Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Its about time Brian Smith made a pact with the supporters

Suit,

No I am not Nostradamus, I am just helping everyone put it all together.

Bottom Line. . . If Witt Defends like Wagon and keeps that attack, Wagon Moves to Centre (where he was in 1999 or so I think) Witt into the Halves, eels stop Leaking points and Score Truckloads.

But Smithy won't let it happen till it is not a liability because coach Smith like the rest of us would rather see us scrape out a 2 point win (High Scoring Nail biter) then being on the end of a shellacking.

Kornstar

I don't think anyone needs to Smith bash, i think his decisions every week and inability to coach us to a premiership speak for itself.......

I actually think BS can be a good coach at times and he obviously has talent as a coach i just think he lacks something, hence why he has never won a premiership.......i don't know if that something is arrogance and stubborness or if he just has too mmany favourites? But i know i am sick of seeing the same thing over and over again!!!! McFadden anyone???? How long did we persist with that useless guy for??????

I know you will tear me to shreds for my comments but i not Smith bashing i am really just curious what it is about him that has made it impossible for him to get to the next level.........a premiership......

MarkInTheStands said:
Suit,

Bottom Line. . . If Witt Defends like Wagon and keeps that attack, Wagon Moves to Centre (where he was in 1999 or so I think) Witt into the Halves, eels stop Leaking points and Score Truckloads.

But Smithy won't let it happen till it is not a liability because coach Smith like the rest of us would rather see us scrape out a 2 point win (High Scoring Nail biter) then being on the end of a shellacking.

This makes zero sense. Schifcofske was a better defender than Hodgson yet he chose Hodgson probably because he was more attacking.

We never leeked points like this last year when Witt was at 7 either.

Freak said:
Isn't it funny how these threads never appear after a win!!

Spot on!

Let's go point form, in regards to a post I made earlier in the week

*Big hoopla after last weekends loss

*Hoopla based around the cry that "We are not Premiership contenders!"

*Premiership Contention is based on playing good and not gaining two points each week (eg, beating lowly teams by 1 point with 30 seconds left does not make you a premiership threat, even though you came home with 2 points)

*If the hoopla is over not being Premiership material, why has the cry only arisen after losses? We played just as crap in the 4 games we have won this year, which have all luckily been against teams that played worse than us on the day. Yet no outcry because of this? Funnily enough, the same poster who cried that we are not Premiership material after last weekends loss was the person who stated that they didn't care how we played against Manly or Souths (can't remember which one off the top of ym head) as long as we brought home the two points! Go bloody figure!

*Conclusion: People just whinge after we lose, without actually understanding how a season works. They just give the old rinse and repeat, knee-jerk reaction. Predictable and laughable at best.

*Advice: Tie a string to your dummies and place it around your necks. It makes it easier to pick up afterwards.

parralight

Hmmm. Freak I was just posting a discussion topic.. sorry to spoil your day :roll:

Yes you guys are right .... magically posts like this appear after a loss. Hmmm let me sit down and think about this for a nanosecond...

' would we be trying to disect whats going wrong at the club when nothing was going wrong ? '

You know you dont have to be a neurosurgeon to figure that when a problem arises it is usually discussed and debated and when that problem doesnt arise - well its not a subject of debate. Thats it - pure and simple.

This and only this is reason why we discuss what is going wrong after a loss (when something is going wrong...)

But to all you so called 'defenders of Brian' ( and I think he is capable enough to defend himself) ... we the so called 'bandwagoners' are looking at Brians performance over the time he has been at Parramatta - not last week nor this year.

Look think of it this way -(and this is the way the post was originally written) If Telstra was suffering problems and hadnt been performing for a few years and you were a stakeholder - and the boss in this company had everything at his disposal to turn a great profit but wasnt , wouldnt you demand that those in charge at least look at the way the boss is running the company ?? or would you just say - nah hes a good bloke .. let him be.

I personally think that Brian is a very capable coach but he like everyone who works for a living he is responsible for the product that he delivers.

MarkInTheStands said:
Suit,

But mate, I doubt very much that is the issue because:

* Witt had strong defence last year

* Our defence is made to look more ordinary than it is because we make errors and give away DUMB penalties

* Theoretically anyway, if wes core, we get the ball back. Score again. Get it back. And so forth. So in theory at least, as long as our attack is on fire, our defence need not be more than average.

