Yes Mojo , they are like chalk and cheese or in Smithy’s case a silk purse to Hunt’s sow’s ear .Anyone who witnessed Billy Smith wearing the 7 Dragon‘s jersey would now consider Hunt doesn’t deserve to wear it ever again.
I have more faith in Shane than I ever had in HookMy wishful thinking is Flanno can change Hunt’s mind and get him to stay. We have one up on the struggling clubs being Tigers & Bulldogs and that is we have a top line half back in Hunt that is of course if decides to put in. If he does go there are no other half backs in Hunt’s class to replace him. Even if one did become available we would have to pay massive overs to get him here. Let’s hope Flanno can work his magic.
He did, it was called HOOK !!!If Hunt wanted to leave why didn't he get lessons from Solomon Haumono and find a Pleasure Machine to chase across the globe.
He did, it was called HOOK !!!
Could you blame SolomonIf Hunt wanted to leave why didn't he get lessons from Solomon Haumono and find a Pleasure Machine to chase across the globe.
Yes he does appear to be very injury proneI want Hunt gone too.. but im a bit scared tbh that Sullivan does a leg injury in the pre-season, and our 2024 season is well and truly rooted..
If we have someone like KFlanagan in the system as our 14, and halfback cover.. were ok.. we just cant go in with "only" Sullivan.. and we also cant go and buy any genuine gun half or 5/8 to come play 3rd fiddle.. but KFlan is a sort of hybrid hooker/7/14.. probably works.. im still a bit nervous.. but its now or never for Sullivan at the dragons... and I guess there is the Amone court-case, but we cant fix everything.. and I do think Herring or even Turner or someone could cover a running 6..Yes he does appear to be very injury prone
Just my humble opinion but I hope this yank tradition of “ thanks for your service “ doesn’t catch on in Oz. We need servicemen sure but they are paid to do a job just like a heart surgeon, nurses, teachers etc of which many deserve our thanks.Thanks for your service mate and long live ANZAC day.
Caught the Wigan v Warrington match on the weekend... and dared to entertain the notion of bringing Jai Field back. He's a more seasoned player now, his ballplaying has developed considerably, but still possesses that burst of speed. Could be that 3rd fiddle cover.. just thinking out loudIf we have someone like KFlanagan in the system as our 14, and halfback cover.. were ok.. we just cant go in with "only" Sullivan.. and we also cant go and buy any genuine gun half or 5/8 to come play 3rd fiddle.. but KFlan is a sort of hybrid hooker/7/14.. probably works.. im still a bit nervous.. but its now or never for Sullivan at the dragons... and I guess there is the Amone court-case, but we cant fix everything.. and I do think Herring or even Turner or someone could cover a running 6..
I don't disagree that many people deserve our thanks, but they aren't putting their lives on the line while they are on deployment like servicemen and women. They aren't being paid massive salaries for their trouble either.Just my humble opinion but I hope this yank tradition of “ thanks for your service “ doesn’t catch on in Oz. We need servicemen sure but they are paid to do a job just like a heart surgeon, nurses, teachers etc of which many deserve our thanks.
Unfortunately Super League and NRL are miles apart except for the 1-2 super clubsCaught the Wigan v Warrington match on the weekend... and dared to entertain the notion of bringing Jai Field back. He's a more seasoned player now, his ballplaying has developed considerably, but still possesses that burst of speed. Could be that 3rd fiddle cover.. just thinking out loud
Just to let you know Denis and I respect your opinion, as a current serviceman the tradition is not a yank one, it has also applied to our ANZAC's and all our veterans which we thank every day for their sacrifice. And whilst I do not serve to seek the gratitude of others, I am always there just not to fight battles, but help people during pandemics or bushfires or floods, BTW I have spent many hours thanking nurses, doctors, firefighters for their service. I have no issue in you not wanting to thank servicemen or ex-servicemen or women who are now coming to the front line without question. Yes you are right I am paid to do a job, and it happens to be one that I love doing, but how many service personnel do you see protesting or marching down the streets, going on strike, just so we can get more money and better conditions ( I do believe I have seen the odd nurse, doctor and teacher do that) . Anyway I'm not willing to continue this conversation at all. You do what you think your entitled to do.Just my humble opinion but I hope this yank tradition of “ thanks for your service “ doesn’t catch on in Oz. We need servicemen sure but they are paid to do a job just like a heart surgeon, nurses, teachers etc of which many deserve our thanks.
