Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

If Grothe does not improve drastically, should he be dropped from first grade?

• Yes, drop him. A stint with Wentworthville will do him well.

Votes: 24 35.8%
  • No, keep him in the side. He will get better.

Votes: 43 64.2%

Utey

parra pete said:
Again Eric let in two. Who coaches the wingers in defence?
How hard is it to mark up man on man.
Eric YOUR man is the winger. That's all you have to worry about. Leave the others to the cover defence..just make sure you moving in or up doesn't create the overlap....

I think the issue is the compressed defence in the ruck and we're always in a 4 on 3 situtation. But still he was f*cken terrible.

Utey said:
I think the issue is the compressed defence in the ruck and we're always in a 4 on 3 situtation. But still he was f*cken terrible.

exactly .... we, like most teams compress in the middle so our outside guys are ALWAYS defending against an overlap - I am damn sure they are trying to train them to run in an cut it off - to just simply say the winger is Eric's fullstop end of story is a bit niave I think

problem is, I just don't think eric grasps what he's supposed to do when he runs in to try an cut it off .... they need to work on it massively at training cos its gonna cost us games .... he's gotta learn to pick his times to run in better and to frickin do something when he does run in - not just run up and do stuff all

fish eel

greg pritchard in the herald today described him as 'brick that had fallen out of a wall in defence'

Utey

strider said:
exactly .... we, like most teams compress in the middle so our outside guys are ALWAYS defending against an overlap - I am damn sure they are trying to train them to run in an cut it off - to just simply say the winger is Eric's fullstop end of story is a bit niave I think

problem is, I just don't think eric grasps what he's supposed to do when he runs in to try an cut it off .... they need to work on it massively at training cos its gonna cost us games .... he's gotta learn to pick his times to run in better and to frickin do something when he does run in - not just run up and do stuff all

Agreed, even though I think the up and in defence we had in 05 got us to where it did, it also cost us from progressing any further. It's something you can't rely on with Eric there, looks like he's stuck between the two worlds.

Also, are you in the same seat this year?

fish eel

i still think, that first try, some credit must be given to that young half back, because he saw his men outside grothe, and that was a GREAT pass. It was the pass more than anything that beat grothe.

Great vision and great pass IMO.

fish eel said:
greg pritchard in the herald today described him as 'brick that had fallen out of a wall in defence'

yeah, not a bad quote :lol:

lets not forget to DID also:
1) turn and beat his winger to get to a grubber first to stop a try;
2) catch a bomb (which was a sh*t kick he should have caught, so no major browny points there, but hey he didn't stuff it up)
3) force his winger to fumble the ball and miss scoring a try with some good strong on the line defence - Vuna is a big strong unit, I reckon he'll play rep footy one day, he's not easy to stop, eric did ok on this one
4) his own try was a good bit of finishing to spin through the tackle and get it down

And yeah he may have got penalised for a high shot after he let in the first try, but I reckon thats the first time I've ever seen Eric first man down from the kickoff to tackle the guy running it back - which shows he felt he had something to make up for with his sh*t defence a few minutes earlier.

I agree - his defensive reads are f**king woeful!!! - he needs a massive amount of help there from the coaches ..... but he still adds some value - if he can sort his up and in defensive nightmares out he'll turn things around

fish eel said:
i still think, that first try, some credit must be given to that young half back, because he saw his men outside grothe, and that was a GREAT pass. It was the pass more than anything that beat grothe.

Great vision and great pass IMO.
yeah good execution - but I reckon it would have been drilled into him to do that ALL week at training - they went at Eric in a big way tonight - smithy knows where the bricks fall out of the wall :lol:

fish eel

strider said:

2) catch a bomb (which was a sh*t kick he should have caught, so no major browny points there, but hey he didn't stuff it up)
3) force his winger to fumble the ball and miss scoring a try with some good strong on the line defence - Vuna is a big strong unit, I reckon he'll play rep footy one day, he's not easy to stop, eric did ok on this one
4) his own try was a good bit of finishing to spin through the tackle and get it down

And yeah he may have got penalised for a high shot after he let in the first try, but I reckon thats the first time I've ever seen Eric first man down from the kickoff to tackle the guy running it back - which shows he felt he had something to make up for with his sh*t defence a few minutes earlier.

I agree - his defensive reads are f**king woeful!!! - he needs a massive amount of help there from the coaches ..... but he still adds some value - if he can sort his up and in defensive nightmares out he'll turn things around

i thought that was more frustration....'sh*t....JTB is gonna be on me again'

fish eel said:
i thought that was more frustration....'sh*t....JTB is gonna be on me again'
nah - seriously, I think the fact he actually got down there first from the kickoff and put himself in a position to be the tackler shows he knew he had something to make up for ...... he can be f'n lazy - he is never the first down on any kick chase

our coaching staff need to work with him if he is going to be retained, and I cant see him being dropped

he cost us 3 tries tonight

our coaching staff need to work with him if he is going to be retained, and I cant see him being dropped

he cost us 3 tries tonight

We haven't defended better than 20 points in any of our 3 games so far....that is a concern particularly where tries are being scored.

JTB

Belly in Brisvegas said:
We haven't defended better than 20 points in any of our 3 games so far....that is a concern particularly where tries are being scored.

yeah down Grothe's wing. The solution: DROP HIM!

JOB 3:14

Tyler Durden said:
the focus on our right side defence is for grothe AND reddy.

they have only played together for a couple of games, and unfortunately, it will take a few games for them to develop a good defensive combination

Reddy has no idea in defence and Grothe has the wrong idea. Together they will cost us this season.:x

Fathead

strider said:

The posititive things Eric did last night , any competent NRL winger would have done. Cooper Vuna was all over him.
Cooper who ???? What is Cooper Vuna on? (money wise) Is Cooper Vuna being mentioned for SOO honours?
Me thinks we sometimes confuse the two Eric Grothes. Ive said it before - If his name was not Eric Grothe he would have been dropped ages ago.

Glenn

Twizzle said:
get another act, we heard you the first time

If not, the second,third,fourth,fifth..etc time. ](*,)

A little tip JTB, saying the same thing over and over again, gets less and less attention from people.

Jarryd's The Best said:
yeah down Grothe's wing. The solution: DROP HIM!

with ben smith and INU sitting on the sidelines who do you suggest we drop him for??? bare in my that Etu is defensively just as bad.