Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hindmarsh to take fight to AFL

LESStar58

F*ck off! How the hell would they do that?

Are you a turd chewer like Sheedy - who expects that Western Sydney was just waiting for an AR game to be played so they can suddenly all ditch their generations-long passion for League and soccer?

If that's all they have to do to jag a big crowd, why are they wasting their time in Blacktown when New York, London and Tokyo await?

F*ck off you AFL loving twat!

Well said...

simostorm

And where will these AFL fans come from?

Sheedy gunna pull 'em out of his arse?

38 million buses coming up the Hume?

They gunna advertise their game as "Parra v Canterbury"?

You are the typical brain dead knob that these stupid articles are aimed at!

No.. they are already there.

simostorm

lol.. i dunno Loudstrat.. i hope your right man and they fail..
But i bet they will be very decent indeed.
We havnt even seen anything close to the full strengh of advertising campaign that they are gunna drill into that joint.

simostorm

I hope your right.. But im just saying.. a new team.. with the support AFL will throw
at it..
I think alot of people may support them..

Dont get me wrong.. i hope i am 100% completely wrong :)

1 Eyed TEZZA

I hope your right.. But im just saying.. a new team.. with the support AFL will throw
at it..
I think alot of people may support them..

Dont get me wrong.. i hope i am 100% completely wrong :)

Sydneys a large place, people will be looking for another thing to do on a weekend. But the AFL can throw as much money as they like at the team, they cant throw supporters at it.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/ne...fun-by-nathan-hindmarsh/story-0-1225828475911

How west will be won with fun, by Nathan Hindmarsh

* By Nathan Hindmarsh
* February 10, 2010 12:00AM

WELL, the secret's out. I have a new job at the Western Sydney Academy.

According to media reports, I'm now the "face of league in the west". But to tell you the truth, I'm a bit embarrassed by all the attention.

That's not to say, however, that I'm taking this role anything but seriously.

The Western Sydney Academy has been doing really good work and I want to do my part to contribute.

Rugby league is all I've ever known. In some ways I'm still a stranger to the working world, the nine-to-five world, but I want that to change. So over a coffee with an old friend, academy manager Greg Mitchell, we hatched a plan for me to get a real job! After a lot of discussion I was fortunate enough to be given this opportunity as strategy co-ordinator.

When I was growing up I just loved playing footy and being with my mates and the local club. The Moss Vale Dragons was the centre of my childhood and teenage world. (Interestingly, the Spuddies, my true local team, didn't have enough sides for me to play so I went to the neighbours!) I didn't dream of being like Terry Lamb. To be honest, I didn't have much of an imagination at all. All I knew was that my favourite time of the week was training and that the weekend game was on my mind from Monday, first lesson at school. I would be filthy if rain cancelled the game. League was just the most enjoyable thing I could do. I also felt a part of something real and old. Lots of people of different ages were involved in the team and lots of people from around the area used the footy team as their way of being a part of the community.

That's the secret to junior footy to me - fun, mates and community. It should never be more complicated than that. I didn't realise it then, but footy was more than just a sport. As we always hope for our own kids, it very quietly gave me life lessons. If the kids want to dream of growing up like my mates Andrew "Bobcat" Ryan, Nathan Cayless, Trent Waterhouse or Chris Heighington, then that's great. But as all parents know, getting kids to go to after-school training each week isn't sustained by a poster on the wall.

I know a lot has been written about basketball, soccer and other sports moving into the area and treating parents and kids like products on a supermarket shelf. None of that makes a lot of sense to me. The battle for the west may be a smokescreen. League has always been the dominant sport in the area. But if we all need reminding of something, it's that league has been at the core of good community spirit for about 100 years and the academy is here to make it easier for those currently involved in the game and those wanting to be a part of it.

I reckon western Sydney is where more kids play league per capita than in any other part of the world so I can't see that changing any time soon. But we have to remain sharp and listen to what parents, volunteers, and the kids really want. That's my job, to help the academy craft programs that attract more people into junior weekend footy.

It's a bit of a chicken and egg situation - do more volunteers attract more kids, or do more kids pestering parents attract more volunteers to form clubs? I don't know the answer to that, but I'll be trying hard to work it out.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/ne...fun-by-nathan-hindmarsh/story-0-1225828475911

How west will be won with fun, by Nathan Hindmarsh

* By Nathan Hindmarsh
* February 10, 2010 12:00AM

WELL, the secret's out. I have a new job at the Western Sydney Academy.

