Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hindmarsh to take fight to AFL

Chachi

Of course Sheedy knows who Hindmarsh is. I'm certain it was a throwaway line designed to stir the pot. It's like league fans saying they have never heard of Sheedy.

those stories are probably paid for by the AFL. they've done it in the past as was revealed in court during the C7 case

I've mentioned before that I believe the AFL have done a deal with Fairfax media this time around. Just look at the SMH, Sun Herald and listen to 2UE news and you'll realise this mob are getting far more coverage than they deserve.

I noticed the entire back page of the Sun Herald on the weekend was covered with Konrad Shooby's face.

djst

These are exactly the articles that the AFL want,free publicity and being compared as a equal competitor with League.
This is already establishing this mindset,and Sheedy thrives off of this type of media circus,thats why he got the job.

Godz Illa

Truth is Paul Kent is the worst offender. He's taken the bait hook line and sinker like always does... he fed the Mundine machine with incendiary articles, putting money in Choc's pocket, and now he's biting on everything this AFL dude Khalil Shahidi is tossing out.

Typical arrogant deluded Victorian nutjob, doesn't know who Hindy
is but knows all of western Sydney are dying for a boggerball team. Keith Handshandy should stick to lying about Vietnam.

One of the first rules of war is know thine enemy.

However, the AFL is deadly serious about establishing in rugby league heartlands and is there for the long haul. We can either take it seriously and fight back, or become a secondary competition quarantined largely to Sydney and Brisbane. Some people, including Ray Hadley, seem to like the idea of a retreat to the heartlands. I don't. Our game has proved it has the potential for a genuine national reach but to attract the corporate and media backing for this it must to continue to examine opportunities for expansion.

The AFL will soon have TWO teams in league's heartlands. At the same time, many league supporters say melbourne is a waste of time and should be scrapped. I say let's put out a plan for a team in perth, sooner rather than later, and in the medium term a second team in Victoria.

These are exactly the articles that the AFL want,free publicity and being compared as a equal competitor with League.
This is already establishing this mindset,and Sheedy thrives off of this type of media circus,thats why he got the job.

Good point, but how do you woo a market by bagging it?

"I've never heard of Hindmarsh" translates as "Your best is not even a blip on my radar".

WS has, since 1788, been the engine room for Australia. It's where our major industries started - especially in Agriculture. It has propped up Sydney, yet has had to treck to Sydney to reap the spoils - the Easter Show, test footy and cricket, theatre, international bands etc all went to Sydney - not the west. League gave the west 4 clubs, and when Parra made the GF in 1976 it was a massive celebration for the region.

Western Sydney has always had the bullsh*t meter turned up full - that's why Soccer has succeeded because it's approach was geared on a massive effort in junior ranks fuelled by migrants who made the region their home.

Whoever said in a previous post that the West will happily drain you of whatever money you have to throw at us is dead right. Our souls cannot be bought, though. Western Sydney copped the arrogance of beachside residents and north shore yuppies for years. The response is to simply tell everyone east of Homebush and north of Carlingford to f*ck off and die. Funny thing is that people from the West are free to roam everywhere, yet the yuppies hem themselves in their own precious areas with their arrogance.

If the sum of the brains in an independent commission can only come up with a p[lan to sent in a fat Tommy Raudonikis lookalike to act like a twat, then lets not have a similar institution thrust onto us thanks.

I know we sent Ribot to Melbourne - maybe this is payback. I don't even think the most flawed personality League ever produced (bar Gomersall, SBW and Gaba) acted so stupidly when setting up the Storm as the demented wanker they have thrust on us.

Bill Buckley would be pissing himself laughing in his grave. And Roy Cazaly will be crying tears of blood in his.

One of the first rules of war is know thine enemy.

However, the AFL is deadly serious about establishing in rugby league heartlands and is there for the long haul. We can either take it seriously and fight back, or become a secondary competition quarantined largely to Sydney and Brisbane. Some people, including Ray Hadley, seem to like the idea of a retreat to the heartlands. I don't. Our game has proved it has the potential for a genuine national reach but to attract the corporate and media backing for this it must to continue to examine opportunities for expansion.

