Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is rivalry round legit for your team?

AlwaysGreen

As a Saints supporter there are clearly different levels of hate towards opposition fans. My take;

Tier 1
Cronulla - Little brother will always occupy no. 1. Still haven't won a title.
Storm - Piece of shit, cheating club stole a title off of us

Tier 2
Brisbane
Canterbury
Souffs
Eels
Rorters

Tier 3
Rest. Don't care.
We dont regard the dragons as a rival either. Just our third bye of the season.

Apart from those sun loving son of bitches the titans who I hate with a passion I'd say our biggest rivals would be Tigers.

Ziggy the God

From a Souths perspective, sure we have some rivalries with other Sydney clubs, but they don't even come close to when we play the Chooks.

That is not just my perception, and I can't see it changing anytime soon.

They are the games you always remember in detail, and I would have it no other way.

CrazyTiger

From a Souths perspective, sure we have some rivalries with other Sydney clubs, but they don't even come close to when we play the Chooks.

That is not just my perception, and I can't see it changing anytime soon.

They are the games you always remember in detail, and I would have it no other way.

Really! Easts are a pretty sh@#$t club. Souths haven't been a winning club in 40 years.
Easts bought a couple of premierships in 74 and 75, but outside of that they have been
a miserable failure. I've never understood the concept of an Souths vs Easts rivalry.

Easts have no supporters, Politis is 10 years from the grave, and they managed a
premiership in 2002 when Canterbury was stripped of their points. No one else takes
Easts seriously, so why should Souths?

Ziggy the God

Really! Easts are a pretty sh@#$t club. Souths haven't been a winning club in 40 years.
Easts bought a couple of premierships in 74 and 75, but outside of that they have been
a miserable failure. I've never understood the concept of an Souths vs Easts rivalry.

Easts have no supporters, Politis is 10 years from the grave, and they managed a
premiership in 2002 when Canterbury was stripped of their points. No one else takes
Easts seriously, so why should Souths?

To even attempt to describe why it is a waste of my time.
Go to a Souths v Easts match and see it for yourself.

bileduct

Looking at some of the suggestions that people have offered for Canberra's opponents in Rivalry Round, why not just call it Grand Final Replay round? Sure, not all teams are going to have representation, but in the current situation some of these rivalries don't exist at all.

Maybe the Rivalry Round concept should include things like teams with long winning streaks against others, like Raiders vs. Dragons, or even Raiders vs. Warriors (who haven't won at Bruce since 1997).

Hmm. I dunno, probably a shit idea too. As a Raiders fan, with the teams we are selected to play against each year I just don't feel any connection to Rivalry Round at all.

natheel

My rivalries are either off tough games or the location thing

Brisbane: Cowboys, Titans, Dragons

Canberra: Dragons, Tigers

Canterbury: Tigers, Eels, Manly, Warriors

Cronulla: Dragons, Tigers

Gold Coast: Broncos, Tigers

Melbourne: Manly, Parramatta, Brisbane

Newcastle: Manly, Parramatta, Dragons

North Queensland: Broncos, Warriors

Parramatta: Manly, Canterbury, Melbourne, Penrith

Penrith: Parramatta, Roosters

South Sydney: Roosters, Bulldogs, Tigers

St George Illawarra: Souths, Roosters, Cronulla

Easts: Dragons, Penrith, Souths

Wests: Canberra, Dragons, Cronulla

New Zealand: Canterbury, Melbourne, Broncos

Ziggy the God

Drop 1909 from your premiership count, and I'll waste my time.

Ouch. Below the belt there, not sure if I can recover from this one.

Just had a look in the record book, and it says we won that year.

Go and take your issue to the NRL, NSWRL or even Middleton. They may not know the story.

