Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ivan Cleary One Step Away from the Dragons!!

Just to clarify here mate, the 'scoop' has absolutely nothing to do with Cleary, Hasler or McGregor. It's a sad tale really and all will be revealed this weekend at some point.

Jubileeboy..

Yes I understand that "scoop" is not related to those coaches .. But another and it is sad if what I heard was right.

The Hasler comment, that was more to do with the query re Cleary to replace him.

Red V for life

Jubileeboy..

Yes I understand that "scoop" is not related to those coaches .. But another and it is sad if what I heard was right.

The Hasler comment, that was more to do with the query re Cleary to replace him.
Well, there has now been a statement from Bennett about a marriage breakdown, but the statement was very vague around his coaching future.

In any event, it can't be an easy time and when this stuff happens and you're a public figure it must make it all the more difficult. I just hope the "story" is treated appropriately.

Sigurd

I hate to be the bearer of bad news and I hope I'm wrong but it seems to me McGregor is staying. Changes being announced both on and off the field. If they were going to get rid of McGregor they would surely be holding off on such changes. Just stringing it out, hoping everyone will forget about it until training for the new season has already started.

18to87

I hate to be the bearer of bad news and I hope I'm wrong but it seems to me McGregor is staying. Changes being announced both on and off the field. If they were going to get rid of McGregor they would surely be holding off on such changes. Just stringing it out, hoping everyone will forget about it until training for the new season has already started.
There is a lot going around. Clearly, Saints are interested in Cleary. Apparently, the review is still ongoing as well by some Rugby Union guy.

FlameThrower

For what it's worth, James Hooper mentioned Bulldogs have already conducted end of season review and that changes will be made to the support staff to Hasler. He mentioned some stories about Hasler being replaced were way off the mark.
Btw this was on Triple M today...

Hooper wouldn't know sh1t from clay. By far the worst sports 'reporter' going round.

Straight Shooter

Some of the absolute garbage that comes from the Fux/Talagraph Rugby League journo's is just that O.B. first rate shat .

If these blokes were in the manure business , they would make a killing !

Get2dachopper!

So at this stage it's obvious that there is no competition in signing Cleary or even Toovey who seems to be forgotten, and yet for some reason we just can't seem to get the deal over the line!

rasaint

Hi All , all this talk about coaching.

I have previously stated that great players make great coaches. The influence of a coach is an important element but far overreached by many on the forum.

Time and again plain stats point to the basic need to have a great roster of talent. If a club has not not the $$$ in 3rd party deals to recruit then you are cactus.

This isn't meant to be a long winded blah blah. Have a look at Ricky Stuart at the raiders. They have had a great year. There run started with the mid season add of Leulua and Paulo. They can fit these guys into the cap. Overall right back over the years Ricky has about Paul McGregor's win ratio. Does that mean that Ricky is really mediocre or good. I reckon he is no better or worse than most coaches. Even Bennent and Gibson had their stats nose dive when they were at clubs without the $$$ to buy top players. Craig Bellamy has stayed long term at one club City.

Basically saying within a small window coaches are not as important as promoted. Dragons need the $$$ in 3rd party agreements to get back on top regardless of the coach.

FlameThrower

So at this stage it's obvious that there is no competition in signing Cleary or even Toovey who seems to be forgotten, and yet for some reason we just can't seem to get the deal over the line!
Really frustrating that our Club is the slowest to act on anything. Not the first time we've been able to stuff up a signing at 11th hour.

Sigurd

There is a lot going around. Clearly, Saints are interested in Cleary. Apparently, the review is still ongoing as well by some Rugby Union guy.
No doubt. Remember a few years ago when everyone wanted to Price out? Doust conducted a review, leaked the news Price was staying, denied the leak and then a few days later confirmed Price was staying. These are the little games he likes to play. Now we are negotiating with Cleary but shortly the negotiations are going to break down and it will be almost time for pre-season training so McGregor will have to stay.

I hope I'm wrong but I doubt it.

Jubileeboy

Look up the term' strike rate' and get back to me.

Straight Shooter
Oh, I'm sorry. That's not what you said in your original claim but thanks again for allowing me the opportunity to get back to you.
However, I'm not a fan of Hooper or his employers but it would be factual to say that Hooper knows quite a lot more than you about NRL....and probably even Law?

Oh, I'm sorry. That's not what you said in your original claim but thanks again for allowing me the opportunity to get back to you.
However, I'm not a fan of Hooper or his employers but it would be factual to say that Hooper knows quite a lot more than you about NRL....and probably even Law?

A pathetic strike rate is a function of knowing sh1t from clay.

He ain't no sports journalist, except in title. I'm right and you're a petty, vindictive and stubborn fool.

Straight Shooter

Jubileeboy

A pathetic strike rate is a function of knowing sh1t from clay.

He ain't no sports journalist, except in title. I'm right and you're a petty, vindictive and stubborn fool.

Straight Shooter

Well then, based on that little tanty, I'd say you also have a pathetic strike rate. You ain't no lawyer either but we still let you mingle with the humans.
You make the nasty claims and I'm the vindictive one? You're a dickhead... :joy: