Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

If Canberra win the premiership

beave

True. My only suggestion is that the teams that were competitive before 2002 were still competitive in 2002 which indicates the rule changes did not massively advantage or disadvantage teams.

I don't mind the NRL trying to improve the game but they way overdid it in 2005. They even acknowledged as much by slowing down the play the ball in 2006. Tigers were the beneficiaries of a temporary rule change and I don't rate their premiership victory.

And I appreciate that unlike the "lol@dice" simpletons that you do actually understand something about rules affecting teams chances.

If anyone should be sh*tty at the 2005 Tigers, it's us Cowboys fans. But you know what, I am not one bit dirty at the way in which they gained their 2005 title. Sure, they looked for quick play the balls, but FMD, they also played attractive footy that brought the crowds to their feet. It was a pleasure watching them, so full kudos to them. They also played with passion and pride, hell even I stayed back after fulltime and clapped them around the field at the 2005 GF whilst fully decked out in NQ gear.

I think saying that you don't rate their premiership is downright insulting and shows a lack of respect to the 2005 Wests team that fully deserved their GF rings.

LazyDreamer

If it does happen, there's always going to be an asterisk named the Melbourne Storm for those who want to cheapen the victory. The Raiders are essentially the 9th placed side. If it wasn't for the Storm breaking the cap (or getting caught) then Canberra would'nt be contesting finals football, and that's always going to be brought up by bitter fans who want to detract from the achievement, if Canberra go all the way.

In my opinion, whoever is the better side on the day is deserved of being the Premiers. The whole concept of a 'Bradbury' Premiership is idiotic.

f**k me drunk - are you for real? If the Storm hadn't cheated for years, who's to say 2010 wouldn't have seen them battling with the Cowboys & Sharks for the spoon anyway? No asterix next to whoever wins in 2010 - they'll be one of several teams who can stand proud & say they won the NRL premiership fairly & squarely.

But while they're a bloody good chance against the Tigers, I honestly can't see them rolling the mighty Dragons* and the Tits/Shytney Poosters (sorry Panthers - as much as I'd prefer to see you guys in the GF over the Tits & Cccks, I can't see it happening).

* I know, I know - our record over the last 10yrs vs Raiders...but what does the support of a team involve if not optimism?

If Canberra make the Preliminary Final they'll have half of Sydney supporting them and the other 15,574 against them.

Noname36

How many games have they won in a row now? 7? And they're going to have to win another 3 to win the GF. I seriously doubt they can do that, but if they do they'll be deserving premiers (in the weakest comp in many years, but who cares).

Ulysseus

Those who didn't like the fast paced game of 2005 are in the minority...

Agree.
It was a good year for free flowing attacking based football.
I can say that and the team I support didn't even win the title.
Then we went to 2006, and went to the Storm favoring "Wrestlemania".

I miss the 2005 vintage plays, the chips over the tops, the higher scorelines, the cliffhanger finishes.

Some are pissed at what Saints have become, well, they became a product of their environment, it was a bit pointless playing a flashy brand of football that more often than not cost the team the game.

As for the original question in this thread, will Canberra be the Bradbury premiers should they win the GF:
No, they would deserve the title just as much as any other team that had a legitimate shot at it, which if memory serves me correctly was 15 by late April.

If you want to talk about undeserved titles, then maybe look at that team that got stripped of its ill gotten gains in April.
In hindsight, the titles they "won" rank far below a Bradbury, as a Bradbury implies you were playing within the rules and everyone in front of you fell down.
They were the cause of the fall by virtue of their non adherence to a set of rules everyone else, for the most part, was following.

gUt

Kind of like your avatar, eh mate?

"Naw, naw. Wurhmens likes it!"

70101796_Pnfbo-S.jpg

Anyone can play that mess. Yeah. Yeah.

BLKOUT!

What would a true Bradbury in Rugby League be?

Would it be like the 8th placed team winning the competition after the rest of the finals teams suffered horrible injury tolls in the preliminary final?

Something like that. Or going into a grand final and having like 5 guys from the opposing team injured in warm-ups.

Noa

Please, please, please anyone but the Dragons.

One of the great traditions of Rugby League is them living on past memories which most of them dont even have.

Ulysseus

One of the great traditions of Rugby League is them living on past memories which most of them dont even have.

f**k you Noa.
Should they win it, they would be just as deserving of it as Canberra, Titans, Wests ,Penrith or Easts
Whats more this title, whomever wins it, will win it in the knowledge they are not cheating.

