Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How did you select your team to support

Zadar

True. But it does make the fan complaining about one team cheating while supporting another team that cheated a hypocrite.

Looks like in the last 20 odd years, only the roosters,cows,Penrith and broncos can legitimately claim premierships without any questions. Souths to a lesser extent but they did use some bracelets that were banned and somehow had the most gifted penalty count in history. All other teams have been involved or heavily questioned in some form of salary cap cheating, drug cheating, match fixing,blood transfusions, having to combine two teams to be able to compete because they could not do anything in the singular format. (Bad for manly, they seem to have an involvement in about 4 of those)

Newcastle,storm,dogs,Wests,manly, Illawarra,Souths and sharks should all have a ? Beside their “victories”

:stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye::stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

mozza91

Didn’t the Knights win a premiership with performance enhancing drugs?
Well considering none of our players tested positive for performance enhancing drugs the year we won the Competition I’d say no. Illegitimate comps is more your sides bag (brown paper bag).

True. But it does make the fan complaining about one team cheating while supporting another team that cheated a hypocrite.
Apples and eggs

The Todd needed to look good so he picked a club who have proof of his underhanded tactics to pick on for something every club including Penrith are guilty of (Maloney accidentally let slip)

Headless Chook

Started following the Chooks in 1973. Grew up in the Shire but decided to follow in my old man’s footsteps who lived in Waverley as a young bloke. One of Jack Gibson’s sons was playing in my footy team (under 8’s I think) at the time and he organised to get all us young fellas into the Roosters dressing room sheds at full time at Redfern oval in a Souths v Easts game in ‘74. Standing knee-high to all those legends and then later on in the year to be at the SCG to see them win the GF it was a no brainer that I’d be a Chook for life.

SpaceMonkey

I’m from NZ and hadn’t really settled on a team in 95 so the Warriors were a no brainer.
Super Rugby I follow the Hurricanes as my home region originally fed into them, even though they changed to Chiefs later on. Plus Wellington is my favourite city in NZ.
Every time I’ve tried to settle on an AFL team I’ve failed because AFL is shit, haha

I grew up in Sydney's inner west. My Father, and much of his family were staunch Souths supporters, my mother a Wests supporter (being then the local team). However the person who started taking me to the rugby league regularly was my Great Uncle who, having been born in Paddington, was a tried and true Roosters supporter. Even thouigh he was on an aged pension, he took me to just about all home games, and quite a few away games before he passed on. By then I was a Roosters fan through and through.

1999GF, had to pick a team to cheer on. Melbourne were underdogs so went for them, followed them since. I could just as easily have been a dragons fan lol.

This Year?

The Storm were 2nd for home crowd averages and 4th for memberships. Trust me mate a Storm fan is not hard to find, they’re everywhere nowadays.

And anyway the best part about winning a premiership is rubbing it in the face of those who hate your team, and there is plenty of those here

So by haters you mean pretty much everyone except Storm fans. The Storm are the darlings of the NRL, so much so that even Broncos fans are jealous. I can totally see how you would enjoy that.

Zerô

I was walking along a road and I came to a crossroads.

The devil himself appeared and offered to make me the greatest guitarist that has ever lived. The catch was that I would forever have to support the greatest and most successful rugby league team.

To this day I can play a mean triangle. I also support the Sharks.

POPEYE

I just liked watching teams play RL until Jack Gibson came along, followed his teams like a drover's dog after that. When he retired my passion turned to and still is studying coaches in general, looking for those that 'make' champions

My only distraction from that was when a team was sentenced to play out of Melbourne, to support it was a f**king pisstake I absolutely couldn't resist. Then came Bellamy . . . had my cake and ate it too

veggiepatch1959

Being born in Crown Street Women's Hospital and living in Bondi and Waverley until I was six didn't have any bearing on the team I supported as I didn't have any clue what the f**k rugby league was.

Moved out to some remote place called Riverwood at the end of 1965 and the north side of the the street where I lived was in Canterbury territory and the south side was St George.

Dad was an Easts supporter and Mum didn't give a shit but she hated the Berries with a passion.

I narrowed 12 teams down to four - Balmain, Canterbury, Manly and I think Wests. Mum swayed me away from the Berries and I honestly have no idea why I picked Manly but I've followed them ever since.

The first game I saw Manly played was in a semi final against Easts at the SCG in 1972 with Dad. Strangely enough, I've seen Manly play well over a hundred times but never set foot inside Brookvale Oval. The closest I ever got to Brookie was when I picked up a new surfboard from Hot Buttered in about 1976.

A few reasons - family grew up in the Canterbury area, also had an uncle that played lower grades for the dogs so most of the family go for them

Also, one of my earliest memories is going to a family friends house to watch the 88 grand final. I guess my years of supporting the dogs started well! Have only seen them take out two titles since though...

Plenty of memories of going to Belmore as a kid and watching the dogs on the hill with the trains going past. Love the fact that we are back there...brings a bit of identity back to the club that I feel has been lost. Can see a couple more years of pain though until we fully reverse the shit decisions Hasler made for us

mxlegend99

I picked the team nearest me while growing up. My parents didnt care much for footy so I got to pick my team when I started to.

Pretty much didnt have much to cheer about most years. But that makes years where we do well that much better.