Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

"IN WANE WE TRUST" ................ Shaun Wane that is.

Dragsters

I’m not against you mate for the record. He’s my #1 pick. I just find it even more unlikely he will come now than I did even yesterday. If I’m wrong I will be so over the moon I’d probably take the day off work to celebrate.

Cool.

You did seem a little quick to dismiss him to me.

I would prefer to keep the debate open until a definitive result is reached one way or the other.

Keeping him in the conversation until then.

He looks like a popular option so you won't be celebrating alone if we land him...

Dragsters

I dont think they would appoint Dean, but you are right about the hype.

Laurie Daley is the latest to suggest Young is the man for the job. They are really talking him up.

It really is quite ridiculous that these "mates" can find any basis at all on which to talk him up.

He has little more experience than McGregor had when he landed the job and we all saw how that went, these mates in the media included...

Those shadowy words spoken by Webb - “ We shall do a thorough search and select the best individual based upon their experience and knowledge. . . “ ( or similar ) is what has me concerned .

They are indeed a rehash of what has been said in the past by others in Webb’s position - as if for now give the fans what they wish to hear and come next year - wham , bam , thank you mam . . .

Then comes the announcement towards the end of the year - “ After an exhaustive and thorough search of all applicants we have decided that Dean Young best fits the J.V’s criteria as the applicant to coach the Dragons to a successful future ! “

Sincerely hope that I am wrong , however the fact that Craig Young absentee himself from the selection of the interim coach could be taken another way , or perhaps after 7 years of neglect from the Dragon board I simply may be reading too much into the mans absence ?

to_ddeath

Wane IMO top candidate if Flanno doesn’t get his ban lifted a year early.
Plus I wanted to bump this back up above the Dean Young thread...

A big NO for Dean Young we need experience.
The only rookie I would take is Fitzgibbon
Shaun Wane is my first choice
Wane has had his contract extended so he won't be a condtender.
I'd like to see Bennett take on the head coach role and then move to General Manager Football at the end of his coaching contract..

boardlumps62

I'd like to see Bennett take on the head coach role and then move to General Manager Football at the end of his coaching contract..
Where does Wayne and his new Beau want to live. There must be some nice homes on the south coast we could find him overlooking the beach not far from the training oval. In the days off go throw a line relax and draw up a list of recuits.

Dragsters

As stated earlier, him being England coach does not preclude him from a club coaching role.

See McGuire and Woolfe...

getsmarty

The Wayne Bennett handshake deal the Dragons can't forget
https%3A%2F%2Fimageresizer.static9.net.au%2F0VJD7r7r3rgqHQ3piRbZCAwz8D4%3D%2F75x75%2Fsmart%2Fhttps%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2F_%2Fmedia%2F2019%2F05%2F09%2F16%2F59%2Fgeorge-vlotis-sports-journalist-wide-world-of-sports-389px.jpg
By George Vlotis
5 hours ago
There is a faction at the Red V that doesn't want anything to do with a Wayne Bennett second coming, stemming back five years to when the super coach famously reneged on a handshake deal to return to St George Illawarra, reveals Sydney Morning Herald columnist Andrew Webster.

Bennett's name has been listed in several reports as a candidate to replace Paul McGregor despite the fact he remains on contract with South Sydney until the end of next season.

The seven-time premiership-winning coach has publicly declared his intentions to see out his deal at Redfern, but that hasn't stopped word spreading that he could be the perfect fit to develop Dragons interim coach Dean Young.

Bennett famously took the Dragons to an iconic premiership in 2010, but in the decade since bad blood has reportedly festered among a faction of powerbrokers who have never forgiven the 70-year-old for rescinding on a handshake agreement to return to the Red V after his stint with the Knights.

https%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2Ffs%2F87febd5d-9b5d-4e91-b6e7-63668dd2eacc

Wayne Bennett during his tenure at the Dragons. (Getty) (Getty)
He instead opted to return to the Broncos in 2015, which Webster believes irreparably burned the relationship between Bennett and the Dragons.

"There has been speculation for a number of months that Wayne Bennett would come back and come in as a mentor to Dean Young," Webster told Sky Sports Radio's The Big Sports Breakfast.

"But there are still people at that club who are not that keen to see the super coach come in.

"They still remember from five years ago when he reneged on a handshake agreement with Peter Doust to come back and coach the side and decided to go to the Broncos at the last moment after Lachlan Murdoch had called him.

https%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2Ffs%2Fa36d1530-d511-4c1c-9dcc-446b84f4ad35

Wayne Bennett celebrates with Jamie Soward and Dean Young after the Dragons' 2010 NRL Premiership. (Getty) (Getty)
"Some people at the Dragons are a little bit chastised about that."