The AFL will soon have TWO teams in league's heartlands. At the same time, many league supporters say melbourne is a waste of time and should be scrapped. I say let's put out a plan for a team in perth, sooner rather than later, and in the medium term a second team in Victoria.

It will have four.

However, in the Western Suburbs Soccer and to a lesser extent Union have had a presence forever. Never been a problem for League. Soccer produce a superstar like Harry Kewell. League still thrives.

How much of an impact have the Swans had on Easts, Souths and Saints? Probably some, but very little. I don't fear the GWS side. Any side who's initials stand for "Geez We're Stupid" aint gunna be earth shattering.

It's just a pity we are owned by a media organisation who feeds these idiots air time. Like a radio station playing Yoko Ono on high rotation and having no Iron Maiden.

When we piss off news and get someone (ARL??) decent to run the joint, we'll be fine.

Billythekid

This may be a little off topic but why the f*ck wasn't Hindmarsh made to be the face of the game.

He is one of the few players who seems decently intelligent and well spoken. He is a one club man which is becoming rarer and rarer. He never has any off field discretions. He is voted the fans favourite player pretty much every year in every poll. He is also a player who you can tell puts in 110% every week and absolutely loves the game.

Instead of looking for twats like Inglis or Stewart this is the sort of bloke who we should use to speak for our game. Especially if we are serious about attrracting the whole family.

Goddo

This may be a little off topic but why the f*ck wasn't Hindmarsh made to be the face of the game.

He is one of the few players who seems decently intelligent and well spoken. He is a one club man which is becoming rarer and rarer. He never has any off field discretions. He is voted the fans favourite player pretty much every year in every poll. He is also a player who you can tell puts in 110% every week and absolutely loves the game.

Instead of looking for twats like Inglis or Stewart this is the sort of bloke who we should use to speak for our game. Especially if we are serious about attrracting the whole family.

There is a bloke like hindmarsh at every club, but he is the king of them for sure. For St George, its Ben Hornby. One of the nicest, hardworking loyal players around.

These are the guys we should be putting on pedistals, because theres more to being a champion footballer than results on the field.

Bring back the old days when these players were promoted all their careers.

I remember when the NSWRL wisely selected young Wayne Pearce and Andrew Ettingshausen as the face of the game.

These days we get dribblers who'd struggle mentally with preparing cornflakes for breakfast, and happily include Union in their contract negotiations.

Hindy, Luke Bailey, Shane Webcke, Preston Campbell, Steve Menzies, Rueben Wiki, Steve Price, Hazem, Hornby, Cooper Cronk - these are the guys that should have been promoted. All top players, good speakers, intelligent, and passionate for the game.

If I see Inglis dribble his way through another promotion I'll puke.

It will have four.

However, in the Western Suburbs Soccer and to a lesser extent Union have had a presence forever. Never been a problem for League. Soccer produce a superstar like Harry Kewell. League still thrives.

How much of an impact have the Swans had on Easts, Souths and Saints? Probably some, but very little. I don't fear the GWS side. Any side who's initials stand for "Geez We're Stupid" aint gunna be earth shattering.

It's just a pity we are owned by a media organisation who feeds these idiots air time. Like a radio station playing Yoko Ono on high rotation and having no Iron Maiden.

When we piss off news and get someone (ARL??) decent to run the joint, we'll be fine.

Oops...I meant two EXTRA teams. Agree wit what you say about the impact of the Swans. But we're kidding ourselves if we think we can maintain the momentum the game now has by not pushing the boundaries of expansion in a sensible manner

Agree - in a sensible manner as you quite correctly noted.

If we expand in the botched up way that AR has like some here demand *cough* Perth Red *cough* we'll be cactus well before Heather loses his final strand of hair.

maccattack

Why not put Hindy and Shoddy into a boxing ring?

If Shoddy wins they can stay. If Hindy wins, they f**k off.

Paul Kent has sent the poor old bigpoofy nutters into fts of rage. they've even invded the DT site leaving angry comments lol