Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Interview with the Welsh banker: crowds, golden point, judiciary...

insert.pause

Thing I got out of the interview is how CHILDISH does rothfield sound? Geez. Is this guy for real? He sounds like a total jerk. " I think it's dumb" etc etc.

The guy should be banned from ever writing in RL. Jerk.

What do you expect, the telegraph think rugby league fans are all dumb ignorant bogans like their journos.

Been great for schools. Under gallop they wanted $3 a kid per session. This year we had 3 sessions free for 350 kids and all got a steeden footy at the end (again free). We had 15 year old jerseys. Just got a set designed in school colours with school logo for free.

We use to have no help from them at all at pssa level. Now they come down and ref league tag every week. Bring parra players and stickers every week. Offer to train teams for tackle (and come out twice a week to do it). Have a shit load of those rugby league reads magazines in every classroom which is most boys go to book every single day. Free footy cards. Sports room stocked with footies. Compared to an offer of $90 a session before.

We have moved into a non league area that previously had no attention from NRL. This year the NRL came to the school once a week for 5 weeks staying for a full.day to take classes from K to 6. Our kids got those books about the 2 sheepdogs who like RL.

It's a tough slog and I'm sure some of the families at our school will never watch RL but at least they are trying.

I thought NRL Nation was a good initiative as well

thorson1987

Newcastle is not his fault, it's Tinkler. Same thing happened to the Knights.

Besides that, look at the powerhouse European clubs he's brought here over the last couple of years, and look at everything else - our team winning the ACL, and hosting (and winning) the Asian Cup. Our (other) game has prospered more than ever.

The point is Rugby League was better under Gallop than it is under Smith.

lol.

Stick to your ducks BF.

kbw

There are 2 things you have to remember.
the NRL is not just responsible for the professional game. Its also responsible for the grass roots.
The second is Smith and his friends are very good at saying things. But they do not follow through or they even do the opposite.

For those of you whose involvement is sitting at home or at the game and watching your team or dropping your kid off when they play then I can understand why you would might be happy.
For those involved in running clubs, at all levels, you know what an absolute bunch of halfwits these idiots are that are making a job of ruining RL

DiegoNT

There are 2 things you have to remember.
the NRL is not just responsible for the professional game. Its also responsible for the grass roots.
The second is Smith and his friends are very good at saying things. But they do not follow through or they even do the opposite.

For those of you whose involvement is sitting at home or at the game and watching your team or dropping your kid off when they play then I can understand why you would might be happy.
For those involved in running clubs, at all levels, you know what an absolute bunch of halfwits these idiots are that are making a job of ruining RL

explain to us how exactly they are ruining RL? Describe it for those of us not involved in running clubs

Last Week

everything smith said in the beginning of that argument i'm against - i didn't both reading anything after moving the gf to anz and origin in melbourne.

What a f**king disgrace.

I can't believe i'm saying this, but the game was better under gallop!

9/10.

Last Week

IM still waiting for an explanation as to how negotiating and selling the TV rights to 9 without meeting with other bidders was a good move. Gallop got crucified for the same thing but the spin doctors on here wanna act like its genius move because Netflix or stan might be interested lol that is a couple TV deals away atleast before our internet can handle it. This genius move actually increased the value of the AFL deal, our biggest competitor ffs.

He got a billion dollars and crowds went backwards, as if he has any f**king clue how to grow them.

Something else Gallop never did was hire a negotiations firm to consult and advise on how to get the best deal for the TV rights.

Smith did a good deal with 9, despite it not going to tender because, 1. Nine just recently sold an asset which allowed them to have plenty of cash. The NRL received a $50 million sign on bonus for signing at the time.

Secondly, if the negotiations dragged on, it gave more time for News (fox) to hopefully get their stakehold in Ten. Should news get their stakehold in 10, it would have monopolised the negotiations favourably for Fox.

Never mind the fact that we now have 4 live FTA games, on 4 days a week and have complete control of the draw now. Oh, we got that and also close to a billion dollars for just our FTA component... The game has never been financially stronger and it will be seen by more fans than ever.

