Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

It's going to be a looooooooooong year!

legend

Exactly! I'm not as furtrated as I used to be under Elliott. I am more concerned with the lack of basic skills which has led to my decline in expectations, hence I am not furious, upset or whatever other adjective you'd like to insert.

In years gone by I got angry because I knew the team was capable of so much more. This year, we are bottom of the class compared to other sides.

dubby

edabomb said:
What gives you the right to tell people how they should support their team??

Not all of us are blind optimists.

He's not telling you (or others) to do anything. The general mood is what amazes him. Certain people are just realising reality IMHO. It will take time for the team to click and results will come.

Not all of us are blind pessimists either...;-)

legend said:
In years gone by I got angry because I knew the team was capable of so much more. This year, we are bottom of the class compared to other sides.

Elliott has won :(
Im more annoyed over this result then anything elliott dished up, because this is a side capible of much more and so is the coach... elliott was unable to caoch a side to much better, henry can

legend

Regardless of who the coach was, we had more high calibre players under Elliott and the ones we do have now are all injured.

FullySick

Cripes, before i read most of these posts i wasnt actually too disapointed about that loss.
I think we showed some excellent signs, and i think Dobbo and Carney will develop really well.

A couple of close calls with the video ref that didnt fall our way, ( only a fingernail difference in at least 2 of them), and some positional play that can easily be sorted with a couple more games.

Although some last play options didnt come off, at least the young halves were prepared to try a few things (unlike last years 'no idea' options).

On a downside though, agree that Best and Withers had shockers.

And whats the go with Weyman?! Seems like everytime he has a stretch he ruptures a tendon. Is this guy cursed or something?

legend

What I don't understand is why, in sh*tty conditions, we continued to kick the ball along the ground when a bomb would have had a far greater affect and the likelihood of getting the ball back would have increased tenfold.

Raider Azz

it wasn't going to be long before the same broken records started with the same broken arguments, new coach or not.

Evergreen

legend said:
This year, we are bottom of the class compared to other sides.

And you come to this conclusion from, what, one game??? FFS.

Get your head out of the Sydney newspapers and open your eyes. Confidence will play a big part in our fortunes this year, and the first win we have will be a major turning point IMO.

FullySick

...and besides, if your looking for disapointment, how about the bloke that sat next to me on Saturday night at the tradies club and 5 mins after kickoff, said ...." G'day mate, pity the Raiders lost this game hey? Manly thumped 'em but i still dont think Manly will win the comp, what do you think?"

I said "What??"

He said "Yeah yeah, i just heard it on the radio, Raiders get belted in this game..."

Merkin.

legend said:
What I don't understand is why, in sh*tty conditions, we continued to kick the ball along the ground when a bomb would have had a far greater affect and the likelihood of getting the ball back would have increased tenfold.

it was pretty bloody obvious that what was being attempting is to get repeated sets and sustain pressure on the manly goal line. Except carney and dobbo didnt handle the greasy conditions well enough with the boot and when we did have a chance to put pressure on manly, we split the ball cheaply.

Henry knows this, carney and dobson know this, the team knows this. The team and coach also know they are capible of much better handling and execution. They will go back this week and work hard on these aspects aswell as i comminication and positioning at the back and we'll be a far better team for melbourne

or else greg inglis will put 50 on us, on his lonesome

PRKLCD

edabomb said:
What gives you the right to tell people how they should support their team??

Not all of us are blind optimists.

Think you need to read my post before hitting the quote button and take a nice deep breath

sydraider

I think henry should really be putting them through defensive drills this week, we are going to need it.

Also a crash course in ball control.

Overall, I wasnt too worried with the loss.

Persistance is the key, especially with the halves, Dobbo and Carney need some time, it will be worth it in the end.

Will be a lot easier for them with the likes of TLL and Thurling out there making the yards and creating some second phase.

The first 5 minutes of the second half looked promising until manly ran out of money for their electricity bill due to lyon's contract.

I dont think manly were that great, they just exposed weaknesses that were blatantly obvious and capitalised.

I thought the grubber tactic was a good one, just wasnt executed to effect, last season we kept on throwing up useless bombs, it was good to see a new tact for a change.

whatwhat

Good point Sydraider, we had all the momentum in the first few minutes than the lights went out and we lost it. Im not saying that is the reason we lost but its a joke that a First grade Rugby League field wouldnt have adequete lights and if they did blow there should have been a back up.

Im suprised more hasnt been made of this..

sydraider

Another point, albeit ineffectual, was carney's try.

How that merkin of a video ref can allow robertsons try and not Carney's which imo both had the same grounding is beyond me.

Could have been 14-6 at half time and 14-12 5 mins into the second, might have been just the spur they needed, yet it wasnt to be.

sydraider

whatwhat said:
Good point Sydraider, we had all the momentum in the first few minutes than the lights went out and we lost it. Im not saying that is the reason we lost but its a joke that a First grade Rugby League field wouldnt have adequete lights and if they did blow there should have been a back up.

Im suprised more hasnt been made of this..

I have always stated that Brookvale is an archaic sh*thole, it was proved to be a correct assumption on saturday night.

legend

There's one thing I find difficult to fathom with Raiders fans and that is it is frowned upon to criticise the team.

Seems like we have a bunch of yes men at times who blindly follow the team and are too frightened to call a spade a spade.

As I said earlier, it will be a long year but I'm not worried by the loss at all. They have a lot of improvement in them and the enthusiasm levels should still be high but if we get belted by the Storm, then the confidence of the younger players will be rattled.

I am more disappointed with the performance of some of the senior players like Best and Withers. Withers has been a constant disappointment since returning from Saints and Best, for all his years of experience, is uesless.

edabomb

PRKLCD said:
Boys serioulsy,

All the people calling for mass sackings, bringing back super coach and not holding much hope for us this season can serioulsy p!ss off for the whole season - you can't be a real fan. I mean were we meant to go through the whole season with out dropping a game? f**k, the way some people are carrying on you would have thought we lost 12 in a row or something.

Now I went up for the game I can tell you it's not a bad as some people on here are saying - but sure it wasn't good.

I thought we did well in the first half, made a few busts and all of Manly try's came of kicks ( we we need to work on ) The most disapointing thing is that we clocked off towards the end and manly really put us away.

Is really disapointing that I get home from Sydney this morning to get on here to find out people just bagging the team after round one. I think it's sad...... you guys must have something better to do surly.

I believe that would refer to me. I don't hold much hope for the season, so therefore you're telling me to piss off as I am not a real fan.

legend said:
There's one thing I find difficult to fathom with Raiders fans and that is it is frowned upon to criticise the team.

Seems like we have a bunch of yes men at times who blindly follow the team and are too frightened to call a spade a spade.

As I said earlier, it will be a long year but I'm not worried by the loss at all. They have a lot of improvement in them and the enthusiasm levels should still be high but if we get belted by the Storm, then the confidence of the younger players will be rattled.

I am more disappointed with the performance of some of the senior players like Best and Withers. Withers has been a constant disappointment since returning from Saints and Best, for all his years of experience, is uesless.
Feel for you super man.
You now know what it is like to be an objective sharks fan.

You're not a true fan etc etc
Have faith...when you know you are not a contender.

On the bright side, you guys will beat the rorters.