Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is There Anything Good About Melbourne?

It was an example illustrating your inability to comprehend a topic of discussion. My example wasn't intended to be a direct comparison of this subject. Bellend.

:roll:

Scotty1964

The missus is having three job interviews today in Melbourne. These jobs would be around $200K pa, considerably more than she is getting in Central Queensland for the same position.

She was born and bred in Melbourne and wants to move back there.

I don't care...I'm retired so I'll just go with the flow.

One job is in the Melbourne CDB, another in Springvale and the third in Mornington.

What's the hype about Melbourne? I've been there once in the mid 80's doing consultancy work for GMH - stayed there for 6 hours. I found it to be nothing but a Sydney clone (I lived there for 20 odd years) and I'm used to walking down the street without having to argue with some tackhead with an attitude.

I don't care about restaurants, markets, casinos or pretty shops with nice shoes. I do care about breathtaking geography, beaches and natural features, not some f**king heritage listed moss covered sandstone crypt.

Does Melbourne have anything going for it?

No smart answers like "Piss the missus off". This is an honest question....the missus talks the place up like its a f**king goddamn heaven on earth!!

Yeah the Hume Highway leading out!

mongoose

Best bits of Melbourne. ...

The relaxed cafe scene on the weekends, with all the lanes in the city, or head to St Kilda.

The absolutely amazing live music scene

The fact that you can get a great feed at any time of the day in every pub I've been to. None of this bullshit " kitchen is only open until 1:30 pm". And if you want the NRL put on the 2nd screen. ....no dramas.
Melbourne pubs make you feel welcome and comfortable

Free tram around the city centre.

Easy access from the city to major stadia.

Melb has a "vibe" that Sydney and Brissie lack.
Perth sort of has it, but beer is too expensive there.
Hobart definately has it, but Melbourne wins hands down.

Get yourself down to Tourkay pub in the off season. Best bunch of locals ive encountered in a tourist town

Perth would be the last capital city I would live in. I didn't notice any "vibe" there. It's sterile and dull and super expensive. Only good thing about Perth is its beaches. It has the best beaches of any city. But there is a reason why the AFL teams have big waiting lists to become members, there is f**k all else to do there.

I see today Melbourne ranked 4th and Sydney 5th for most liveable city

And Sydney had the highest poverty rate of all capital cities in Australia.

veggiepatch1959

Started packing a couple of days ago and off to Rowville in Melbourne's eastern suburbs.

We'll be there at the end of next week. Going from $355/week to $565/week rent is a bit staggering but we can handle it.

Not much change out of $10000 to move there from Bundaberg. FMD!!

The missus' new job better work out well because it's cost me a tick under $15000 for moving, bond and rent in advance.

Anyway, thanks fellas for the input and I'll give an update when we settle in.

veggiepatch1959

We arrived about 4 pm yesterday arvo with heaps of dramas. As well as the removalists, we had two cars, one carrying two cats and a heap of shit, plus me in a VX Commodore with three dogs towing a box trailer with more shit!!

On the way down, the Bull Mastif jumped on the centre console, destroying the electric window switch for the driver's side. Next was a tek screw in a f**king brand new tyre!!

The dudes at Coonabarabran were awesome!! $20 for the electric window and $27 for the tyre.

Dan Murphy's at Rowville sucks big time. Next to the Stamford Pub. As well as taking a week to get in and out, no Tooheys New!! But the merkins sell Tooheys Old....work that one out.

Thanks for the input fellas!! :thumb

veggiepatch1959

I see today Melbourne ranked 4th and Sydney 5th for most liveable city

And Sydney had the highest poverty rate of all capital cities in Australia.

I just moved from Bundaberg to Melbourne, in case you didn't notice. :p

Bundaberg has the highest obesity rates in the country and one of the highest rates of unemployment.

Rum City.....f**k off!! Dumb City more like it.

We arrived about 4 pm yesterday arvo with heaps of dramas. As well as the removalists, we had two cars, one carrying two cats and a heap of shit, plus me in a VX Commodore with three dogs towing a box trailer with more shit!!

On the way down, the Bull Mastif jumped on the centre console, destroying the electric window switch for the driver's side. Next was a tek screw in a f**king brand new tyre!!

The dudes at Coonabarabran were awesome!! $20 for the electric window and $27 for the tyre.

Dan Murphy's at Rowville sucks big time. Next to the Stamford Pub. As well as taking a week to get in and out, no Tooheys New!! But the merkins sell Tooheys Old....work that one out.

Thanks for the input fellas!! :thumb

Tooheys new ?...in Melbourne ?...no chance mate.

veggiepatch1959

Tooheys new ?...in Melbourne ?...no chance mate.

I find that quite strange since every bottle shop, pub and club I've ever been to in Queensland sells it. From Rockhampton to the Gold Coast and out to Emerald...no worries.

When I was down in Victoria on holidays in April, I found that NSW pubs and clubs close to the border didn't sell Tooheys New either.

I wonder how much for a pallet of stubbies delivered to my door?

Meanwhile, I've been in Victoria for over 30 hours and have yet to see the sun. :lol: Is this par for the course?

Rowville

You will soon hate Springvale Road and Canterbury Road.

beave

Cartlon Draught is probably in the same ballpark as Tooheys New from memory, you can get that everywhere in Melbourne.

veggiepatch1959

Cartlon Draught is probably in the same ballpark as Tooheys New from memory, you can get that everywhere in Melbourne.

That's now my beer of choice with a lack of New. I had that at Moama Sports Club and Echuca when I was down this way in April. Tastes OK for a mass produced beer. Better than VB by the length of the Flemington straight and is on par with XXXX Mold and Heavy.

Madunit....the roads that give me grief are Stud, Wellington and Springvale Roads. I haven't been along the two you mentioned....yet.

Took the missus to her new work in Main Street, Mornington this morning and when we came out, some merkin had sideswiped my car, smashing the driver's rear light, denting the rear panel and both driver's side doors. Luckily he left his details along with a female witness' particulars.

Welcome to f**king Victoria!!!