Current Dragons assistant and former Sharks premiership-winning coach Shane Flanagan has been suggested as a possible replacement for McGregor, but his head coaching ban doesn't expire until 2022.

While there was a suggestion earlier this year that the Dragons could lobby the NRL to have Flangan's sentence softened, Webster said there was now no chance of that happening.

"I spoke to the NRL yesterday and there was no appetite for Shane Flanagan to have his ban reduced," Webster said.

"I read with interest that the Dragons will approach the NRL to get clarification, but I don't think that Flanagan is the answer next year.

"I don't think he can be. I think he should sit out his suspension until the end of next season."

Webster said Roosters assistant Craig Fitzgibbon or Storm assistant Jason Ryles were the best fits for the Dragons – but both coaches have ruled themselves out of the running.

"The two that I would have thought were Craig Fitzgibbon and Jason Ryles," Webster said.

"But it has got so far down the track at the Dragons and they have become so entrenched at their respective teams, so that they are not available.

"Is Dean Young the answer? There is talk that he is very highly regarded at the club."

https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/st-geo...gor-news/86cfa694-be59-43ef-8873-71262f5ce229

getsmarty

They still remember': Wayne Bennett act that irks the Dragons
e2603570-ec68-11e8-8dfd-71d7964abde4

Andrew Reid
Yahoo Sport Australia14 Aug 2020, 1:02 pm
6da7d9e0-ddd9-11ea-a3bd-f215e0ed1fde

View photos
Paul McGregor's exit[/a] from the Dragons officially confirmed this week, talk has quickly turned to which coach the embattled club will appoint to guide them into the future.

Assistant Dean Young has emerged as an early frontrunner to be St George Illawarra's next coach after receiving the endorsement of McGregor, who will walk away after Friday's night's game against the Eels.

Another name that has been repeatedly linked with a return to the club is Wayne Bennett, who famously coached the team to the 2010 NRL premiership.

On paper, the master coach may seem like the ideal man to restore former glory to a Dragons side that has struggled to consistently play finals footy since he left to join the Broncos in 2015.

The Sydney Morning Herald’s Andrew Webster says it's precisely because of this acrimonious exit - where Bennett reportedly reneged on a handshake agreement with then-Dragons CEO Peter Doust - that some factions of the club would vehemently oppose his return.

“There has been speculation for a number of months that Wayne Bennett would come back and come in as a mentor to Dean Young,” Webster said on The Big Sports Breakfast.

“But there are still people at that club who are not that keen to see the super coach come in.

“They still remember from five years ago when he reneged on a handshake agreement with Peter Doust to come back and coach the side and decided to go to the Broncos at the last moment after Lachlan Murdoch had called him.

“Some people at the Dragons are a little bit chastised about that.”

Bennett does still have another year left on his deal at South Sydney before he hands over to Jason Demetriou, which further complicates matters if the Dragons were interested.

Young will take over coaching the Dragons after Friday night's clash with Parramatta, with Craig Fitzgibbon and Jason Ryles other strong candidates for the full-time role from next season.

6da7d9e1-ddd9-11ea-bfcf-33823cb58dad

View photos
The club's other assistant, Shane Flanagan, remains under a ban from a head-coaching role by the NRL until the end of 2021.

Young will be given a dream run to prove himself, with the Dragons up against the struggling Brisbane, Gold Coast and North Queensland in the next three weeks.

Young backed to coach Dragons long-term
Chief executive Ryan Webb said on Thursday the Dragons expected to give themselves until the end of the season to make a decision.

But when asked who should replace him, McGregor was unequivocal in his support: "They have a very good one here.

"After this week he's got six weeks. Dean is as hard of a worker as anyone I have had on my staff.

"He's loyal to the club, has bled for the club and will only do good things for the club. He's a very smart coach.

While Webster conceded that Young is "highly regarded at the club", he said some fans may will undoubtedly want fresh blood and new ideas at the club.

“The problem with Dean Young from the perspective of the fans and the members is it will be seen as someone from within again," Webster said.

“If things don’t go well next year they will say he is a young rookie coach and we have to give him a couple of years.

“Then before you know it will be nine years with only a handful of finals appearances and Dragons fans and members are starting to get worn down by the lack of success.”

with AAP" data-reactid="81">with AAP

Wayne Bennett has been consistently linked with a possible return to coach the Dragons. Pic: Getty
Dean Young will take over the reins at the Dragons after Friday night's game. Pic: Getty

https://au.sports.yahoo.com/nrl-dra...ns-oppose-wayne-bennett-return-030216987.html

Dragsters

They still remember': Wayne Bennett act that irks the Dragons
e2603570-ec68-11e8-8dfd-71d7964abde4

Andrew Reid
Yahoo Sport Australia14 Aug 2020, 1:02 pm
6da7d9e0-ddd9-11ea-a3bd-f215e0ed1fde

View photos
Paul McGregor's exit[/a] from the Dragons officially confirmed this week, talk has quickly turned to which coach the embattled club will appoint to guide them into the future.

