Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is Jeff Robson the best ever Sharks Half back?

shaggs

DCE would make our halves worth 1.5 per season at least.

Lot of money for no one to pass too. Can he play back row??

Deadset some times you are just full of shit.

How old were you when Sir Thomas was playing again.

Lets nominate a year that Bishop was here ... say 1971. I was 16 what were you again.

Full of shit... is you.
I was 8. Doesnt mean you cant watch the games from 1973.
Add to that I used to play in a comp where Tom coached & his son played. where he freely admitted his deficiency. Im also friends with Freddy Dennehy & played with him.
I reckon I might have a pretty good idea.

Bishop. Liability in defense & the reason Fulton scored both times.

Deadset some times you are just full of shit.

How old were you when Sir Thomas was playing again.

Lets nominate a year that Bishop was here ... say 1971. I was 16 what were you again.

Full of shit... is you.

I was 8. Doesnt mean you cant watch the games from 1973.
Add to that I used to play in a comp where Tom coached & his son played. where he freely admitted his deficiency. Im also friends with Freddy Dennehy & played with him.
I reckon I might have a pretty good idea.

Hmmmm so you got to watch a lot of games from 1973 after you were 8 hey.

So when you was a youngen Sir Thomas coached another kids team and Sir Thomas come up as the junior team coach and said to this kid from the other club, Young Reefy sit down and I will tell you all about the 1973 season game by game and how in the 73 grand final it was my defense that cause Bob Fulton to score his two tries.

You sir are as I noted before.... you are just full of shit.

Honestly...

My old man drove the Garbo truck around the shire for years and years with many of the Sharks players chasing the same. A lot of them did it for extra dosh and to keep fit.

None ever mentioned to him about Sir Thomas's defensive deficiencies. But hey..... any 8 year old in the right place would hear it and remember it to this day.

The defense rests your worship.

dumbo, I played against Tommys son. Tommy was the coach. I was 20 years old. They were a struggling team & a struggling club. I have since seen Tom around at a lot of footy functions I go to. I see Fred every 2nd week & talk Sharks all the time.
Watch the 73 grand final & watch where Tom is in defense. He was as tough as nails but that doesnt stop size or speed. If anybody was going to run at someboy in the 73 team they would have chosen Tommy first or 18 year old Sludge first. That is exactly what Fulton did.

AFTR numb skull, ask anybody that knows Sharks history about Fred. Most will say that the only reason he didnt play more first grade is becasue an inferior captain coach, was at the same club.

dumbo, I played against Tommys son. Tommy was the coach. I was 20 years old. They were a struggling team & a struggling club. I have since seen Tom around at a lot of footy functions I go to. I see Fred every 2nd week & talk Sharks all the time.
Watch the 73 grand final & watch where Tom is in defense. He was as tough as nails but that doesnt stop size or speed. If anybody was going to run at someboy in the 73 team they would have chosen Tommy first or 18 year old Sludge first. That is exactly what Fulton did.

AFTR numb skull, ask anybody that knows Sharks history about Fred. Most will say that the only reason he didnt play more first grade is becasue an inferior captain coach, was at the same club.

I'm pretty sure Freddy might of chased the garbo trucks too for awhile.

So Fred was better than Sir Thomas... is that what you are saying now.
Most will say that the only reason he didnt play more first grade is becasue an inferior captain coach, was at the same club.
Now correct me if I am wrong here. Sir Thomas left the club along with Cliffy at the end of the 1973 season. So for Freddy to remove the Captain Coach on form the club should of stood down the CC that was taking them to their first ever Grand Final for Freddy..... Yeah okay... alright.

blacktip-reefy said:
And it wasn't Sir Thomas that missed Bozo for the first try is that what you are saying now.

And as a 20 year old from another club to the Sir Thomas coached club you spoke about Tommys defense what everytime you played against Toms son or did Tommy just come looking for you so he could talk to you about his sharks career.

You sir are just full of shit.

Facts Only

Forgot Healey & he would be close. Wakefield. had 1 pretty good season. not his fault. Russell had 1 pretty good season. not his fault. Haddock. Had a pretty good 1/2 season. Was his fault he went to dragons. Millward. no pharken way. Kimmorley. Handbrake. Hansard. Not as good as Freddy. Freddy. Very close.

Robson. 10 year career in first grade. So far. 1 grand final appearance & were beaten by a team that rorted the cap. one of our best performers week in & week out 2 years in a row.

NOTE TO SELF . . . . . Blacktip - reefy - only man on the planet with less football brains than Ray Hadley.

It doesn't matter that you're a Sharks supporter, we all are ? ?

Next thing you'll be swearing on ya mums grave that Eon Croison was the best winger the Sharks aver had . . . .
you crack me up

Oh and in your reply - you forgot to state - Who was trying to poach Robbo - NOBODY OF COARSE

You shouldnt talk about things you know little of. You continually do. If it doesnt go along with your warped version of how the world was or how it should be, according to you, it isnt real.
73 grand final The first Fulton try was off an inside pass on the short side from a scrum. Instead of covering Tommy was lwalking around on the open side flat footed. Whilst it wasnt his miss that lead to the try, he should have noticed, as the captain coach, that they had numbered up on that side with Fulton & been ready. He didnt & Fulton successfully targeted Sludge who missed him badly.
Wombat(married to a close friend of mine) targetted Tommy in the 2nd half & busted him nearly every time, leading to the 2nd fulton try in the corner Southern end.
FTR, I first met tommy when i was 6 at my footy training in the shire. Then played in the Tommy Bishop Shield, then played against his team for numerous years which his sons played in.
Then, seen him numerous times at functions over the years like men of league functions etc.
I am lucky to live in area where the best of the old school footy players live & socialise & get to hear all of their great old stories that they are willing to tell. One thing I dont need to, definitely don't need to waste my time on here is , qualifying myself to somebody like you.