But let's focus on no shoulder charges, no punching, taking Origins to Melbourne (which we've done since the early f**king 90's), suggesting that the Grand Final might move from Sydney, and not revealing the games strategy for expansion..

kbw

explain to us how exactly they are ruining RL? Describe it for those of us not involved in running clubs

Removal of the kids cards to see games.
Huge increase in revenue and absolutely nothing spent on junior RL.
The softening of the game, the inconsistency of decisions and the pandering to CH9.

The absolute disregard for kids playing rugby league. A high level NRL official when asked about kids going from RL to AFL, answered so what let them go.

They do not care for anything that does not generate revenue.

cleary89

Its all online instead if cards. Heaps easier. I used it almost every round.

I posted earlier how we have at least 3 development officers down every friday for school sport plus heaps of other stuff at schools. Fair bit of effort on juniors from my point if view.

Desert Qlder

Removal of the kids cards to see games.
Huge increase in revenue and absolutely nothing spent on junior RL.
The softening of the game, the inconsistency of decisions and the pandering to CH9.

The absolute disregard for kids playing rugby league. A high level NRL official when asked about kids going from RL to AFL, answered so what let them go.

They do not care for anything that does not generate revenue.

This is an anecdotal and unconvincing argument.

kbw

I will say that the NRL is run better than RU or soccer.
But unfortunately we are 1000 miles behind the AFL.

Cleary I am surprised that they get that many ARL dev officers but very happy.
What are is that in ? I know that most around Sydney its 1 and I will not say a bad word against any of them as they do a wonderful job with limited resources as does their boss Maria

Desert Qlder

Probably is, but can you provide any information showing that the NRL management are doing anything positive outside of first grade ?

I am not making such fervent and confident assertions as you are. With seemingly little evidence it appears.

Over here we haven't seen any growth in deveopment officer numbers or revenue to nrlwa which is a shame given the potential. Only extra investment I've seen has been in the Pilbara with the appoint my of a coordinator/DO up there. . Despite that we have had 3 new Jnr clubs start up in Perth in last two seasons which is outstanding. Be great to see more support though such as a paid for liability and player insurance scheme and a kit and equipment discount deal. The staff at nrlwa do an amazing job on very limited resources, in places likes Tas, NT. SA the NRL investment is much smaller. Compared to what afl is spending at grass roots we are light years behind in most aspects. Soccer spends even less but there is such a massive demand for kids to play they can charge silly registration fees.

In annual report it says how much extra has been spent at "grass roots" but when you take out the extra payment to nsw and Qland cup clubs it is pretty insignificant.

elbusto

Over here we haven't seen any growth in deveopment officer numbers or revenue to nrlwa which is a shame given the potential. Only extra investment I've seen has been in the Pilbara with the appoint my of a coordinator/DO up there. . Despite that we have had 3 new Jnr clubs start up in Perth in last two seasons which is outstanding. Be great to see more support though such as a paid for liability and player insurance scheme and a kit and equipment discount deal. The staff at nrlwa do an amazing job on very limited resources, in places likes Tas, NT. SA the NRL investment is much smaller. Compared to what afl is spending at grass roots we are light years behind in most aspects. Soccer spends even less but there is such a massive demand for kids to play they can charge silly registration fees.

In annual report it says how much extra has been spent at "grass roots" but when you take out the extra payment to nsw and Qland cup clubs it is pretty insignificant.
there is no rugby league in tasmania just a paid employee and i have no idea what he does

Yep crazy, when you look at the interest in the storm trial game it is insane the NRL is totally ignoring the place, Adelaide seems in same boat. Wa, nt and vic are going ok but that is due to some very committed people rather than any great NRL involvement.

Maybe richo's review will discover that there are populations outside nsw and Qland lol?

elbusto

Yep crazy, when you look at the interest in the storm trial game it is insane the NRL is totally ignoring the place, Adelaide seems in same boat. Wa, nt and vic are going ok but that is due to some very committed people rather than any great NRL involvement.

Maybe richo's review will discover that there are populations outside nsw and Qland lol?
what happened here was unforgivable