ready Reddy :shock:

emjaycee

Yes he can do them but really he shouldn't, no problem with him being more involved but to achieve that maybe the side should play a more expansive game and take advantage of its natural talents instead of having Hayne and INU doing nothing for most of the match. Having played both wing and fullback i know it really is ridiculous to suggest the winger should be doing the role of the fullback. I'm not saying Hayne should go to fullback infact i don't think he should but to suggest the winger should be doing that shows that the fullback sucks balls. It clearly indicates Burt is not doing what he should, Burt needs to be dropped and replaced by the ever ready Reddy :shock:

The bit I bolded hits the nail on the head for me. And although I agree with you, I would also like to hope that my superstar, marquee $400k per annum players would dig in and do what ever is necessary when we are down by 8 with 10 to go on the clock.

Saying it to the media doesn't make it happen... let's not count chickens before they hatch.

Jarryd had a chance to show he could get more involved and help the team pick up their act yesterday - sadly he didn't take it. Because maoning to the media is a lot easy for a pretty boy who's believeing his own hype than actually having a decent dig, and paying the club back for the time he lost to a stupid childish suspension...

I'll be the first to take any of these statements back once Jarryd actually plays a decent game this season. But I'm still waiting...

You've hit the nail on the head. And it's the individual superstar pretty boy types - ones that never miss a chance to talk themselves up in the media like Jarryd - who wouldn't know what team spirit was if it hit them with a spear tackle.

I just wish a lot more of them would take a leaf out of Inu's book in terms of attitude, on field and off. I hope for our club's sake the young ones coming through the NYC don't put someone like Jarryd on a pedestal and thing that this type of thing is an OK way to carry yourself.

you are soooo far from reality here.

read the article again. try and imagine the questions the journo is asking him. he's not moaning, and he's not talking himself up. you are deluded.
He's giving an honest and legitimate answer. you are getting sucked in by a newspaper article, and treating it as fact.

he probably could have got more involved. But, he also came off an origin game a few days earlier. Not a couple of days, where the hype still remains; but 5 days, which is a difficult turnaround.

for a pretty boy who's believeing his own hype than actually having a decent dig, and paying the club back for the time he lost to a stupid childish suspension...

I'll be the first to take any of these statements back once Jarryd actually plays a decent game this season. But I'm still waiting...[/

this is your opinion of a guy, that i believe is based on false premises. bit of tall poppy syndrome here imo.

You say he hasnt played a good game yet. Again, you are choosing to remember the games which fit your model of reality/what you believe. the city-country game was the catalyst for his turn aorund of form, and he was one of our better players every game after that. I urge you to watch them again. Perhaps your expectations of him are too high?

lucablight

Hagan will never shift Hayne back there, Burt has been poor all yr bar a few games. After the way Hayne finished the season last yr leaving him at fullback was a no brainer. But because the club made the ridiculous decision to keep Burt for another 3 yrs Hagan has his hands tied.

Fair enough, but unlike some, I rewatch them with an open mind. Not clouded by my prejudiced opinions of a players form or attitude.

I feel this is the more objective way.

Hayne has played one single, solitary good game since Hagan became coach and that was for NSW.

Overpaid.

Get rid of him.

Fair enough, but unlike some, I rewatch them with an open mind. Not clouded by my prejudiced opinions of a players form or attitude.

I feel this is the more objective way.

It's hard to watch something objectively with one's head crammed up their own backside.

Hayne has played one single, solitary good game since Hagan became coach and that was for NSW.

Overpaid.

Get rid of him.

It's hard to watch something objectively with one's head crammed up their own backside.

Is there any way we can get rid of you ?

lol, that's all you've got?

I'm not turning this into a slanging match, but my point referred to the "I'm Mr. Objectivity and I'm never clouded by personal prejudice, whereas everyone who disagrees with me is." post.

mate, im a scientist. thats how i look at things. sorry if it's different to your outlook on life.

the fact remains that people have trouble viewing situations when they have an emotional connection.

lol, that's all you've got?

I'm not turning this into a slanging match, but my point referred to the "I'm Mr. Objectivity and I'm never clouded by personal prejudice, whereas everyone who disagrees with me is." post.

In all seriousness HJ, he may not be in form but even you must concede that at their best Hayne is a better fullback then Burt.

I admit however that the article paints him as a bit of a sook.

Hellsy

I'm a little over Jarryd, and thats not an opinion from reading the article... I've been over him for most of the year

In all seriousness HJ, he may not be in form but even you must concede that at their best Hayne is a better fullback then Burt.

I admit however that the article paints him as a bit of a sook.

just as Hages get painted with an aire of apathy in the media. ;-) doesnt make him apathetic. :p

MuleEel

eeelectro,
you are right. Blame Rebecca Wilson. These guys clearly read too much of her and base their views on players on the media perception of their personaility. So what if Hayne is Cocky? We dont know these fellas and anyone who thinks they do is a weirdo. Go of the footy. Unless, as I said, you want to put faith in what people like Rebecca Wilson say.

Hellsy

just as Hages get painted with an aire of apathy in the media. ;-) doesnt make him apathetic. :p

Great, can we also remember that because Eric doesn't show alot of emotion that it does not also mean he does not care?

(thats not aimed at you eeelectro.... just quoting you as your statement fit!!)

woddy

IF Hayne goes to fullback he"d have to have a real go at it or look like a real dumbass give him a go can't be worse than Burt on the wings I'd have Grothe and Williams see how many metres the back 3 get

Great, can we also remember that because Eric doesn't show alot of emotion that it does not also mean he does not care?

(thats not aimed at you eeelectro.... just quoting you as your statement fit!!)

What you see on the field is different to what is portrayed in the media.

However, I agree, he cares for sure. Its hard work to turn a 100+kgs and sprint to cover a defense error. It might come across as not trying to some.