I dunno what is funnier in this thread, Crazy Tiger, not knowing the name of the club he supports, or him thinking he supports a club that died in 1999 :lol::lol:

rabbitohs95

Souths have major rivalries with:

Roosters - since 1908 grand final when we won 14-12

Tigers - since 1909 grand final when they decided to forfeit and now they bitch about it

St George - since i suppose 1967 when we won the first premiership since their 11 year record, the charity shield starting in the 80's etc

Bulldogs - since 1967 when we beat them in the grand final

Manly - since 1970 when we played them in the grand final, Bucknall broke Sattler's jaw and since 1972 started to poach our players such as John O'Neill, Ian Roberts and Mark Carroll.

The rest is eh.

Big Pete

What happened to the Brisbane Newcastle rivalry? I thought it started due to the 2 gf's of 97... Has it perished with Joey's retirement?

It's definitely soften in recent years.

It goes back further than 97, back to the days where they were admitted. Brisbane the glamour club were the antithesis of the honest strugglers from Newcastle and it had all the makings of a classic rivalry from day one.

I remember the Knights made a big deal of their first victory against the Broncos in...I want to say '94. Before then there was a beauty of a contest in '92 that was considered the game of the season and one of the best Bennett's ever seen.

It definitely softened after the retirement of Joey but could very well come alive with Bennett at the helm.

I wonder who has the most rivalries? Despite not being in the competition as long as most clubs I'd say our club could rival most.

St. George Illawarra
Gold Coast
Melbourne
North Queensland
Warriors
Newcastle
Canterbury-Bankstown
Sydney
Canberra
Manly
Parramatta

Souths have major rivalries with:

Tigers - since 1909 grand final when they decided to forfeit and now they bitch about it
I always thought that was THE great rivalry of the ages. I still remember Blocker Roach on the Footy show passionately defending Balmain's version of events in 1909

Tom Shines

Wouldn't be classifying Tigers as our rivals as OP does. But if we weren't to play Easts or Saints as we are this year then a game against Manly would work given we've hated them since the 70s. We've had a few fiery games with the Dogs lately so that too may work as a rivalry.

So in summary (in order of dislike/repulsion): Easts, Manly, St. Merge, Dogs.

You're on drugs then.

mongoose

Looking at some of the suggestions that people have offered for Canberra's opponents in Rivalry Round, why not just call it Grand Final Replay round? Sure, not all teams are going to have representation, but in the current situation some of these rivalries don't exist at all.

Maybe the Rivalry Round concept should include things like teams with long winning streaks against others, like Raiders vs. Dragons, or even Raiders vs. Warriors (who haven't won at Bruce since 1997).

Hmm. I dunno, probably a shit idea too. As a Raiders fan, with the teams we are selected to play against each year I just don't feel any connection to Rivalry Round at all.

Raiders just dont have any strong rivalries. Panthers and Tigers are teams I just couldn't care less about. I would rather watch us beat the Storm or Broncos or Dragons.

Cee 7

The only rivals South Sydney have are Roosters and Manly.

Over a decade ago Souths rivals also included Balmain, Western Suburbs and St George.

Canard

So am I reading that right? Crazy Tiger believes that the side he supports is called the WEST Tigers?

Fair enough, but what are your teams rivalries then?

To me, Dogs and Easts always get up for each other, but being a fan of neither doesnt give me a real insight into who your real rivals are?

Re Parra and Wests - they are not our greatest rivals, but they always get up for each other. Id reckon we have a decent rivalry with Saints and maybe Brisbane too, but not as much as Manly or Canterbury.

Dont just tell me I'm wrong, tell me what's right.

But you are wrong, you Support Parramatta how can that be right :D:D, and right is opposite to left :D:D

but seriously........ Manlys Main Rivalrys are Parramatta, Cronulla, Newcastle and now Canterbury, so you Have got that just about spot on

what i would like to see is a Month of rivalry Matches every Year, and have a Shield Presented to the Team who wins the Most Matches During that Period

Good Thread Loudy, it is Great to Read a Thread about Footy without all the Usual Circle Formers BS

Manly's rivalry with Wests died years ago. I never understood why they didnt have one with the Roosters or Dragons. And your rivalry with the Dogs - that's more a current thing about Des and Crusher, right?

Still, it's another reason the bring the bears back. More manly hate!

I like the rivalry comp, sounds like Canberra would have to forfeit though.