I've never thought about this because I never imagined it to be an issue. I get the point though. We don't want this, like so many other things, to become a cliche / virtue signalling exercise. Sincerity is the vital ingredient. IMO, there's no harm in saying thanks to anyone. Showing genuine gratitude is edifying for all involved, and for society in general. There's plenty of other people doing, or not doing, other things that we can justifiably not thank.Just to let you know Denis and I respect your opinion, as a current serviceman the tradition is not a yank one, it has also applied to our ANZAC's which we thank every day for their sacrifice. And whilst I do not serve to seek the gratitude of others, I am always there just not to fight battles, but help people during pandemics or bushfires or floods, BTW I have spent many hours thanking nurses, doctors, firefighters for their service. I have no issue in you not wanting to thank servicemen or ex-servicemen or women who are now coming to the front line without question. Yes you are right I am paid to do a job, and it happens to be one that I love doing, but how many service personnel do you see protesting or marching down the streets, going on strike, just so we can get more money and better conditions ( I do believe I have seen the odd nurse, doctor and teacher do that) . Anyway I'm not willing to continue this conversation at all. You do what you think your entitled to do.
Totally agree Mojo, my parents taught me to thank anyone who justifiably deserves it no matter who they are or what they do, and most importantly mean it. Anyway enough said, lets focus on the footy, I find this whole issue about service personnel and gratitude a bit embarrassing to tell you the truth.I've never thought about this because I never imagined it to be an issue. I get the point though. We don't want this, like so many other things, to become a cliche / virtue signalling exercise. Sincerity is the vital ingredient. IMO, there's no harm in saying thanks to anyone. Showing genuine gratitude is edifying for all involved, and for society in general. There's plenty of other people doing, or not doing, other things that we can justifiably not thank.
I discovered a just couple of years ago, on Anzac Day no less, that my paternal grandfather and his brother, a pair of young Irishmen, both lost their lives, on 25 April 1915. They would have been part of the Gallipoli Cove landing. There's nothing to feel embarrassed about.Totally agree Mojo, my parents taught me to thank anyone who justifiably deserves it no matter who they are or what they do, and most importantly mean it. Anyway enough said, lets focus on the footy, I find this whole issue about service personnel and gratitude a bit embarrassing to tell you the truth.
There’s a great episode of Curb Your Enthusiasm where Larry doesn’t thank a soldier for his service and gets in trouble for itJust my humble opinion but I hope this yank tradition of “ thanks for your service “ doesn’t catch on in Oz. We need servicemen sure but they are paid to do a job just like a heart surgeon, nurses, teachers etc of which many deserve our thanks.
Good on you justa. Just as you have been serving this Forum well, you are doing a job that is so important for us Australians. Thanks for that justa!Just to let you know Denis and I respect your opinion, as a current serviceman the tradition is not a yank one, it has also applied to our ANZAC's and all our veterans which we thank every day for their sacrifice. And whilst I do not serve to seek the gratitude of others, I am always there just not to fight battles, but help people during pandemics or bushfires or floods, BTW I have spent many hours thanking nurses, doctors, firefighters for their service. I have no issue in you not wanting to thank servicemen or ex-servicemen or women who are now coming to the front line without question. Yes you are right I am paid to do a job, and it happens to be one that I love doing, but how many service personnel do you see protesting or marching down the streets, going on strike, just so we can get more money and better conditions ( I do believe I have seen the odd nurse, doctor and teacher do that) . Anyway I'm not willing to continue this conversation at all. You do what you think your entitled to do.