Assistant Dean Young has emerged as an early frontrunner to be St George Illawarra's next coach after receiving the endorsement of McGregor, who will walk away after Friday's night's game against the Eels.

Another name that has been repeatedly linked with a return to the club is Wayne Bennett, who famously coached the team to the 2010 NRL premiership.

On paper, the master coach may seem like the ideal man to restore former glory to a Dragons side that has struggled to consistently play finals footy since he left to join the Broncos in 2015.

The Sydney Morning Herald’s Andrew Webster says it's precisely because of this acrimonious exit - where Bennett reportedly reneged on a handshake agreement with then-Dragons CEO Peter Doust - that some factions of the club would vehemently oppose his return.

“There has been speculation for a number of months that Wayne Bennett would come back and come in as a mentor to Dean Young,” Webster said on The Big Sports Breakfast.

“But there are still people at that club who are not that keen to see the super coach come in.

“They still remember from five years ago when he reneged on a handshake agreement with Peter Doust to come back and coach the side and decided to go to the Broncos at the last moment after Lachlan Murdoch had called him.

“Some people at the Dragons are a little bit chastised about that.”

Bennett does still have another year left on his deal at South Sydney before he hands over to Jason Demetriou, which further complicates matters if the Dragons were interested.

Young will take over coaching the Dragons after Friday night's clash with Parramatta, with Craig Fitzgibbon and Jason Ryles other strong candidates for the full-time role from next season.

6da7d9e1-ddd9-11ea-bfcf-33823cb58dad

View photos
The club's other assistant, Shane Flanagan, remains under a ban from a head-coaching role by the NRL until the end of 2021.

Young will be given a dream run to prove himself, with the Dragons up against the struggling Brisbane, Gold Coast and North Queensland in the next three weeks.

Young backed to coach Dragons long-term
Chief executive Ryan Webb said on Thursday the Dragons expected to give themselves until the end of the season to make a decision.

But when asked who should replace him, McGregor was unequivocal in his support: "They have a very good one here.

"After this week he's got six weeks. Dean is as hard of a worker as anyone I have had on my staff.

"He's loyal to the club, has bled for the club and will only do good things for the club. He's a very smart coach.

While Webster conceded that Young is "highly regarded at the club", he said some fans may will undoubtedly want fresh blood and new ideas at the club.

“The problem with Dean Young from the perspective of the fans and the members is it will be seen as someone from within again," Webster said.

“If things don’t go well next year they will say he is a young rookie coach and we have to give him a couple of years.

“Then before you know it will be nine years with only a handful of finals appearances and Dragons fans and members are starting to get worn down by the lack of success.”

with AAP" data-reactid="81">with AAP

Wayne Bennett has been consistently linked with a possible return to coach the Dragons. Pic: Getty
Dean Young will take over the reins at the Dragons after Friday night's game. Pic: Getty

https://au.sports.yahoo.com/nrl-dra...ns-oppose-wayne-bennett-return-030216987.html

McGregor:
"They have a very good one here.

"He's loyal to the club, has bled for the club and will only do good things for the club. He's a very smart coach

If the McGregor era proved anything to the Dragons board is was that being a loyal, hard worker does not make a quality coach.

Experience, tactical knowledge, ability to make tough decisions and know the right time to and man-manage both experienced footballers and junior talent among many other things make a quality coach...

redv13

Where does Wayne and his new Beau want to live. There must be some nice homes on the south coast we could find him overlooking the beach not far from the training oval. In the days off go throw a line relax and draw up a list of recuits.
I reckon the Wiley old fox would love to pop some blue pills on his days off with his much younger beau

Forbes Creek Dragons

As stated earlier, him being England coach does not preclude him from a club coaching role.

See McGuire and Woolfe...
I have seen him interviewed about it though and he stated he will not coach England from abroad like Bennet did. I would say the fact the re-signing was announced basically the day after Mary finished is a statement that he won’t be applying for the job. I want him badly too but if you were being realistic rather than hopeful I think you would have to admit it’s a very low chance, very very low. Lower than Bennett, lower than Fitzy and maybe even lower than Flanno. That’s just my take. I will be spewing if we don’t apply and give it our very best attempt for sure and I hope he’s well in the conversation but I’m not fighting with anyone on here I’m just trying to be realistic.