Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Opinion Is Ricky Stuart the most overrated coach ever?

MilkShark

The try would not have been scored but for the unnatural interruption.

If play had been stopped when the flag went up as the rules say it should have been, we wouldn’t have gotten as far as Katoa placing the ball over the line.

The fact that Sharks fans don’t understand this shows that the Shire is a massive intellectual black hole.

What a bunch of twonks.

The try wouldn't have been scored if your players played to the whistle instead of standing their with their hands up waiting for the whistle.

Sharks played to the whistle, you guys didn't. Get smarter and stop blaming everyone else.

Sharks fans know it was wrong but you have a dumb coach who hasn't taught your team league basics 101, play to the damn whistle!

skeepe

The try wouldn't have been scored if your players played to the whistle instead of standing their with their hands up waiting for the whistle.

Sharks played to the whistle, you guys didn't. Get smarter and stop blaming everyone else.

Sharks fans know it was wrong but you have a dumb coach who hasn't taught your team league basics 101, play to the damn whistle!

They did play to the whistle. A touch judge’s flag is as good as a whistle. When the whistle blows, play stops. When the flag goes up, play stops.

The Sharks continued playing after an official had called the play dead, and were somehow rewarded for it.

Everyone but Sharks fans understands that it shouldn’t have been a try. Everyone but Sharks fans understands the rule.

Why are Sharks fans so unbelievably stupid?

MilkShark

They did play to the whistle. A touch judge’s flag is as good as a whistle. When the whistle blows, play stops. When the flag goes up, play stops.

The Sharks continued playing after an official had called the play dead, and were somehow rewarded for it.

Everyone but Sharks fans understands that it shouldn’t have been a try. Everyone but Sharks fans understands the rule.

Why are Sharks fans so unbelievably stupid?
What whistle? There was no whistle.

You played to your own rules.

typicalfan

That is not correct milk while I understand what you mean by play to the whistle, the touchie putting his flag up play stops whether it was correct or not. This is also footy 101. The touchie made it worse for himself by putting it back down. It would be like the ref blowing the whistle for a second and then saying oops I got it wrong and continued to let the game go on.

And the issue was only 2 games on from the Titans Roosters game with more absolute howlers. The issue isn’t the incident in isolation it’s the total lack of confidence in officials. Tigers and Raiders season could literally be decided by it.

skeepe

That is not correct milk while I understand what you mean by play to the whistle, the touchie putting his flag up play stops whether it was correct or not. This is also footy 101. The touchie made it worse for himself by putting it back down. It would be like the ref blowing the whistle for a second and then saying oops I got it wrong and continued to let the game go on.

And the issue was only 2 games on from the Titans Roosters game with more absolute howlers. The issue isn’t the incident in isolation it’s the total lack of confidence in officials. Tigers and Raiders season could literally be decided by it.

Don’t bother. Sharks fans are f**king stupid.

They still don’t see a problem with their seventh tackle try that put the Cowboys out of the finals.

They still think that getting what amounted to a three game ban for being drug cheats was extremely unfair.

They still believe that Papalii making Gallen cry with a legal hit was the biggest dog act in the history of the game.

There is not a fan base more devoid of intellect than your average Sharks fan.

MilkShark

So much rage from the Raiders fans.

You have someone new to blame every single week. I guess it easier than having a long hard look at your club isn't it?

Ah well maybe next year for you guys, or maybe just blame everyone else next year again and fail again.

MilkShark

Or it could be decided by the amount of losses they came up with throughout the entire year?

Or let's just blame last weeks game for again failing this year. Yeah that's easier.

Poor Ricky, give him a contract extension.

Sure. But by the rules, it’s the same thing as the ref accidentally blowing his whistle when nothing happened.

He didn’t mean to, but because he f**ked up, that play is dead.

The only course of action available to them is to stop play, and then if the touch judge says it was a knock on the Raiders get the ball, if not then the Sharks get the ball and a fresh set.

The only thing they can’t do is let the play continue. It doesn’t matter if the flag went up accidentally. Flag up, play is dead.

Well in my time of watching footy I’ve never seen a touch judge do that.
I doubt the ref had either.
He had to make a call on the spot and probably thought the raiders would tackle him instead of standing there holding their hands up.
They are trained to referee the game knowing they have the bunker.
He called no try.
Most of the players who were in a tackling position didn’t see the flag anyway.
Katoa definitely didn’t see it.
So you cannot say they all stopped because of the flag.
One player holding his hands could’ve tackled him or at least had a go.

