Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is rivalry round legit for your team?

beave

2007, 2008 and 2010 all out-rated 2005.

Yep, Scott Prince. You guys always whinge about him and yet Tariq has had the exact same fortunes up there.

He's not the only promising Bronco you've poached who's gone backwards up north.

I can't think of any promising broncos we've poached that have gone backwards up here???

As a Saints supporter there are clearly different levels of hate towards opposition fans. My take;

Tier 1
Cronulla - Little brother will always occupy no. 1. Still haven't won a title.
Storm - Piece of shit, cheating club stole a title off of us

Tier 2
Brisbane
Canterbury
Souffs
Eels
Rorters

Tier 3
Rest. Don't care.

Melbourne, Parra, and Brisbane are in Tier 3, Canterbury up to Tier 1,

M2D2

Dragons rivals are Cronulla, Souths & Brisbane. They also didnt steal a title off dragons.

Big Pete

Canard said:
Not to mention claiming Tariq has gone backwards is clearly a joke.

Not so much gone backwards as he's been severely affected by two severe injuries.

Much like Scott Prince.

Likes of Will Tupou, Troyden Watene, Jared Kahu, Joe Clarke (RIP) etc. come straight to mind. Made a massive play on Petero which eventually caused a divide between us but yeah, Cows still can't let go of Prince. :lol:

Not so much gone backwards as he's been severely affected by two severe injuries.

Much like Scott Prince.

Likes of Will Tupou, Troyden Watene, Jared Kahu, Joe Clarke (RIP) etc. come straight to mind. Made a massive play on Petero which eventually caused a divide between us but yeah, Cows still can't let go of Prince. :lol:
Prince leaving has really hurt three clubs. Wests replaced him with John Morris, you lot replaced him with Brett Seymour, and the Cowboys replaced him with Jonathan Thurston...........

Still, what are Broncos whinging about player trade with the Cowboys? If not for their chequebook, Carl Webb would have been a career Bronco :lol:

beave

Will Tupou played a bit of first grade with us and was given more than enough opportunity to shine. Too slow for the wing, not good enough in D to be a centre.

Troyden I am pretty sure went back to Brisbane didn't he??? Where is he now?????

Kahu I wouldn't have a clue about.

Petero was all but signed when a certain TVL Bulletin journo (who shall remain nameless) spilt the beans prematurely in the paper when he was told not to by the club which allowed Tallis and co. to get into his ear to change his mind. The journo used to travel with the team on away games, eat with them and socialize, he was shunned by the club and 'let go' by the bully by the end of that season (02 from memory) for what he did. We offered Petero big coin and the captaincy, imagine a front row with him and Paul Rauhihi????? What could have been eh?

The thing with Prince was all and sundry knew we had spent a lot of $$$ and time on the kid (brought him to tvl from Isa), he was going to be that franchise player and captain that we so desperatley needed to try and steer NQ out of the doldrums we had been in since day dot, once he had made a name for himself the game had changed and since his stock had gone up considerably and jumped shipped like a rat. Brisbane had more than enough decent players in their system and didn't really need to raid our ranks. He tried to use the excuse that he didn't know if the cowboys would be around for much longer, this didn't seem to sway the likes of Paul Bowman, sure Prince may have made some more cash with Brisbane, hell he even won a comp with the Tiges, but at the end of the day he will always be regarded as the traiterous rat by 90% of the people from his home area and will never be held in the same esteem as Paul Bowman.

IMO the day he signed with the Broncos was the day the unofficial cease fire between the 2 clubs in regards to poaching players was over and it was fair game. Sure there were some low tiered and school boy poaching by both teams but this was the first time a name player had been targeted.

And because of this ceasefire we had to put up with that fat merkin Carl Webb for 6 f**king seasons.................. Thanks for that one Pete!!!!

Long way for a weekend..............

Naah, got beaches with sand. It's not quite Coogee, but it's ok.

Not normal is going back north to that bogan mudflat city on a sunday arvo by choice.

Ronnie Dobbs

Last few years the Tigers fo sho, but we are both meh this year. Played some big games against each other and split the honors. The Moltzen thing. The prelims. The sledging.

Great stuff.

Broncos, Roosters, Storm, Dogs and obvisously the Sharks are the ones that get me going.

Funny how we have shit records against the Storm and Raiders, but have dominant records against Manly, Newcastle and the Chooks.

Fire

Great concept I guess, but I dunno how Wests v Penrith, Brisbane v NZ, NQ v Melbourne of Titans v Canberra are rivals. I reckon the scheduling can be done better. It seems that planning rivalry round starts with some bean counter thinking "What are the biggest rivalries?" and working from there. Guarantee that Saints v Cronulla, Easts v Souths and Parra v Dogs are pencilled in, and everything sorted out from there.

Trouble is the older clubs usually have a few strong rivals, where the newer clubs dont. Who are the Titans rivals if it aint Brisbane? Sometimes also rivalries are not shared between two clubs equally. I reckon Penrith's biggest rivalry is Parra, but not vice versa.