You shouldnt talk about things you know little of. You continually do. If it doesnt go along with your warped version of how the world was or how it should be, according to you, it isnt real.
73 grand final The first Fulton try was off an inside pass on the short side from a scrum. Instead of covering Tommy was lwalking around on the open side flat footed. Whilst it wasnt his miss that lead to the try, he should have noticed, as the captain coach, that they had numbered up on that side with Fulton & been ready. He didnt & Fulton successfully targeted Sludge who missed him badly.
Wombat(married to a close friend of mine) targetted Tommy in the 2nd half & busted him nearly every time, leading to the 2nd fulton try in the corner Southern end.
FTR, I first met tommy when i was 6 at my footy training in the shire. Then played in the Tommy Bishop Shield, then played against his team for numerous years which his sons played in.
Then, seen him numerous times at functions over the years like men of league functions etc.
I am lucky to live in area where the best of the old school footy players live & socialise & get to hear all of their great old stories that they are willing to tell. One thing I dont need to, definitely don't need to waste my time on here is , qualifying myself to somebody like you.

You do remember that 1973 GF don't you ... you know it like the back of your hand.

hmmmm let me let you in on a little bit of Quigs history. In 1974/75 I was in a team coached by Graeme Bowen. You remember Graeme he was the front rower in the GF. He sort of never spoke harshly of Thomas or ever raised his defensive skills.

Ive also worked with a bloke that won the amco cup player of the year. Ive also worked and had under me a bloke that Captained the Stinking Stains.

Dear old Dad on the Garbo truck had a bloke called Turner sometimes do his run, along with a lot of other Sharkies. It was the done thing in those days.

The old man never heard of any of those players speaking bad of Thomas's defense.

But alas you that knows everything about everything.

You know what... I am calling you a f**king liar.

Wanna know why I am calling you a farkenn liar.

Watch the try for your self. Off a short pass from the side of a scrum my arse.

Bozo's first try 73 GF

Now our very own Sharkies forums Ray Know It All Hadley. You farkenn know it all

watch the try and try and tell me that that is not Wellman then Fischer that Wombat takes out. Overhead of Bob Wear. So that is Tommys fault is it.

Watch the try you farkwit

Bozo's 2nd try

You sir are a know all farkwit.

One day I might let you in on a little more of Quigs's history. And there are a few in here that can vouch for it too.

Bullshyt. Your'e a whinging old labor union phaarkwit

What's the matter precious. Did some facts get in way of your lies.

Don't worry if you keep repeating them often enough then you might start believing them.

I love this one..."The first Fulton try was off an inside pass on the short side from a scrum. " I know says Comrade Reefy, I was a 10 year old and I was there.

Want to watch the scrum again Reefy Hadley... here is the link to the try again If youse watch it closely you will see the neat little inside pass off the scrum.... and the flat footed Tommy Bishop wandering around the other side of it.

Bozo's first try 73 GF

out.jpg

Quigs, its hard enough being a Shark's supporter, but FMD seeing that little germ in our jersey as your avatar makes me want to spew.

Not only does he get the thumbs up from me... he gets the thumbs up from others too.

Anyway don't distract me, I am on a roll with the precious master of all facts that are Sharks. The wisest one in the kingdom. The child prodigy. The one who as a mere child saw things that we mere mortals only imagined we saw or didn't see.

I wonder what year he was able to take the pebbles from the masters palm.

webShark

Bullshyt. Your'e a whinging old labor union phaarkwit

Stop sitting on the fence you two. Putting me off the Footy Show. Quigs you should know better. Reefy probably does believe Jeff Robson is the greatest Sharks half. He regularly finds an opinion very few share. Up to him , but some of his stuff is priceless. I used to think he was just stirring but now don't think that.

People's champ. Rates Matt Wright for instance. I never even saw Tommy but he gained a reputation Robbo never will. Sooner have DCE but Reefy may not. DCE could be the best half in the world for the next 8 years. Downside, he might allegedly miss a tackle in a GF. at least he might get us there. I think one of the reasons Parra lost to the knights was because Robbo has no X Factor. Forget Fergo and Wighton, cut Robbo and throw a lot at DCE. Doubt Broncs have enough cap space. Do we?

Harsh on Bishop reef....as much as I dislike Fulton, he was world class, I would argue Robbo would struggle againt Bozo in his prime........as would the vast majority.

At least Bishop got to a gf.

Angry I have no problem with punters posting their opinions in here even how biased they might be.

But when one gets on here time and time again a posts unsubstansiated crap he /she needs pulling up.

Gets a little bit precious sometimes.

Fulton wasn't made an original immortal for nothing. He was the difference in the 73 GF.

Oh wow the inside ball was off a play the ball & the scrum was the 2nd try. Nice you.tubing geriatric.
FTR, I was there. I was 7. Remember nothing of the day but i have seen that grand final countless times on tV.
On Fultons 2nd try Quigs, what did you think to the lead up work before hand by Manly? Did you see Tommys awesome defense?