Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is defence too Dominant in 2007?

Eddie.

Ive watched 2 games of Rugby league this week and to be brutally honest both were as boring as watching the grass grow. City Verses County andBrisbane verses Souths. Thesegames contained 2 rep sides, the 2006 Premiers and a supposedly on the up side in the Rabbits. Both games were played with very little imagianation, skill or flair. They were both terribly dour struggles with no one intent on taking risks or using their skills. They relied on one out running down the tracks, dummy half scots, and completing sets. The players pre and post match talked about completing sets and getting to their kick. The players talked about their wonderful defensive performance.

Teams like Sharks, Rabbits and co harp on about their wonderful defence, rubbish I reckon. Both teams are rubbish if all they can go is defend and harp on about completing their sets and getting to their kick. Both sides should stop carrying on about their defence and put together a game plan which contains more then 2 or 3 attacking moves a match. The first time South chanced their arm was in the 80th minute and what do you know they went 70 meters and nearly won the game. With the way the game is set up and the way teams are attacking, Rugby League favours the defensive side. Teams get full sets of six inside the oppostion 20 and they throw in 4 hit ups before they work out what to do.

Geez if I didn't know anything about Rugby League and it was the first 2 games I ever watched you would hardly be coming back for more, you would probably think it was one of the more dour games going around, which it is not.

I might be biased but in 2005 there were quicker play the balls. The tacklers were not allowed to roll over over the tackled player all day long. In 2006 and 2007 the play the ball is painfully slow and the pace of the game is dying. Throw in a lack of invention from the coaches and a lack of quality halves and you have a pretty bloody poor spectacle.

Im not sure if im over reacting, or if this decline in ball movement and skill is to do with rules or lack of quality players, coaches tactics or what. However im finding increasingly difficult to enjoy some games.

thoughts?

greenos

Eddie. said:
Ive watched 2 games of Rugby league this week and to be brutally honest both were as boring as watching the grass grow. City Verses County andBrisbane verses Souths. Thesegames contained 2 rep sides, the 2006 Premiers and a supposedly on the up side in the Rabbits. Both games were played with very little imagianation, skill or flair. They were both terribly dour struggles with no one intent on taking risks or using their skills. They relied on one out running down the tracks, dummy half scots, and completing sets. The players pre and post match talked about completing sets and getting to their kick. The players talked about their wonderful defensive performance.

Teams like Sharks, Rabbits and co harp on about their wonderful defence, rubbish I reckon. Both teams are rubbish if all they can go is defend and harp on about completing their sets and getting to their kick. Both sides should stop carrying on about their defence and put together a game plan which contains more then 2 or 3 attacking moves a match. The first time South chanced their arm was in the 80th minute and what do you know they went 70 meters and nearly won the game. With the way the game is set up and the way teams are attacking, Rugby League favours the defensive side. Teams get full sets of six inside the oppostion 20 and they throw in 4 hit ups before they work out what to do.

Geez if I didn't know anything about Rugby League and it was the first 2 games I ever watched you would hardly be coming back for more, you would probably think it was one of the more dour games going around, which it is not.

I might be biased but in 2005 there were quicker play the balls. The tacklers were not allowed to roll over over the tackled player all day long. In 2006 and 2007 the play the ball is painfully slow and the pace of the game is dying. Throw in a lack of invention from the coaches and a lack of quality halves and you have a pretty bloody poor spectacle.

Im not sure if im over reacting, or if this decline in ball movement and skill is to do with rules or lack of quality players, coaches tactics or what. However im finding increasingly difficult to enjoy some games.

thoughts?

That is all.

stuke

i think you will find it is pretty cyclical. we have had a fair few years of big scores being the norm. this year the coaches are utilising tactics to negate the attack. new laws will be introduced or re-interpreted at the end of this season and the cycle will restart.

wittyfan

On one hand less tries is awdully boring, but then again too many tries can be tedious.

Quite the conundrum.

m0j0

Maybe we should have a minimum try clause. The game goes for 80 minutes or 8 tries, which ever is the longest.

Mr. Fahrenheit

he is absolutley right, this is one of the main reasons why when parra arent playing, id rather watch the ESL (which i did on thurs nite), the main reason IMO is the speed of the play the ball and the dummy half orientated attack.

Calixte

He is correct.

They were terrible games. You could confuse them for rugby union they were so tedious.

The Broncos-Souths game featured 5 minutes of football. City-Country little more.

Eddie. said:

thoughts?

Mate, I agree. Watching the City-Country game put me to sleep.

It seems that these days, it's better to have a set of 6 whereby you have 5 plays following the following formula:

(1) Hit-up;
(2) Dummy-half run;
(3) Hit-up;
(4) Dummy-half run;
(5) Dummy-half run;
(6) Kick

So, so boring...

Nook

It always works itself out Eddie, just part of the flow of things at the moment I reckon.

We had that high scoring basketball stuff towards for a few years in the early 2000s - I remeber a comment from Gould after the 2001 GF won 30 - 24 by Newcastle that we'd just seen a massive shift in RL.

The next year the Roosters came out and out-tackled everyone with fantastic, bruising defence which was great to watch IMO.

Couple of years later teams are looking for a new edge and the Tigers find one with quick play the balls and quick hands to get the ball to the edges...

Refs crack down on the play the balls and we see a more conservative style of footy for a year or two.

It'll break. It always does. In some ways I think the changes from year to year (or more accurately over the course of 2 or 3 years) are pretty interesting in themselves. A lot ultimately comes down to referee interpretaion - the clubs are always looking for an edge, pushing the boundaries where they can, arguing for tighter control on one aspect of the game when one team gets too far ahead of the rest. Look at the sh*tfight over the Roosters gang stuff in 2002/2003, the play-the-ball crackdown after 2005.

It is all a big game. This dour stuff goes on much longer and clubs will again be arguing persuasively for quicker play the balls etc and the game will change - for a couple of years.