Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

James Graham

Graham, was busted when he came to the Dragons.... The fools that are in control of our club... Have a lot to answer for...
Who at the club signed him up? Is the same guy who signed Hunt as a halfback and Norman as the replacement for Widdop?

Forbes Creek Dragons

Agree Forbes and give Kerr longer minutes as well
Kerr was the only Dragons player to make Freddys team of the week last week. He’s really only just began his career as a starting prop and already making teams of the week and wouldn’t be shocked to see him play maroons in the near future. I reckon Blacker at least deserves a small taste and the Titans would be perfect.

SGMax

Maybe I am naive, but I think Graham wants to play on and Dragons have told him they won't renew his contract.

He wants to keep earning money while he can and he knows its 5 times what he will get doing any other job..Super league gives him the chance to play on at least until 2021.

Dragons are being nice in letting him take this opportunity.....just like Luke, Thomson, Leilua,....

Forbes Creek Dragons

Who at the club signed him up? Is the same guy who signed Hunt as a halfback and Norman as the replacement for Widdop?
When Hunt signed with us he’d just guided Brisbane to a gf and played pretty well in it despite the drop. He was probably the best 7 on the market when we signed him and was miles ahead of McCrone. His very first game for us he and Widdop absolutely carved up. His season was actually pretty damn good and looked a good signing. He hasn’t progressed unfortunately but that’s not exactly Milwards fault. Just thought I’d add some balance.

Dont agree with everything you write OT but can't see anything wrong there. Character assassination is interesting ( when it was against the club not the player ) when we are talking about a guy who is a known biter ! Oh and you forgot to mention that the 600k he is getting this year is because of a option clause in the contract in his favour ! Great work by the club again on a a signing of a player clearly on the down curve of his career.
Great work by who at the Club?

Dragsters

Just a couple more thoughts on this:

- a new coach has been signed or close to being signed and has already indicated that Graham won't be a part of his new squad. Letting him go now would give him a chance to be ready for the SL kick off.

- a new coach could only be 1 of 3 candidates (imo).

- we may not have seen the last of jammer, in a playing capacity yes, but in another role maybe?

- the 'departure' of seemingly one of McGregors allies adds further evidence to the fact that his days are numbered.

These are just my thoughts.

I hope one of your 3 coaches is Shaun Wane...

SBD82

You are totally delusional on this one.

1. If there were no alternate offers as per the conditions of the deal brokered by the Dogs then of course we were the only home for him. If I am incorrect then by all means tell me who we beat for his services under the conditions we signed him for?
  2. He is not the 1st nor the last player to say that the St GI fans want / expect too much and recently said we should all get behind the coach and inferred Mary was good coach as well as a good bloke now he might be a good bloke but James is talking bullshit calling him a good coach.
  3. Within 2 weeks of the BOD meeting that "endorsed Mary" and then the revelations that Mary no longer has sole selection of the side and the fact that Graham's role in the team changed to a 1 stint 20-30 minute player since that point in time he has toady said he wants to go back to ESL to be effective asap.
  4. To want to leave asap would indicate to me he no longer wants to play for our club otherwise why would he be asking for the release?
None of this assassinating his character it is merely pointing out what is happening here.
Delusional? f**k off.

Back up your claims.

redv13

You are totally delusional on this one.

1. If there were no alternate offers as per the conditions of the deal brokered by the Dogs then of course we were the only home for him. If I am incorrect then by all means tell me who we beat for his services under the conditions we signed him for?
  2. He is not the 1st nor the last player to say that the St GI fans want / expect too much and recently said we should all get behind the coach and inferred Mary was good coach as well as a good bloke now he might be a good bloke but James is talking bullshit calling him a good coach.
  3. Within 2 weeks of the BOD meeting that "endorsed Mary" and then the revelations that Mary no longer has sole selection of the side and the fact that Graham's role in the team changed to a 1 stint 20-30 minute player since that point in time he has toady said he wants to go back to ESL to be effective asap.
  4. To want to leave asap would indicate to me he no longer wants to play for our club otherwise why would he be asking for the release?
None of this assassinating his character it is merely pointing out what is happening here.
I thought Newcastle we’re having a crack for Jimmy too, not just us

True_Believer

"We made ourselves look like sluts on the deal" in other words we got f**ked over on the deal and allowed it to happen with ease and the player now wants out of a contract he signed. We have allowed ourselves to be f**ked over several times on this subject.