Noa

Seriously though, being a traditionalist, the Dragons winning wouldnt be good for the game....or the inter-webz.

gUt

I am in the anyone-but-the-Dragons camp too. I'd even stomach a Roosters premiership but only because my 3 year old daughter has claimed them as her team.

ASH_03

I am in the anyone-but-the-Dragons camp too. I'd even stomach a Roosters premiership but only because my 3 year old daughter has claimed them as her team.

Hahahaha Me too, the roosters are bearable, but I couldn't stomach the dragons winning :(

simostorm

Will it be considered a bradbury like some consider the WestsTigers one was in 2005.
Canberra have won 9 from 10,if they win they will have won 12 from their last 13,where as the WestsTigers won 12 of their last 14 including 8 in a row in 2005.
Canberra have beaten team 2 Penrith,the WestsTigers beat the Cowboys(5) twice,Saints(2) and Brisbane(3) in the finals series yet it was called a bradbury
It looks very similar in stats,but I bet it won't get a mention on here,it will be a backs against the wall,best in 20 year win
I personally hope Canberra do win the whole lot if they beat us on friday,what are your thoughts.

What sort of Rubbish is this??

Winning games in the back half of the season doesnt mean you are fluking your season. Thats why there is 26 rounds, and not just 10.

West Tigers were a great side, they were Premiers and deservedly so.
And the Raiders.. everyone craps on how close the competition is and that anyone can win.. except the Raiders??? If they do its cos they fluked it??

That theory is garbage.

skeepe

If Canberra win the GF they will be worthy premiers, but I would not put Monopoly money on them.

They have won 6 in a row, very good, but the last two have been against seriously depleted teams and both times they only just fell over the line.

They were in serious danger of defeat last Saturday in the last 10 min s or so but lucky for them the Panthers could not hold the ball during this time so the latter stages were played in the Penrith quarter.

Certainly they had the better of general play in this game, but still it was four tries each, against a side that lost both its second rowers. They bombed at least 3 tries in the second half. Their opponents took every opportunity that came to them.

Canberra face another injury ravaged side this week. Surely the gods of RL are smiling on them.

Canberra must know their luck will run out sometime. A St George side that gives nothing away, at pretty much full strength, will show the Raiders where they really stand in the scheme of things.

You really are an utter, utter wanker aren't you?

Whilst your hoity toity, holier-than-thou, all-knowing attitude may make you a God amongst Penwiff supporters, to the rest of us it just makes you seem like a knob. A complete and total knob.

The funny thing is whilst you come across like you think you're some kind of rugby league deity, the reality is you know f**k all.

To call winning 9 games out of 10 lucky is to give absolutely no credit to a team that have achieved something not even Raiders fans thought was possible 3 months ago.

After every game lately you've been there deathriding them, and guess what? They keep on winning.

Maybe they'll go all the way, maybe they won't. Whether they do or not, they'll rightly be lauded as heroes in Canberra, and you'll still be a merkin.

Bicey_18

I know ill be laughing ever so hard when they get knocked out...another year another failure lol

What sort of Rubbish is this??

Winning games in the back half of the season doesnt mean you are fluking your season. Thats why there is 26 rounds, and not just 10.

West Tigers were a great side, they were Premiers and deservedly so.
And the Raiders.. everyone craps on how close the competition is and that anyone can win.. except the Raiders??? If they do its cos they fluked it??

That theory is garbage.
In case you can't understand,I'm a WestsTiger supporter,I don't think our win was a fluke,nor would I think the Raiders win would be a fluke if it happens,as I said I hope the Raiders win it if they beat us on friday.
It is not a theory as you like to call it,it is fact that a lot of posters on here claim 05 was a fluke,I was wondering would they consider Canberra 2010 a fluke if it happens.

Pete Cash

If the Raiders beat the Titans in the grand final (a lot of ifs there) they would have beaten in the finals series team 1,2,3,4

That is a deserved premiership.

We've got a long tough road ahead before we should be.worrying about this. Three games still, ill worry about this stuff if we beat the tigers, dragons and who ever makes on the other side. Every team left can win it, I'm not letting myself look past this week.the tigers won't die wondering. Tough game this week

Canard

See this is everything thats wrong with modern society.

People just dont hate the Roosters anymore.;-)

Sad indicement really.