Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Opinion Is Ricky Stuart the most overrated coach ever?

Skeepe is right on this one.

According to Bill Harrigan (who I assume would be familiar with the rules), the raising of a touch judges flag is akin to a whistle being blown and it signals an immediate stoppage of play regardless of whether the touch judge's decision is correct or not so yes, the Raiders did in fact 'play to the whistle'.
Didn’t bill also say the raiders scored off a blatant forward pass?

MilkShark

Skeepe is right on this one.

According to Bill Harrigan (who I assume would be familiar with the rules), the raising of a touch judges flag is akin to a whistle being blown and it signals an immediate stoppage of play regardless of whether the touch judge's decision is correct or not so yes, the Raiders did in fact 'play to the whistle'.
Sure it's right, but play to the whistle. This is not basketball.

JJ

Raiders were dudded, no mistake - but their whole season isn't down to that, their inept collapses earlier on (the one against the Warriors was truly comical) are the real problem

Stuart is overrated, but I also reckon this current Raiders squad is hugely overrated on one good season, and some electrifying 10 min spells

A question here,
Has anyone seen a case where the touchie has raised his flag a second before a ball has been grounded, and they then take it to the bunker?
The bunker then finds it wasn't out, is it still a Try, or because the flag was up it is no Try?
I'm just asking for clarity .

Quicksilver

A question here,
Has anyone seen a case where the touchie has raised his flag a second before a ball has been grounded, and they then take it to the bunker?
The bunker then finds it wasn't out, is it still a Try, or because the flag was up it is no Try?

A good question.

MilkShark

A question here,
Pretty sure that would have happened heaps of times.

nick87

I agree that the touch judge f**ked up.
He was wrong

Nobody is denying that.

Calling that out as the point that lost the raiders the game is utter bullshit though.
That is pretty much what plenty of you and your wanker of a coach are doing though.

How about that dope of a winger who got put in the bin in the first10 mins of the game.
Or that other dope who hogged it when he had a winger open and in the clear right next to him.
Pretty sure that was the same dope who stood there with his arms up as Katoa ran past him.

Do we even know why he held the flag up.
It was a fair few seconds after the alleged knock on.
Maybe he thought he was about to run out.

22 -8 at half time
6 points out of the 8

Yeah blame it all on the touch judges f**k up though.

Actually i think the point we lost the game was when the on field official, inexplicably call a forward pass on a try, which has also been CONFIRMED as incorrect. And i think our season was lost the moment we didnt sack the shitbag coach at the end of 2017.

So yes, we we're down 22-8 at half time. Not great, but i guess that's why they play the second half isnt it? If it was a 40 minute game you might be on to something, but it's not, it's 80. We play 80 minutes, those final 40 minutes count just as much as the first 40.

In that 80 minutes we lost 28-24, in a game where neutral fans and pundits alike were aghast at the officiating, and where the head of officiating has apologised for incorrectly giving the Sharks 6 points, and incorrectly denying the Raiders 4, possibly 6.

I dont agree with people blaming it all on the touch judge... or even the referees, but you're on the other end of this f**king insane spectrum. People blaming the officials SOLEY for this loss, are as f**king geniused as you are pretending like the officials had NO BEARING on the outcome.

So stop being a f**king idiot, alright. Christ :D

I've seen a lot insane shit on LU before, but Sharks fans rallying hard against this would have to be top 5. Sort your f**king lives out.

AlwaysGreen

Cronulla still riding on Ricky's coattails.

If it wasn't for the refs stiffing us the sharks would be irrelevant as ever.

Didn’t bill also say the raiders scored off a blatant forward pass?

He did but that is an opinion and I actually haven't seen the pass so can't comment.

His comment re: the flag I assume is fact with no opinion/interpretation required.

Anyways, I'm not defending Stuart or the Raisers, whilst duded on those calls I still think the Sharks would have done enough to win and as for the season, the raiders only have themselves to blame.

Quicksilver

He did but that is an opinion and I actually haven't seen the pass so can't comment.

His comment re: the flag I assume is fact with no opinion/interpretation required.

Anyways, I'm not defending Stuart or the Raisers, whilst duded on those calls I still think the Sharks would have done enough to win and as for the season, the raiders only have themselves to blame.

I'm yet to see this rule actually identified. The current "top ref" in the game came up with a different interpretation during the game... so who to believe

GAZF

Actually i think the point we lost the game was when the on field official, inexplicably call a forward pass on a try, which has also been CONFIRMED as incorrect. And i think our season was lost the moment we didnt sack the shitbag coach at the end of 2017.

So yes, we we're down 22-8 at half time. Not great, but i guess that's why they play the second half isnt it? If it was a 40 minute game you might be on to something, but it's not, it's 80. We play 80 minutes, those final 40 minutes count just as much as the first 40.

In that 80 minutes we lost 28-24, in a game where neutral fans and pundits alike were aghast at the officiating, and where the head of officiating has apologised for incorrectly giving the Sharks 6 points, and incorrectly denying the Raiders 4, possibly 6.

I dont agree with people blaming it all on the touch judge... or even the referees, but you're on the other end of this f**king insane spectrum. People blaming the officials SOLEY for this loss, are as f**king geniused as you are pretending like the officials had NO BEARING on the outcome.

I've seen a lot insane shit on LU before, but Sharks fans rallying hard against this would have to be top 5. Sort your f**king lives out.
Its almost as if there is a lack of an ability on both sides of the argument to say that the referee f**kups/Raiders not playing to the whistle were one of a number of reasons the Raiders lost, and one of the reasons the Sharks won.

Sharks got lucky, Raiders do this to themselves several times every year, and the refs (and the culture of bagging them out) are f**ked as per usual.

Ha

Get a f**king grip

You want a wrong call from a touch judge to be deemed the correct ruling even though it was wrong.

What the f**k is the bunker for then?
Play the whistle,

nick87

Ha

Get a f**king grip

You want a wrong call from a touch judge to be deemed the correct ruling even though it was wrong.

What the f**k is the bunker for then?
Play the whistle,

The bunker is for enforcing the rules
Which it has been confirmed they did not do
f**k sake, you can’t possibly be this dense and operate a keyboard

Frailty

For the record play should stop when the touch judge puts the flag up, however play is only stopped by the referees whistle. Could it be both that the touch judge, referee, AND Canberra Players f*cked up?

Also, assuming that the TJ did not intend to raise his flag, like a referee accidentally affecting play (through accidentally blowing the whistle), a scrum would be formed with the Sharks getting the feed.

It is absolutely ridiculous to claim that this cost the Raiders the game, or their season. It was a f*ck up. Move on.