According to media reports, I'm now the "face of league in the west". But to tell you the truth, I'm a bit embarrassed by all the attention.

That's not to say, however, that I'm taking this role anything but seriously.

The Western Sydney Academy has been doing really good work and I want to do my part to contribute.

Rugby league is all I've ever known. In some ways I'm still a stranger to the working world, the nine-to-five world, but I want that to change. So over a coffee with an old friend, academy manager Greg Mitchell, we hatched a plan for me to get a real job! After a lot of discussion I was fortunate enough to be given this opportunity as strategy co-ordinator.

When I was growing up I just loved playing footy and being with my mates and the local club. The Moss Vale Dragons was the centre of my childhood and teenage world. (Interestingly, the Spuddies, my true local team, didn't have enough sides for me to play so I went to the neighbours!) I didn't dream of being like Terry Lamb. To be honest, I didn't have much of an imagination at all. All I knew was that my favourite time of the week was training and that the weekend game was on my mind from Monday, first lesson at school. I would be filthy if rain cancelled the game. League was just the most enjoyable thing I could do. I also felt a part of something real and old. Lots of people of different ages were involved in the team and lots of people from around the area used the footy team as their way of being a part of the community.

That's the secret to junior footy to me - fun, mates and community. It should never be more complicated than that. I didn't realise it then, but footy was more than just a sport. As we always hope for our own kids, it very quietly gave me life lessons. If the kids want to dream of growing up like my mates Andrew "Bobcat" Ryan, Nathan Cayless, Trent Waterhouse or Chris Heighington, then that's great. But as all parents know, getting kids to go to after-school training each week isn't sustained by a poster on the wall.

I know a lot has been written about basketball, soccer and other sports moving into the area and treating parents and kids like products on a supermarket shelf. None of that makes a lot of sense to me. The battle for the west may be a smokescreen. League has always been the dominant sport in the area. But if we all need reminding of something, it's that league has been at the core of good community spirit for about 100 years and the academy is here to make it easier for those currently involved in the game and those wanting to be a part of it.

I reckon western Sydney is where more kids play league per capita than in any other part of the world so I can't see that changing any time soon. But we have to remain sharp and listen to what parents, volunteers, and the kids really want. That's my job, to help the academy craft programs that attract more people into junior weekend footy.

It's a bit of a chicken and egg situation - do more volunteers attract more kids, or do more kids pestering parents attract more volunteers to form clubs? I don't know the answer to that, but I'll be trying hard to work it out.

No.. they are already there.

What? In AFL style muder cells, justwaiting for Sheedy to give the signal so they can rise up with their red footballs and their singlets and kill RL?

You are a dead set f*ckwit. You wouldn't know a Steeden from your left testicle.

BTW - Hindy. Future boss of the game. Awesome stuff :clap:

bobmar28

I've mentioned before that I believe the AFL have done a deal with Fairfax media this time around. Just look at the SMH, Sun Herald and listen to 2UE news and you'll realise this mob are getting far more coverage than they deserve.

I noticed the entire back page of the Sun Herald on the weekend was covered with Konrad Shooby's face.
Fairfax and AFL? That's nothing new.

bobmar28

When you sit back and assess what has happened since Sheedy's appointment, you'd have to say that rugby league reporters (particularly News Ltd) are the AFL's best asset.

That article about Hindy taking on the AFL is the best good news story for league I have seen in a long time. How does that make News Ltd reporters the AFL's best asset?

By giving Sheedy and co valuable paper space. I think you'll find the league journos have writted stories with AFL or Sheedy in the headline more than the friggin AFL reporters.

In saying that, I can't talk because I'm always banging on about the AFL v league thing on here. But that's because I enjoy the inter-code banter. Always have.

Jankuloski

Wow.. either Hindmarsh is mcuh smarter than I gave him credit for, or he's hired a good speachwriter... either way, a good read!

they should ask Hazem if he wouldn't mind helping out too now that he's retired

another great ambassador

the more the merrier

Agreed. Hazem is a fantastic ambassador for the game, but I suspect his best role would be selling the game to migrant kids - especially from the middle east.