Besides, having two locks, a hooker/ 5/8 and a roving halfback (only two of these can actually set-up tries) is murdering us. There is no proof, but I am quietly confident that had we had a third attacking option (Thorman, Witt, Webster - anyone with skill) we just may have beaten the Sharks and Raiders.

Whinging will do diddily squat though. You are not the coach. I am not the coach. Brian Smith is the coach, and it's up to him.

El Duque said:
MarkInTheStands said:
Suit,

This makes zero sense. Schifcofske was a better defender than Hodgson yet he chose Hodgson probably because he was more attacking.

Never leaked points when Witt was in the 7, eh?

Sorry, but:

* Round 8 - Eels 12 Roosters 44

* Round 13 - Raiders 50 Eels 14

* Round 16 - Knights 30 Eels 16

* Round 23 - Storm 50 Eels 12

* Round 26 - Panthers 40 Eels 22

Eelementary said:
El Duque said:
MarkInTheStands said:
Suit,

Never leaked points when Witt was in the 7, eh?

Sorry, but:

* Round 8 - Eels 12 Roosters 44

* Round 13 - Raiders 50 Eels 14

* Round 16 - Knights 30 Eels 16

* Round 23 - Storm 50 Eels 12

* Round 26 - Panthers 40 Eels 22

Never leeked points "like" we do now.

average points against when Witt was at 7 last year = 24

average points against when Witt wasn't at 7 this year = 27

Not much of a difference there but kinda shows having him there was not something that made our defence any worse than it is now.

cirque

PP - I agree . I still remember the night - GF 2001 which I will never forget. Me and my friend we sat down to watch the match, by the way I am not Australian and in my native country nobody plays rugby. So it is like converts. Converts are strong in their support because we chose that team to support because of history and place we leave. When we saw Newcastle attacking and we are dropping ball me and my friends knew we will are going for a long night. The difference between him and me is that he was hopping EELS will bounce back and for me I was preparing myself for biggest tragedy- yes biggest tragedy. WE lost - my friend was in tears and first time I saw a person like him in tears. I felt bad but I did not let my emotion shown up in my face. Then I realised how much EELS has made inroad in our life.
After that it is a domino effect- players left randomly and EELS went bad to worst.
And as for us my friends is the most disinterested footy fan. Inspite of having FOXTEL he does not watch footy, why ? becuase he cannot see his team going down, giving penalties after penalties. He wants to keep his memory of 2001 intact . I haven’t seen any one playing like that as we played in 2001.
As for me I still watch EELS playing but I now I am more pessimistic about EELS. My heart say EELS will go all the way through but my brain says it is a lost cause. If PP’s word is true then I think we should sack the coach.
That is what I have to say.... I

parra pete

Suitman said:
parra pete said:
Suity are you Steve Norton the Ex Manly lock forward?????

No, I'm Paul Norton....his brother.

How did you guess that???

Easy, Steve Norton's nickname was Knocker.. Must run in the family!!!!
Onya Murray.

JKS

No need to complain about Brian. Just do what I've done ... get out your copy of NRL for PlayStation and take charge of recruitment, tactics, player positions and the weekly line up.
It may not be the real thing ... but at least you have control and interestingly when you lose, you only have yourself to blame.

parra pete

cirque said:
PP - I agree . I still remember the night - GF 2001 which I will never forget. Me and my friend we sat down to watch the match, by the way I am not Australian and in my native country nobody plays rugby. So it is like converts. Converts are strong in their support because we chose that team to support because of history and place we leave. When we saw Newcastle attacking and we are dropping ball me and my friends knew we will are going for a long night. The difference between him and me is that he was hopping EELS will bounce back and for me I was preparing myself for biggest tragedy- yes biggest tragedy. WE lost - my friend was in tears and first time I saw a person like him in tears. I felt bad but I did not let my emotion shown up in my face. Then I realised how much EELS has made inroad in our life.
After that it is a domino effect- players left randomly and EELS went bad to worst.
And as for us my friends is the most disinterested footy fan. Inspite of having FOXTEL he does not watch footy, why ? becuase he cannot see his team going down, giving penalties after penalties. He wants to keep his memory of 2001 intact . I haven’t seen any one playing like that as we played in 2001.
As for me I still watch EELS playing but I now I am more pessimistic about EELS. My heart say EELS will go all the way through but my brain says it is a lost cause. If PP’s word is true then I think we should sack the coach.
That is what I have to say.... I