How have we been f**ked over? Because he wants out of a contract? As I understand it, this year was an optional year - so I don't see a problem here. The option is for him to move on and he's doing that. That's great news for both him and the club.

"Bring him here when he had no home to go to" no other club considered signing him or that he was worth signing for the deal offered when he was pushed out at the Dogs.

Total assumption. Just because we won the contract doesn't mean other clubs weren't enquiring about his services. As someone else said, they thought Newcastle was interested too. Noone will know for sure - surely you have to agree this is a huge assumption.

"pay big $$$ for his 35 year olde legs at the back end of his contract" so if he is getting the reported $650k / season for what he is providing and he has 35 year old legs that can't withstand the speed and pressure of the game then that is hardly assassinating him it is just a statement of fact.

Well you can look at it 2 ways, you can look at this as we were paying for experience and leadership - which I believe he supplied. We again don't know how much he is getting for sure, but you are probably right in that it wouldn't be worth $650k.

"make him look like he was always a "Dragon, made him the front of house in the media" as was the case with Benji before him we let a Johnny come lately with no obvious heritage to our club and in fact a player better remembered for being in another jumper when playing at their best instantly become the face of our club within the media. There is nothing on highlight reals on youtube that will reflect that either Graham or Marshall were great Dragon men but the club kept trotting them out in an effort to garner support for the club despite the shit that was going on. They were puppets for the club.

Again, another assumption. I don't know that Graham was specifically chosen by the club. Maybe the media single him out because they know it'll be good television. Jeez after the dogs they got exactly that - with Graham almost in tears. I'd rather watch Graham speak to the camera than Frizell or Dufty or one of the other players. Cam or Taz are probably the only other players I think would provide what the media is looking for - but I guess they can't either because they done have any "heritage" with the club (even though Cam is the captain). I think this is a completely irrelevant statement.

"kept picking him despite a decided lack of previous ability" he has provided SFA on a continuing basis and has not performed anywhere near his best footy from his time at the Dogs and he kept getting picked and yet he was being dominated providing little on the field.

Purely on Mary. Nothing to do with Graham.

"let him point the finger at the fans" he has been doing that for sometime now and telling us most recently to get behind the coach yet despite that plea from him he is now wanting out.

Assumption again - why couldn't he be looking to move on because he realises the game is too fast for him and he's "falling on his sword" to allow the team to make appropriate changes? That doesn't mean that he still doesn't support the coach.

"and as soon as Mc Humtydumpty has some real pressure applied to him "see you later fellas I'm out of here". Well am I mistaken that now that he is not being picked on a constant basis and that people other than Mc Humptydumpty are involved in selection he hung around for less than 2 weeks.

See previous statement. Assumption. You don't know what is being said behind closed doors or why Graham has made this decision. For all we know, the club has tapped him on the shoulder and said "sorry mate, you aren't cutting it - we need to bring someone else in".

Surely you can see why SBD is suggesting its character assasination. It's all negative connotations towards Graham, without a shred of evidence to justify it. Not sure why you are asking him to supply evidence when it's you making these claims.

Dragonsamy

Kerr was the only Dragons player to make Freddys team of the week last week. He’s really only just began his career as a starting prop and already making teams of the week and wouldn’t be shocked to see him play maroons in the near future. I reckon Blacker at least deserves a small taste and the Titans would be perfect.

Agree but he is not in the squad at the moment. I'd love him to have 10 or 15 minutes 4 at least half a dozen games this year.
But look like k Sims instead

True_Believer

When Hunt signed with us he’d just guided Brisbane to a gf and played pretty well in it despite the drop. He was probably the best 7 on the market when we signed him and was miles ahead of McCrone. His very first game for us he and Widdop absolutely carved up. His season was actually pretty damn good and looked a good signing. He hasn’t progressed unfortunately but that’s not exactly Milwards fault. Just thought I’d add some balance.

Balance is not a thing possm is familiar with when it comes to Millward.

SBD82

Sarcasm SBD82 the reference of that was to you being delusional.
You’re making claims and can’t back them. In the process you’re casting aspersions on a bloke’s character. Obfuscation and attacking me doesn’t change that.

The only thing that might be delusional about me right now is believing that you’re worth the energy to engage with.