League has a great heritage with incorporating different cultures into a code born out of white ango-saxon roots. Beetson was wonderful as an indigenous ambassador for the game - and League made him the first Aboriginal to captain his country. That's a big one up on Union, Cricket, Soccer, Basketball, Netball, Hockey etc - and AFL for all their 1980's poncing about their indigenous players. Meninga, Lyons, Corowa, Peachey, Blaclock, Widders and even Mundine followed in his footsteps.

Dr George was the same with the big immigrant base in Canterbury - and I remember their multicultural dayin 95 (I think) which was a great moment in a dark era for the club - they packed Belmore too.

George Taylforth did it for maories, as did McGahn, Horo and others down to Rueben Wiki (one of the great ambassadors IMHO)

Noa Nadruko paved the way for polynesians into our code. Marcus Bai, Adrian Lam and Stanly Gene did great things for PNG kids too.

Sadly, morons such as SBW, Thurston and Inglis haven't followed in their footsteps. Despite that, every club currently has a few players who have the potential to be groomed into a great ambassador for the code.

I think we lost something when the ARL's grooming of Pearce and ET was not followed through. I always though Kevin Walters had the smarts and the personality to be a great ambassador, but by then we were too obsessed with focussing on who was going to be the new Wally. Walters was in Langer's shadow, but Walters was far better in public, and he could have offered much more than the excellent work he did with Kim Walter's Choice. Ditto Webcke - when Tallis the neanderthal got all the press. Menzies as well. Jason Hetherington is another.

These players could have been employed as roving ambassadors of the code - even club talent scouts. That was Beetson's forte. The Chooks picked up many great young'uns because Beetson was leaning over the fence yacking to parents. Imagine Menzies, Webcke or Hazem lobbing at a country park offerning a career!

I think I posted somewhere else a short list of current players who SHOULD be used as the face of the game - but don't. Players like Hindy, Preston Campbell, Cooper Cronk, Luke Bailey, Benji - all can speak and have personality - and a genuine love of the game (yes I know Benji was courted by Union...)

Too often now the focus is on the showponies. The NRl were not to know that Stewart and Inglis would balls up in public life. Yet they went for glamour over substance.

Nathan Hindmarsh should be the face of the game for 2010. End of Story.

typicalfan

wouldn't a mind guy like Preston Campbell to do a little bit when he retires, he was a success in Penrith.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...hindmarsh-wants-to-hear-it-20100210-nshq.html

Problem with league? Hindmarsh wants to hear it
GREG PRICHARD
February 11, 2010

NATHAN HINDMARSH is now going to get more people than ever stopping him in the street.

He says that in his new job with rugby league's Western Sydney Academy he wants to hear from people what they think needs improving in the game to make it more appealing for kids to play - and it's certain they'll take him up on that offer.

During a break from yesterday's coaching clinic at Parramatta Stadium, the Eels star was asked what he thought was the best way to keep league ahead of the field as the AFL steps up its move into Sydney's west.

''We've got to ask questions,'' he replied. ''We've got to ask parents, kids, volunteers what they want to get out of rugby league and what they think needs improving. That will help the game go forward.

''I'll be involved in that process, yeah. I want to see kids have fun and get excited about going to training after school, and get excited to wake up on Saturday and play.''

Hindmarsh doesn't see AFL attracting young players in Sydney's west as a reason for league officials to contemplate slashing their wrists, as long as the game is doing all it can to keep itself attractive.

''I think it's going to have an impact,'' Hindmarsh said of the AFL's western Sydney push. ''Kids are going to want to play the game, definitely. We do live in Australia, where kids love to play sport, and I don't see why some kids won't want to play AFL.

''Sure, it will strengthen their claims out west, but I think we've got a great product in rugby league that's been around for the last 100 years and will remain that way.

''Look at our base in western Sydney, it's massive, with over 25,000 kids playing rugby league and 20,000 volunteers. And then there are teams like Parra, Canterbury, Penrith and Wests Tigers, who people want to watch.

''Kids and parents are going to make up their own minds about which game to play. We just want to make rugby league as much fun and as enjoyable as it was when I played as a kid. Everyone says it's a war [against AFL], but I don't think it's a war. AFL is putting a team out there, and kids are going to play whatever game they want to play.''