I think Rivalry Round should be organised by accommodating those clubs with a narrow rivalry list first. With that in mind, what are the biggest rivalries for your club? Correct me if I'm wrong, but this is how I see it:

BRISBANE: NQ, Titans, Dragons

CANBERRA: Penrith, Tigers

CANTERBURY: Parra, Roosters, Dragons

CRONULLA: Dragons, Manly

GOLD COAST: Brisbane

MANLY: Parra, Newcastle, Melbourne

MELBOURNE: Warriors, Dragons, Manly

NEW ZEALAND: Melbourne, Easts, Manly

NEWCASTLE: Manly, Brisbane

NORTH QUEENSLAND: Brisbane, Wests

PARRA: Canterbury, Manly, Wests

PENRITH: Parra, Easts, Canberra

SOUTHS: Tigers, Roosters, Dragons

ST G I: Cronulla, Brisbane, Easts, Canterbury

SYDNEY: Souths, Saints, Canterbury

WESTS: Souths, Parra.

So would a better Rivalry Round been:

Titans v Brisbane (Skilled Pk/Suncorp)
Cowboys v Tigers (Dairy Farmers)
Raiders v Penrith (Canberra)
Melbourne v Warriors (AAMI)
Cronulla v Saints (Endeavour/Kogarah)
Newcastle v Manly (Hunter)
Parra v Wests (Parra/Leichhardt
Souths v Easts (ANZ/SFS)

Dragons and Sharks are pretty lucky to have a genuine rivalry (as do some other clubs). But I really don't see the benefit of the NRL having a 'Rivalry Round' (except on the slight chance of promoting the game).

In my opinion it should go back to the old days. i.e., if there happens to be a grudge match promote the shit out of that game, but no need to dedicate a whole Round to 'rivalries'.

Big Pete

Will Tupou played a bit of first grade with us and was given more than enough opportunity to shine. Too slow for the wing, not good enough in D to be a centre.

Troyden I am pretty sure went back to Brisbane didn't he??? Where is he now?????

Kahu I wouldn't have a clue about.

Petero was all but signed when a certain TVL Bulletin journo (who shall remain nameless) spilt the beans prematurely in the paper when he was told not to by the club which allowed Tallis and co. to get into his ear to change his mind. The journo used to travel with the team on away games, eat with them and socialize, he was shunned by the club and 'let go' by the bully by the end of that season (02 from memory) for what he did. We offered Petero big coin and the captaincy, imagine a front row with him and Paul Rauhihi????? What could have been eh?

The thing with Prince was all and sundry knew we had spent a lot of $$$ and time on the kid (brought him to tvl from Isa), he was going to be that franchise player and captain that we so desperatley needed to try and steer NQ out of the doldrums we had been in since day dot, once he had made a name for himself the game had changed and since his stock had gone up considerably and jumped shipped like a rat. Brisbane had more than enough decent players in their system and didn't really need to raid our ranks. He tried to use the excuse that he didn't know if the cowboys would be around for much longer, this didn't seem to sway the likes of Paul Bowman, sure Prince may have made some more cash with Brisbane, hell he even won a comp with the Tiges, but at the end of the day he will always be regarded as the traiterous rat by 90% of the people from his home area and will never be held in the same esteem as Paul Bowman.

IMO the day he signed with the Broncos was the day the unofficial cease fire between the 2 clubs in regards to poaching players was over and it was fair game. Sure there were some low tiered and school boy poaching by both teams but this was the first time a name player had been targeted.

And because of this ceasefire we had to put up with that fat merkin Carl Webb for 6 f**king seasons.................. Thanks for that one Pete!!!!

Hook saw the writing on the wall and was grooming him for the forwards until he suffered back to back injuries. Cows then poached him, decided he should go back to the backs where of course he was exposed and now he no longer plays the sport.

Watene was one of the Broncos best players in that star studded NYC side. Cows poached him, he didn't do anything and now he's playing FOGs.

Kahu gave up the sport as soon as he went North.

Clarke well...let's not go there hey.

The way the Cowboys fans carry on about Scott Prince you'd swear the Broncos did every dirty trick in the book to secure Prince. Did they offer Scott a deal the Cows couldn't match? No, Scott willingly turned down more money to stay 'home' to further his own career at the Broncos. Can you blame him? I don't need to tell you how big a rabble the Cows were at the time and he's the type of talent that needs the best coaching to succeed, not one who was at odds with his playing roster and wanted to leave on plenty of occasions. The comparison to Bowman is funny. No offence to Bowman, but I reckon there would be far more interest in Scott than Paul.

Of course somehow it's the Broncos fault Jamie Feeney snapped Prince's leg and absolutely cruelled his tenure at the Broncos.

The only way Cows fans can claim moral superiority is if they didn't try poaching our own staff and players. I don't mind that they've signed our players either, rather they go to North Queensland than just about anywhere else but this whining about Prince is well and truly out of date.

And that isn't an attack on you beave. I actually enjoyed the story about Bulla but it's time to get some new material.

Besides, we can't be too scummy, we basically did all we could to give your club their crowning moment of glory.