Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ideas thread

For the new board members to take to the table.

1. When I go to the game my game day experience gets tiurned off immediately by the high prices, the long beer qeues the average food(kebabs are an improvement) but mostly, the f**king raffle ticket sellers. What I would like to see instead of another way to get my money, is to see the players at the gates, signing kids stuff before the game & maybe saying thank you to a supporter here or there for departing with their hard earned. I know this maybe difficult for normal game preparations but I think it will create a positive bond for people &more importantly the players. Have a 3 player rotation for an hour & half or with injured players etc.

This is serious....

How about getting the mermaids to greet people at the gates also.

Like when you are OS and you visit a Hooters bar and the girls just love to have their pics taken with the punters (yes I am serious)

p07-trip-08.jpg

Declared Idiot #88
Quig

That'd be a start Reefy.

An view that I've long held is players should have a clause written into their contracts - no ifs, buts or maybes.

The training is slightly relaxed to allow all players to work in the local community three days per week from say 9am to 3pm or 11am to 5pm to allow time for school kids to see them. They work for a local shop. It won't take money or jobs away from locals as these players would be surplus and are getting paid by the clubs. This generates more interest in the community resulting in benefits such higher turnover for the business concerned. This may lead to more sponsorship for the club as well as more supporters to the games. The fringe supporters are the targets. The only way to get to these people is to get out into the community and being accessible. A benefit for the players is they may learn somthing useful for after footy and for some it would be a very humbling experience - read 'get the heads out of their ar$es. Best way I know to cure big heads is to feed them humble pie!

Put the clause in and enforce it. Any club or player caught not abiding by the clause gets fined and/or suspended.

sharknows

Got to agree with all above. Get the players into our local schools. The kids will nag their parents to take them to the game.

And how hard is it to organise the beer queues to be a bit more efficient??

I think the players are well into the schools. The pathways are being rebuilt after Anderson destroyed them. But we dont hear about that. Why not?
Im not sure I agree with Coastal about the work thing. I reckon the players get paid f**k all already. I mean 300-400k is not a lot of money for the Risk & term. I'd prefer to see them spend the time in rehab & injury prevention.

PJ

I think the players are well into the schools

I'd disagree Reefy, I have had 2 kids at one of the bigger public schools for a combined total of 7 years. In that time they have had a combined total of 1 Sharks visit for about an hour. And that only visit was only 1 of the 2 kids of mine at the school had the visit.

In the same time they have had the opportunity for 2 multi day coaching clinics from the Swans and about 4 visits I think.

One of them is now at a local Private school and in 2 years they have had nothing from the Sharks.

With a top 25 I think that level of representation is pretty poor.

From an outsider who goes to 2-3 games at Shark Park per year, my brother's a Sharks fan -

Ticket prices are about $5 too high. Also, when people are already staying away, it isn't a fantastic idea to have a policy of not accepting uni student concession cards as valid concession cards. That said, I doubt prices can be dropped. There's no guarantee that more people will come if they drop the prices, and more than likely will just result in less revenue. An alternate solution is to open up Eastern side ( i think) lower seating, the ones in front of the leagues club grandstand to GA, so people at least get a decent seat for $20. This is the biggest issue for me. Paying $20 to sit behind the goalposts.

Apparently Sharks games were the place to be for young Shirefolk on a friday/sat night back in the 90s. Make it an attractive option to go to the game before hitting Northies or whatever. More bars, cheaper beer, advertise the fact. And if its feasible, some buses to the big nightclub venues. Better yet, make the Leagues club an attractive option for a postgame pissup.

The exceedingly attractive cheergirls are usually out and about selling stuff/taking charity donations, they almost very nearly trick me into buying something. Get them selling memberships.

Weaponhead

Casino and brothel

Get where the money is Sharks.

I rewatched the Godfather last night. We need to own the gambling racket on the south side of town and expand the prostitution operation. We should also wack the heads of the 5 families on the day of Simmos christening to create a leadership void to allow for hostile takeovers of St Geo/Illa, Dogs, Easts, Tigs and Souths. Sticky can become the Godfather after Bazzas unfortunate demise in the garden.

Problem solved

Inferno

From an outsider who goes to 2-3 games at Shark Park per year, my brother's a Sharks fan -

Ticket prices are about $5 too high. Also, when people are already staying away, it isn't a fantastic idea to have a policy of not accepting uni student concession cards as valid concession cards.

I'm a uni student and I got a student season pass?

Wonder if that only applies for individual tickets or whether they farked up...

squiddy

Prices are too damm high ! half the entrance knowing damm well everyone will buy a pie, hot chips and a beer , the money will be recouped in sales .

No extra charge for concourse esp for kids

Plonk the merch cart at Miranda Fair on a Sat morning with players manning it where possible

Players attending PSSA sport on a Friday morning

Promote the old Summer Bar atmosphere before/after games

Players kicking balls into the crowd before kick off like the ole days

squiddy

I think the players are well into the schools. The pathways are being rebuilt after Anderson destroyed them. But we dont hear about that. Why not?

Not too sure about the schools reefy but my kids do Nippers and a couple of times each season sharkies send a couple of players down to the beach for the morning , players always have a ball and kids get a real kick out of it . Last visit was from Dougo , Selmes and some young NZ kid , dougo in particular was a huge hit apparently he was quite a swimmer in his early days and he spent a lot of time talking with the kids

spider

the club is in financial strife - the last thing I see them doing is dropping prices, best to source alternate ideas

maybe start with improving the current game day experience so its worth the price of a ticket

the club is in financial strife - the last thing I see them doing is dropping prices, best to source alternate ideas

maybe start with improving the current game day experience so its worth the price of a ticket

True but sad.

$7.50 for some lousy wedges with a dollop of cream and 5 cents worth of chilli sauce is robbery.

How many people, families mainly I guess, now take their own food I wonder? Maybe not many but possible a significant number. If the prices were lower maybe people would buy a dog rather than bring a cheese sanger.

This poor club is fugged every way you look at it

Inferno

Going to take some creative thinking to do that without costing much.

More crowd interaction wouldn't be a bad idea. Don't think I've seen much in the way of pre-match entertainment this year involving the crowd.

Well let's face it. Those mermaids wear far too munch clothing.

Nude mermaids!! That's the go.

The Popper

Do they still let kids in for nothing if they have a football pass?
Why not let any kid in for free if they are accompanied by a paying adult.
They gotta look outside the square. Crowds are diminishing and we can't win games, so we gotta look elsewhere.
From what I've seen we do everything (except play football) as well as if not better than everybody else. So not winning games leading to diminishing crowds means we're squeezing the same people again and again with overpriced food, raffle tickets, etc.

squiddy

Dunno Spider drop the entry a little , get more thru the gate and the punters will spend more on food and drink - thats where the dollars are made - big mark up on a beer and a coke