Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hell has frozen over!!! Live Footy in Melbourne!!!

Noa

Call me a cynic but I really question 9's motives here.

More live games in 3 months then weve had the past 4 years with a much better team.

TV rights are coming up soon, Leagues ratings are through the roof, I think theyre looking for something they can use at the bargaining table i.e. look how poor your Melbourne ratings are, you dont really deserve X amount of dollars.

And they will be poor, Sunday 3pm IS THE WORST TIMESLOT POSSIBLE in Melbourne. Sunday is the day out in Melbourne, wether its to an AFL game (theres 2 on Sunday in Melbourne BTW) the local park footy which is just as popular or out in general.

Put us on prime time on a Friday or Saturday night and well flog the Iron Chef at the very least.

BDGS

Ch 9 might be doing that, but I think the NRL are smarter and have more at their dispoable then a few poor ratings games on Melbourne TV with little promotion can bring down the dollars.

BunniesMan

Ch 9 might be doing that, but I think the NRL are smarter and have more at their dispoable then a few poor ratings games on Melbourne TV with little promotion can bring down the dollars.
When have the blokes running the NRL given us even the smallest indication that they have any intelligence whatsoever.

Noa

I agree its a laughable tactic if thats what theyre doing

BDGS

When have the blokes running the NRL given us even the smallest indication that they have any intelligence whatsoever.

Probably when the sport didn't die after the super league disaster or maybe when our sport became the most watched tv sport, or when they decided to create an IC.

There is plenty more occassions but it's late and o got an early start tomorrow so that'll have to do for now.

Raiderdave

More live games in 3 months then weve had the past 4 years with a much better team.

TV rights are coming up soon, Leagues ratings are through the roof, I think theyre looking for something they can use at the bargaining table i.e. look how poor your Melbourne ratings are, you dont really deserve X amount of dollars.

And they will be poor, Sunday 3pm IS THE WORST TIMESLOT POSSIBLE in Melbourne. Sunday is the day out in Melbourne, wether its to an AFL game (theres 2 on Sunday in Melbourne BTW) the local park footy which is just as popular or out in general.

Put us on prime time on a Friday or Saturday night and well flog the Iron Chef at the very least.

well surely that didn't work when the exces said to the AFL .. look how poor your ratngs are in Sydney .. & Brisbane ( & have been for 30 years & they're getting worse not better !!!)

why should it work when they try it on the NRL ?:?

Noa

Didnt day it would work, but this is the mob that gave us Between the lines nationally and thought it would work, so who knows what goes through there "brains" .

I think you're spot on in your assessment.

A staggering Souths won't draw dick to ANZ v Melbourne (whose drawing power is woeful in Sydney) and the ratings at 3pm will be Swans-in-Sydney-like.

It's not like 9 have ever given two f**ks about any Melbourne interest in NRL games before. For it to be suddenly happening occassionally makes one think they have an ulterior motive.

If they were going to try to build an audience, this isn't the way to do it...

Gippsy

Well, Ch 9 got caught out using the ratings of one live game, v Panthers earlier this year, to highlight the poor average ratings in Melbourne. At least by showing 2 games they can actually quote an average. :?

docbrown

This is Nine pretending to be going out of its way for Rugby League.

"Gee aren't we nice? We showed your game like we actually promised."

then...

"But it rated poorly so either you get less money from us or we don't have to show it."

All the NRL need to do though is point out that 37,000 in Melbourne > what 9 gets in Melbourne on GEM in that timeslot.

If ever I was happy and wanted to be utterly depressed, all I have to do is go ontl a LU thread about c9 showing RL into Melbourne.

When they dont do it they are merkins

When they DO do it they are merkins.

Now they are doing it to "devalue" a TV deal? Are you f*cking kidding? That's like telstra halving their sponsorship money because Cronulla once got a poor crowd.

Personally I think they would have been better off showing the same delayed telecast as we get. I am usually still out at 3 on a sunday, more likely to be home closer to dinner.

But good on C9 for showing the game into Melbourne.

As for this gathering place for the manically depressed - the world is about to end. Empty stadium, wrong time, no money for TV rights in next contract - what else can you whingers find wrong? Wrong feng shui?

Mark Rudd

Shocking as it may sound - because loudstrat is a moron - I actually agree with him. A live NRL game into Melbourne is always a good thing.

BunniesMan

If ever I was happy and wanted to be utterly depressed, all I have to do is go ontl a LU thread about c9 showing RL into Melbourne.

When they dont do it they are merkins

When they DO do it they are merkins.

Now they are doing it to "devalue" a TV deal? Are you f*cking kidding? That's like telstra halving their sponsorship money because Cronulla once got a poor crowd.

Personally I think they would have been better off showing the same delayed telecast as we get. I am usually still out at 3 on a sunday, more likely to be home closer to dinner.

But good on C9 for showing the game into Melbourne.

As for this gathering place for the manically depressed - the world is about to end. Empty stadium, wrong time, no money for TV rights in next contract - what else can you whingers find wrong? Wrong feng shui?
fmd...i agree with loudstrat...I think it's bedtime for me.

Lambretta

Wether they show the game live or on a slight delay at 4pm is moot

The real question is Friday Night Football when the league is not going to be competing with live AFL games in Melbourne

Show the game starting at 10pm and then see if league rates up there

Playing a few live games when most Melbourne football fans are out watching games or watching the AFL on another channel isnt going to give an indication of how league can perform. It needs to be shown when there isnt any competition as many AFL games are up here (Saturday arvo for example)