Is your friend Steve Witt? He apparantly cries too. (just kidding)
First thing you have to remember is that it is ONLY a game. Billions of people all over the world have never even heard of Parramatta Eels.
In Australia we do not Blame people when other teams are TOO GOOD. On that night in 2001, Newcastle played a PERFECT half of Football.. Rated by many as the best ever in a Grand Final. As long as people give 100% effort, that is all you can ask. Success does not necesarily mean winning the Grand Final. Success to me is being PROUD to be able to SUPPORT a Club when you know those in charge are endeavoring to make the players involved BETTER citizens for our society.
In Brian Smith, the Eels have a man who has created as great climate in the Club, developed young players, recycled some oldies, but in the Long Run has made them BETTER people for Australia. That my friend is what Sport is all about.

Thats what it all boils down to - people's definition of successful.

The Smith Bashers will settle for nothing short of a GF victory - and don't any of you say that is not true because that is the one constant in ALL your arguing.

The Smith Lovers would love a GF victory, but don't see anything "but that" as failure....since brian came to Parra we have been semi-finalists all but 1 of 7 seasons - only once have we lost 1st week of the semis...we had 1 minor premiership, were runners-up once and been in the 2nd last game of the season 3 times.....so 4 times out of 7 we have been playing in the last or 2nd last week of the season.....in my books that is a very successful 7 year period - probably only the Broncos could boast a better record of that period.

We are all disappinted that things have been less glamourus since 2001 - but thats life....2001 was our peak and now we are working at trying to peak again....I think there have been many reasons why we have had less success since 2001 - injuries being a big factor - look at Penrith, decimated by injuries for 2 seasons prior to a GF win then got lucky injury-wise 1 season and it all came together - i think we had a similar lucky injury year in 2001.

And for those who claim Brian did a poor speach prior to the 2001 GF.....I don't know if that speach really happened, but if it did, then who says that is why we lost???.....are you going to tell me no premiership winning coach in the history of rugby league has won with anything other than a "stick it up em" speach? - I can't imagine Jack Gibson would have been the revved up speach type and he had success.....maybe the speach failed??? - but i suppose you "hindsight geniuses" will use that as another dagger in the back anyway.

strider said:
The Smith Lovers would love a GF victory, but don't see anything "but that" as failure....since brian came to Parra we have been semi-finalists all but 1 of 7 seasons - only once have we lost 1st week of the semis...we had 1 minor premiership, were runners-up once and been in the 2nd last game of the season 3 times.....so 4 times out of 7 we have been playing in the last or 2nd last week of the season.....in my books that is a very successful 7 year period - probably only the Broncos could boast a better record of that period.

So you think in the last 7 years we have a better record than Melbourne, Newcastle, Sydney and Penrith despite them winning a premiership?

I thought that was the object of the game :?

fish eel

i would say we've certainly got a better record than penrith and possibly melbourne over the last seven years

Did you even read the bit I wrote about me not believing "anything but a GF" is failure?...was I too confusing?

I believe (and I will use point form - its a growing trend):
- success = getting to the finals and improving players
- a GF win = playing better than your opponent on the given day in the finals

Maybe my expectations are low??? - but thats just how I see it.

parra pete

I have followed and supported Parramatta since 1958. Our first premiership didn't come until 1981, so I certainly have patience. I can remember all of the wins in the 59, 60, 61 era like they were yesterday. I can recall the excitement of being at the SCG in 1962 and seeing Gil Macdougall (Adam's father) score the tries that elimnated Parra (no Eels in those days) from the semi. Patience...is what it is all about. Take the good with the bad. It evens out in the long run...

logic is not their strongpoint, strider.

like i have said b4, all they are after is self-gratification. THEY want a GF, and it just so happens that the only way they can ever get their hands on one is if someone else does the hard yards and wins it for them. Being the lazy bludgers that they are, its only a small step to go on and criticise people for doing something they can't be bothered doing themselves.