Turns out it was a try.
It would have been the sharks being robbed of a fair try had the ref called knock on.

This was not the reason the raiders lost though.
This was not the reason the raiders season is done either.

Travitoh

The issue isn’t the incident in isolation it’s the total lack of confidence in officials. Tigers and Raiders season could literally be decided by it.

Canberra's season has been decided by their 70th minute fade outs and Wests by going 4-4 against sides outside of the 8, as well as failing to beat any of 5 to 8.

A couple of refereeing errors haven't helped but they're not the reason.

typicalfan

It wasn’t a try as the touchie put his flag up. This has been confirmed. It turned out to be no knock on. A 10 point swing in a 4 point game suggests decisions made had a big contribution to the outcome but the Raiders were awful first half so have to wear a lot of blame. Anyway moving on

skeepe

Well in my time of watching footy I’ve never seen a touch judge do that.
I doubt the ref had either.
He had to make a call on the spot and probably thought the raiders would tackle him instead of standing there holding their hands up.
They are trained to referee the game knowing they have the bunker.
He called no try.
Most of the players who were in a tackling position didn’t see the flag anyway.
Katoa definitely didn’t see it.
So you cannot say they all stopped because of the flag.
One player holding his hands could’ve tackled him or at least had a go.

Turns out it was a try.
It would have been the sharks being robbed of a fair try had the ref called knock on.

This was not the reason the raiders lost though.
This was not the reason the raiders season is done either.

It doesn’t matter if they’ve seen it before, they have to know what to do. There’s rules that cover all sorts of eventualities that barely ever happen.

For example, there’s a rule about what to do if the ball bursts while in play. I doubt they’ve ever seen that happen but, if it did, they have to know exactly what to do. That’s their job. They failed in their job and it cost the Raiders the game.

Honestly, the justifications from Sharks fans for why it should be a try are getting more and more farcical.

Mate
The sharks player was the only bloke who did the right thing.
The raiders and refs were all wrong.
Why should the sharks be denied the try?

Imagine the uproar had it been the raiders who scored that try and then had it disallowed because of a touch judge error .

nick87

Mate
The sharks player was the only bloke who did the right thing.
The raiders and refs were all wrong.
Why should the sharks be denied the try?

Imagine the uproar had it been the raiders who scored that try and then had it disallowed because of a touch judge error .

Because it's the rules
:D

I mean what else is there to say?

What if Nic Cotric races off down the sideline, and Josh Hodgson kicks it to him as if this was AFL, and he goes and plants the ball down... why should we be denied a try??!!
Because that's the rules of the f**king game.

The f**k is wrong with you, man?

MilkShark

Because it's the rules

There are rules broken in every single set of 6, why don't you guys start just standing there with your hands in the air and wait for the ref to blow the whistle?

Because that's dumb? That's right

That's what you did in that match.

What whistle? There was no whistle.

You played to your own rules.

Skeepe is right on this one.

According to Bill Harrigan (who I assume would be familiar with the rules), the raising of a touch judges flag is akin to a whistle being blown and it signals an immediate stoppage of play regardless of whether the touch judge's decision is correct or not so yes, the Raiders did in fact 'play to the whistle'.

Quicksilver

Skeepe is right on this one.

According to Bill Harrigan (who I assume would be familiar with the rules), the raising of a touch judges flag is akin to a whistle being blown and it signals an immediate stoppage of play regardless of whether the touch judge's decision is correct or not so yes, the Raiders did in fact 'play to the whistle'.

Where in the rules does it say this though?

Because it's the rules
:D

I mean what else is there to say?

What if Nic Cotric races off down the sideline, and Josh Hodgson kicks it to him as if this was AFL, and he goes and plants the ball down... why should we be denied a try??!!
Because that's the rules of the f**king game.

The f**k is wrong with you, man?

I agree that the touch judge f**ked up.
He was wrong

Nobody is denying that.

Calling that out as the point that lost the raiders the game is utter bullshit though.
That is pretty much what plenty of you and your wanker of a coach are doing though.

How about that dope of a winger who got put in the bin in the first10 mins of the game.
Or that other dope who hogged it when he had a winger open and in the clear right next to him.
Pretty sure that was the same dope who stood there with his arms up as Katoa ran past him.

Do we even know why he held the flag up.
It was a fair few seconds after the alleged knock on.
Maybe he thought he was about to run out.

22 -8 at half time
6 points out of the 8

Yeah blame it all on the touch judges f**k up though.